Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Literate

by Mokosha - Compo Entry

Instructions on Windows:
Download the .zip file, extract the folder "out" to somewhere, and double click on the .exe

Instructions on OSX/Linux:
Download the compressed file. Navigate to it from a shell and execute the bundled executable. Make sure that the assets (dict.txt, kenpixel.ttf) are in the same folder as the one you run the executable from.

If the game fails to run, please include the entire output in the comments below.

Literate (pronounced like "liberate" but with a 't' instead of a 'b') is a game where you need to collect English words as their letters appear on the screen. Once you start the game, click on letters that appear until you've spelled a word. Once you believe that you have spelled a word, hit the space bar to clear the letters. If you've written a word, you will receive points equal to the length of the word! The points are accrued in the top row, while the timer is in the bottom. Good luck!

The game was written entirely using Haskell. I spent only about ~10 hours total over the course of the weekend. Using Haskell allowed fast prototyping and very few bugs during development. The code uses the Lambency framework that can be found by following the README in the source distribution.

Assets used:
kenpixel.ttf -- Font by KennyNL: http://kenney.nl/assets
dict.txt -- Dictionary generated from Linux's /usr/share/dict/words that removed all possessive nouns and words that start with a capital letter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#173Innovation3.73
#281Theme3.83
#313Mood3.22
#467Graphics3.23
#523Overall3.23
#692Fun2.95

Comments

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55am

Won't run i'm afraid. I'm missing OpenAL32.dll

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57am

I was confused how the scoring and timer were being measured. So I didn't know how I was doing or how long I had. This was tricky. I thought I was going along pretty well but then the letters started disappearing on me.

The intro is also super cool.

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00am

Graphics is so stylish, but hard to differentiate X from K characters.

eforen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12am

I really like the way the timer and score are laid out because it looks like gibberish at first glance and then when you take a closer look ohhh hay!!! The game load time was a little slow and stuttery for my liking but over all I like the aesthetic! I would have given more fun if it was faster paced I found my self mentally waiting a lot.

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02am

Game about symbols. It's very fun!

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48am

I haven't understand what's going on on the first game.
After reading the description on this page, things gone better.
I end up with only 7 poins :(

lion123 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50am

Doesn't run on my Win7 64x. It says can't find dict.txt (though i can clearly see it there)

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58am

nice game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59am

I really, really dug the idea of this one. And Haskell--yessssss. Nice job!

kalugny says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43pm

The game is a little short on feedback, but it's so cool you made it in Haskell (you should've used Elm and put it online though ^_^)

Conk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Gotta love the layout, and the scoring and timer were confusing, but really cool, apparently I don't know long words, managed to get 27 though (:

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48pm

For me on windows 8 it crashes, catching the error in a dos box it's saying:

LD31.exe: Internal Error: OpenGL shader compilation failed!
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

@davesoft Can you post the full output (that also gives your OpenGL version and driver info)?

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Very interesting game. Check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I get
LD31.exe: Internal Error: OpenGL shader compilation failed!
too bad, I realy wanted to play it :(

thristhart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I get a crash on win8:
Checking string: toss
LD31.exe: dict.txt: hGetContents: invalid argument (invalid byte sequence)
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed
(happens with any string afaict)

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Wow. Very cool, but very, very hard :P

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I really like this one. It's quite distinctive and different from most of what I've looked at so far, and it's pretty addictive trying to get as many points as possible. The timer/score didn't confuse me personally, but I can totally see why it would confuse people - maybe switching to a more conventional system would be better, so that players don't need to spend ages figuring out their score, when they could be using that time better to make more words. The graphics are awesome, it has a nice retro 'educational game' feel to it, but isn't boring. Nice work.

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Five stars across the board--wonderful aesthetic, fun game, super.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Very original entry. You get a lots of stars :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I like the text graphics for the game. Good work.

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44am

I actually really enjoyed the visuals! However, while I found the mechanic interesting, it didn't actually appeal to me all that much. Great job none the less though!

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:23am

Great use of ASCII

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Interesting concept. I wasn't really clear on what I was supposed to do until I read the post - there should be some indicator in-game of how to play. Even after reading the post I wasn't sure why I lost when I did. As @MiniBobbo said, the scoring and timer wasn't clear. Nice idea but execution needs a bit of work. Still impressive what you were able to do in 10 hours. Good work!

igoramendola says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:25pm

I get this error:
LD31.exe: Internal Error: OpenGL shader compilation failed!
( http://igoramendola.com/extra/literate-error.jpg )
My onboard graphic card is: Inter(R) HD Graphics (Core i3)
I'll probably buy a new graphic card (my self-present for Christmas! ☃) in a few days, and then I try again. I won't vote until then ^^

Mokosha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:30am

The OpenGL shader compilation bugs should be fixed. @igoramendola, thanks for the error report!

igoramendola says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:30am

Nice. You're welcome :D

Dohxis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Really liked the idea :) Nice game

srakowski says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I really really like the concept of this game. The timer and scoring rows were done quite well. And HASKELL! That is quite cool my friend. Well done!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:57pm

This is a really unique entry - great job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Very clever, maybe a little pre-game tutorial would be better, but very fun and polished-looking.

Renaldo says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:02pm

The concept is very compelling, but I found it a little difficult to play with the mouse. The game is fun and its style is perfect.
Outstanding job you've made!

zemeon12 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:46am

pretty weird, i did not understand, but for what it is, it is pretty good.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Interesting Concept!

igoramendola says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I returned to check and now it works ^^

It's a very interesting concept and it's a good challenge (specially for me because English isn't my first language). My best is 32, so far. Perhaps if my monitor was touch screen I could make more hehehe. Nice work :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]