Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Game with Life and Death (Theatre Simulator)

by m@ - Jam Entry

I made a thing for the game jam but I didn't quite finish it.

Requires unity Web player plugin.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36am

That one of the interesting interpretation of the theme I found on LD so far. Congratulations, nice entry.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:21am

This is incredible! The figures really look good, especially how they scale when in different positions.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:59am

GREAT music!

Drawings are pretty decent, it really has its own style.

Good job, although it's not really a game ;)

madlee says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:27am

Interesting! I'm a big fan of non-game games, so I found this to be pretty cool. Some branching of the narrative or _some_ level of interaction would be cool. Good job!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:34am

In this kind of game / art, one really has to nail the narrative, which you did extremely well! The music was great, the characters very nice as well. Too bad you didn't go through with the entire story, it feels unfinished. Wonderful job though!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Lovely idea.
Wish the next dialogue button was in the same place every time, though.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:23am

At this point--just a cutscene, but by gosh, the play you chose to represent was a great one, and the background music so well-chosen! Thank you for introducing me to them! Loved how you handled the perspective and lighting, and the actors' physicality. Thank you for the experience!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Not really a game, but as a cutscene it is well made.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

visual novels aren't really my cup of tea, so I can't really give any strong praise or criticism to this game without being misinformed. That said, I can point out that it was a bit irritating that the arrow to advance to the next text box shifted location with every line of dialogue, which made it a little frustrating to advance the narrative.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]