Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Peaceful Night

by TheMonsterFromTheDeep - Compo Entry

EDIT: I've learned that this game is really laggy on slower computers, so if you have an old or lower-end computer, you may not want to play it. If you want to fix the inefficient graphics, go ahead!

A simple sandbox game made for my first Ludum Dare.

It has no enemies, although I wanted to put some in, but I ran out of time.

This game is basically just a simple 2D sandbox game (made in Java) which allows the player to collect "Keys" and teleport to alternate dimensions.

Sorry that it doesn't have music - I'm not very good at music-making.

Controls:
WASD - movement
Left click - break block (if cursor is black)
Right click - place block (if cursor is black) / use key
I - open inventory
Q - select previous item
E - select next item

Inventory controls
Left click - pick up / place
Right click - select item / place 1
Items can be crafted using the grid in the upper right corner, no necessary order needed.

This game was inspired by "Minecraft" and "Terraria."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#690Theme3.50
#731Audio2.38
#759Graphics2.76
#800Humor2.12
#934Overall2.82
#979Mood2.39
#1018Innovation2.38
#1034Fun2.45

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08am

destroying things takes WAY too long, other than that it's alright.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

Yeah, you're right - that's why I included tools that can be crafted - some of them go a lot faster.

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

The screenshots to the other dimensions look enticing, and would be a good gameplay feature, but I don't feel compelled to go that far. The sandbox is ambitious for LD, and I think you've taken a fairly good crack at it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Thanks! It actually doesn't take that long to get to other dimensions (~30 secs of gameplay) but of course, you have to know how to do it.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55am

For some reason I couldn't break anything... But it seemed fun. Wish I could make it bigger on the screen.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05am

Yeah, the maximizing issue was something I couldn't really do... For you not being able to break stuff, it may either be because of my inefficient graphics (can really lag the game) or maybe the cursor was simply too far from the character (you can only break blocks up to a certain distance away)

QuexD says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

Things I did:
1:broke air
2. built air kingdom (it looked cool)
3. dug pit of solitude so I did not have to share my totally visible kingdom with the rest of the world

Good game great work for 48 hours!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

The Resolution Is Too Small. And The Jumping is spotty. but ggod game for the first time uploading

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

@QuexD: thanks!
@TriSquare: Yeah, I wish I made the resolution scale up - I don't know what was going through my head when I made sure it remained constant.

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06am

It took too long to break things, and movement was too slow. it does seem ambitious for an LD, but you made a good go of it. Good job.

Shigor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

I gave up after about a minute or two trying to break any block... I might have tried for a longer, but the ultra tiny window on my big monitor kinda made my eyes bleed when I squinted on the pixels there too much.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Hmmm... I really wonder what's keeping all you from breaking blocks. It could be really bad lag, but I don't think so... Any block where the cursor is black should break in no more than 2 seconds.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

Found it hard to see what I was doing on my 1080p monitor. Also breaking blocks feels like it takes too long. Good effort though, I can see how the game was inspired by Terraria.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49am

It seems like you got the foundation down for something greater. You could make something good by continuing development post-LD. Keep up the good work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Definitely like the Terraria vibe. And the different dimensions concept is really interesting. Great work!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Ok, I got stuck in the main dimension as I was unable to craft anything useful and got little bit bored by trying several combinations. Maybe some "clue" would be helpful here. Otherwise the engine seems somehow complete for the purposes of this game so good job :-)

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:17pm

It's alright for a little while, but something as simple as a basic tune could make it a lot more immersive. It plays a lot like a 2D Minecraft clone, and while the gameplay is relatively simple, some of the mechanics are quite ambitious for 48 hours. The generation could do with some work, but again - it's 48 hours, so having generation at all is pretty impressive (that said, I used to write up Minecraft world generators in an evening - Underdark is one of those if you look at my GitHub)
Good job on the amount of blocks, items, etc. but this really could have done with something to make it a little more immersive and fun. I gave rewriting the render code a crack (making it run in a separate thread, only rendering once per tick, etc) but the speed of everything dropped a lot, I couldn't figure out why. I might have another look at it later (or ping me on the IRC and I can talk to you a little about it if you want - my nick is alyphen and I'll be idling in the channel all day and active during out of work hours in GMT)
A good crack at a 48 hour game, but perhaps try something a little less ambitious and add a little more polish and sparkle next time.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:39pm

@alyphen - good advice. I would have loved to add a basic tune, but I had absolutely no software for writing music, and I assumed that it wouldn't be too bad without it. I definitely am not going to go for something as ambitious next time, I just really wanted to make a sandbox for my first LD for some reason.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:03am

The game is fine for a first attempt, but it could use some work. Better inventory screen and larger blocks would benefit it's design. 3 stars

Acuity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:53am

This was a bit repetitive, but interesting concept.

stasss says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:37am

Good work, great beginning for the game!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:32pm

This is a tech demo or a test of programming skills, but not a game.

Shivur says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Cute game. Wish the controls were more flexible like jumping and placing block in the inventory. Also a list of possible recipe so we don't have to try every combination.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]