Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Moose Meat

by bugbytemike - Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare, and I’m happy to announce that I have a playable game already. It’s called Moose Meat. Basically, you’re a moose, and you are supposed to get to the exit of each level before the time runs out. There’s various obstacles which make your task harder.. Ice, Lava, Trees, Water, and your fellow moose friends who wander around and block your path. Enjoy! :P

Tools used in the creation of this game:
Eclipse – Java
Gimp – Graphics
sfxr – Sound Effects
FLstudio – Music
Coffee & Dr. Pepper – Energy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48am

Oh, I really, really love the moose animation/art! Wonderful.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:59am

nice job completing your first LD!

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice first job, congratulations!
God art, but But I do not know if the theme was well used here.

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:02pm

OMG Level 6 is from the devil! Good job on this!

renatopp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Gratz for your first LD! The game is pretty crazy but I like it. For example, "why a moose is running in the ice, above a sea of lava? eh, heheh, whatever, that's cool". I also like the ice tile movement detail.

Maybe, in a future version, you could improve the level design, especially the time limit of the levels.

Gratz and good job!

istlemin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I really like the artstyle. The level design could be improved, but it's a great game,

SneManden says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:31pm

So the gameplay is pretty basic, but it works out ok. I like the graphics: your moose-sprite is cool -- and nice start-screen-art :)

Scam says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Nice artwork and music. Time limit was quite unforgiving, I did ragequit in level 4. I liked the slippery ice in level 3!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I like the art and animations. The game increasingly became more frustrating as I neared completion of it. So there is that going for it. I can see this becoming quite competitive if a score system were in place.

Either way, it was enjoyable!

rzuf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I made it to the end! Love you too! :D
Game was awesome, I loved these mooses graphics and all the clever ideas for levels and mechanics.
Level 6 was evil!
Not really a single-screen game, but great stuff otherwise, congrats!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:30am

Hm, I can tell you got this working the way you wanted it (the moose animation is nice), but I found it a bit frustrating. The moose walks slowly, which means you have this vague sense of boredom and wanting something to happen. But at the same time, the time limit for each level is VERY unforgiving, so you have to move carefully...In essence you have to sit there hoping you're moving well enough, while helplessly watching the time tick down. Not *exactly* what I would call fun. ;) And when I got to the icy-path-through-lava level, I was just like...nope. Sorry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]