Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Stuck in Pimbo

by huggabugga - Jam Entry

CONTROLS

Click the ghosts and zombies.

They change direction according to the term at the bottom of your screen. They'll only interact with items in the field if you click them and tend to them. You'll see an arrow above their head to show you that you've clicked them.

HOW TO PLAY

Pims are stuck in pimbo—help them out by directing them to collect the parts they need to become whole again.

Ghosts will need to collect skulls to claim a body, and then they'll become zombies! Then collect the glowing life that matches the color of its soul to bring the Pim back to it's true form.

The Pims won't know what's around them when they aren't themselves, so you'll need to direct them. Click the ghost or zombie to prime (!) them, and to direct them according to your control. They won't pay attention for long, and you must keep nudging them.

Clear all the pims on the field to clear a round.





ABOUT

"Stuck in Pimbo" was created by Ana & Alex—Team Huggabugga. This is our second Ludum Dare game, but our first completed in time for the Jam. The idea for "Stuck in Pimbo" came from the desire to develop a game that didn't involve violence. Instead, you're playing God and resurrecting the dead. Hope you enjoy it!

This is an HTML5 canvas game. We made all the graphics in Illustrator and Photoshop. We made all the sounds with BFXR. We wrote all the code by hand in Sublime Text Edit, using HTML, CSS, and Javascript, no extra libraries! Wow, what a mind-mash to build it all from scratch, but we love it that way. This game has been tested on all major browsers with the exception of IE (not on a PC right now, not able to access vm right now) If you experience any issues, and you're not in Chrome or Firefox, we recommend playing in either. They're free, high quality, and available for PC, Mac, and Linux computers. Wow.

With your feedback, we'll begin working on a Phase 2 version of this game. For the sake of our souls, this version of the game, under the 'ludum' branch in the git repository, will not be edited. Gotta be fair! This version of our game will be hosted in a special place. Once a more polished version is finished, you'll hear about it, and it will be hosted elsewhere.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Graphics(Jam)3.66
#382Innovation(Jam)3.22
#428Humor(Jam)2.72
#593Audio(Jam)2.42
#593Mood(Jam)2.92
#703Theme(Jam)3.32
#813Overall(Jam)2.82
#904Fun(Jam)2.43
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24am

Really liked the art style. I had some problems understanding the controls though. Keep polishing, looks promising!

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25am

I did not get it,

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

I liked the art a lot, although the controls and gameplay were a little strange to me.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

I had some trouble figuring out gameplay - how do I change the direction style? Or does it just rotate and I have to wait? I also found the sound really jarring and very loud.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

Great retro graphics, though I was confused with the controls until I get text on the lower center screen what it is. Good job :D

rjhunter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52am

I was *very* confused until I tried the full Web link. After reloading once or twice, all of a sudden it was clear why I was so confused -- not all the graphics had shown up initially! (imagine playing without the ghosts)

Once I got the game going, I could appreciate the game. I even completed the level!

I liked the art (when it loaded), and the idea of the game.

The indirect controls were challenging -- I had the most success with waiting until a character wandered close enough to their goal on their own, and then nudge them to trigger a pickup.

Good luck with the next version!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14am

Cute, fun, definitely something I'd like to see elaborated upon.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

Nice, directly on canvas!

The controls are not clear though, but the game looks great! Well done!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25am

Nice game, took a minute to get the game mechanic though. May it could be supported art-wise. The current action as an icon in the game background maybe?

The game art itself is awesome, the UI not so much. :)

Very nice game though. I think it could become a funny little mobile game.

sanojian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:39am

Very nice graphics but I found the controls just too confusing.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice game, but I didn't feel very comfortable with the controls. In overall is a good game. Well done!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Not sure how I feel about the clockwise/counter-clockwise thing... Maybe if it were a bit slower it'd be better, but I find it a bit hard to figure out what direction I'm supposed to go.

Ossi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Interesting concept! I like the way the ghosts look! It was a bit tough to guide them around but eventually I got it. Very cool game!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

What a super-cute game. The game play is unique and challenging, the audio is perfect, and the graphics are super adorable.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:51am

The graphics were really cute! I did figure out the controls eventually, but they were a little counterintuitive

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I like the art style. The game seems interesting but I didn't really understand the controls. When I click on things they change direction but I couldn't seem to choose the direction the turned. Also it seems that you can mostly leave things alone and they will sort themselves out.

Just had another look and figured the control system out, it is a strange way of controlling them.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nice aesthetic!

alabebop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:41pm

The game play is brand new which took me a long time to figure out what I was controlling and how I am able to control it. TBH until the end I am still not quite sure if it was me or the wind blows. Oh, the ghost figure is really cute!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]