Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Road to Heaven

by frenzyasii - Jam Entry

Tower Defence, build towers to keep souls from entering in heaven.

The game wasn't able to be fully completed because of irl stuff :/, but it's playable! hope you enjoy :)

---------
GAMEPLAY:
---------
You use SOULS in the right bottom right conor to buy towers.

leftclick on one of the buildings in the button (the button 3 doesn't work).

LEFTCLICK to place towers on the map, RIGHTCLICK to deselect.

If you lose 50 souls you lost.

get to wave 25 and you'll win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#599Graphics(Jam)3.08
#638Audio(Jam)2.14
#674Mood(Jam)2.81
#693Humor(Jam)2.21
#711Theme(Jam)3.30
#816Overall(Jam)2.81
#884Fun(Jam)2.49
#962Innovation(Jam)2.02

Comments

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18am

Tower Defense games aren't really my thing. But the game had a few nice surprises (like the when the fire towers sprinkle fairy dust on the enemies to kill them, that was quite funny). =)

Nice game. =)

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

Unable to get it to work on MBP 2014 OSX 10.9.5.

Extracted .app file, launches then really quickly closes again

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

nice start for a TD.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Would have been nice to see the range of a tower when placing it. Tower diversity felt a bit lacking. Decent for being incomplete.

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

The game is different from the other entries which is good. Given the time to finish it it has potential. Also, the graphics were cool. A recommendation if it wasn't already planned was to have a representation of the tower instead of the Green Cube when placing towers.

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25am

Good on you for implementing a tower defense in LD. That's hard. I'm surprised you could get unit pathing up (I once tried and failed to do it.)

I'm surprised you didn't make a web version of this--in Unity it's as easy as changing the export to web player and then throwing the game online. You'd get more reviews if you did that (and you can still port after the submission period ends)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25am

I liked this game but tower defense games bring me back :), good job

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27am

Fun game. You did a really good job on this!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

This is sweet! I loved the premise, the visuals, and the gameplay! Only complaint is that it was a wee bit slow, but other than that, I dug it.

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31am

You should finish this after the jam!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

Couldnt fully understand the controls, but its a good effort.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

I quite enjoyed this mate. I feel like I want to see it as a full game now.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40am

I really like your visuals a lot, the background was fantastic. I could really see the design that went into deciding the costs for things, which was cool. :) good job, hope you go back and finish!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:46am

Good core mechanics and models. Interesting premise. A few more turret or enemy types are needed to flesh out the game-play.

I don't think the isometric camera angle lends itself well to having a fixed camera. I felt restricted and unable to follow the action.

I found it unclear how much money I had to buy turrets with.

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

Good entry, tower mechanics were working fine. I would have like a 2x,4x speed modifier.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Nice Athmo, nice design. On the Gameplay-side it´s a little slow paced and lacks some gameplay and functionality. But nice work anyways

Xorboo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00am

This sprinkles from FIRE towers that collect souls are totally awesome. Placing towers under the buttons are quite sad though

ParaPup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00am

Really nice effort for the jam.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01am

Quite nice. You definetly feel that the game is incomplete, for example the difficulty of the waves grows too rapidly in my opninion. But considering that it's a game jam I think it is quite good. I must say I really liked the visual style of the game.

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06am

sad that you couldn't finish it as you wanted, but the game engine seems to work fine. Good job

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14am

I loved it! Nice TD! :D

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice! Couldn't figure out how to pan though.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

Hey and thanks for all the input! there is a Web player now, but get the standalone for the best experience! :)

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

It's very hard to get a TD working in 72 hours. Nice start!

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

Tower Defence, meh, not a style of game I like to play.
Still nice graphics, it runs, but I can only place two fire towers? Buggy a bit. Sparkles to kill the enemy was kinda funny.

Nidolabz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

Game was great but, could've done something a little more creative then a tower defense.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30am

Good game, it doesn't have enough tower types in my opinion... at least 4 would be better! The knights get stuck sometimes too, leaving the game stuck because I couldn't buy another tower!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

Pretty solid tower defense. I wish there were different enemies but good work.

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38am

wave got instantly unbeatable and then horses turned into helicopters and game would not continue. Other then that tho good job!

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

haha there might be a bug or 2 XD

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

Great graphics. Not so fussed on the gameplay, but it was alright.

herofresh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00am

hmm meh i don't know

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31am

This is a nice take on the Tower Defense! The only problem I have is that the game practically plays itself in the early waves.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

kumoi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22am

Weird bug where some of the enemies start spinning in place. Game hangs since wave does not complete.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12am

I had trouble placing towers, I Like the idea and the way it's been implemented. Good Job.

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39am

nice game in this short time.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32pm

nice visuals, it's an interesting take on the tower defense genre, well done

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Nice start.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Pretty fun, with optimalization it could be great!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I like tower defense games and I wish I could make one (not in a jam/compo, just in general), I would have liked a speed up, as it took way too long some times, and I would have liked to only be able to build in certain spots, since playing on the web allowed for some mistake placements.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

i like it :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Looks great visually, but would definitely benefit from better sound. Great tower defense action. Good job!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45pm

It's clear that you ran thin on time, but what's there worked great. Gameplay is somewhat lacking with the limited towers etc, but I had fun with it for a while. Nice job :)

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:41pm

decent game, i think it lacked some challenge. Pros for completing though

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice TD with some interestingg features. A good start. Can be improved. I think you should increase sound volume. I didn't heard anything. Thank you for this entry ++

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Good graphics and nice entry. There should be an option to speed up the game :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Overall its a nice game. Continue to flesh it out, polish it up and you got yourself a winner here.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:48pm

awesome game! :D I love it

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Very nice graphics and pretty cool that you managed to finish a relatively well working TD game in such a short time.
Only bad thing about this may be the controls, at least in the web version, as rightclick opens a context menu, so deselecting towers doesn't work all that well, and I ended up accidentally placing a tower beneath one of the buttons.
All things considered, great work!

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:33am

The unanimated horses made me laugh :) (no irony)
This need more polishing and sound design, but good work though !

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Nice but buggy ... some horses went crazy, giving circles on themselves, however, good job. Rated high on graphics

Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Another good tower defence game. It goes from easy to very hard quickly. The graphics are great. On the web version, right click also brings up the unity player menu and sometimes doesn't deselect the tower - I was accidentally building towers underneath the UI buttons at first.

doos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Got to level 10 and a rider started doing doughnuts on a corner.. Thought the arena with the particle effects was brilliant. The audio could have been a bit louder, and I wasn't quite sure where I could place a tower or when. Second tower didnt work for some reason, but first was good enough anyway.. I played about 20 mins? :)

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:14am

Yeah, good concept. I'm getting bugs where the souls get stuck spinning in circles. I managed to beat it once so far though.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

Update: I have the pattern down now, I can beat it even past the bugs : )

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]