Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sweet Dreams Bear

by EvanEGibbs - Jam Entry

A sweet game where you play as a mother bear tucking her son in at night. Sometimes it's not so easy to let him sleep soundly in his own bed, but a story or two might help!

Blog post on the game:
http://evanegibbs.com/post/104786407226/ludum-dare-31-game-sweet-dreams-bear

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#19Mood(Jam)4.19
#48Graphics(Jam)4.44
#63Overall(Jam)3.91
#102Humor(Jam)3.60
#165Theme(Jam)3.95
#170Fun(Jam)3.53
#249Innovation(Jam)3.48

Comments

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Couldn't play or rate due to having to create an account on another site in order to play. :-(

gamedevBear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Had to play it because bears. Cute game!

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04pm

So cute, awww...
Really great animation and story! Nice subtle hints there

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice game but somewhat kind of boring.

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

What a cute game! Great animations and graphics! Well done! :)

Mechamew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27pm

So incredibly cute! A total breath of fresh air to see a game like this! Well done for the great illustration, animation and overall mood. This is a gem!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Really hard to pass just level 1! XD
You should have let us vote you based on your audio as well, since this audio is top notch!

CScribes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Love, love, love this little game :) More like a storybook with a sweet ending.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Thanks so much everyone for the comments! :D

@Danidre Thanks so much!
I didn't select sound as an option because I didn't do any of the music, but I did do the voices and actually recorded the light switch sound. But I didn't think that was enough to vote on.

Enzo42 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33pm

So cute
Wasn't very hard to answer the questions right, cookies are always the asnwer!

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10pm

That was really cool and cute.

RedPanda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:30am

So so cute, it's like cuteness overload! :3

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:47am

I'm surprised that after I realized how to get to the story in the proper order I luckily chose the right options and finished the game. Not sure if there was actually a losing condition after the story but I did it xD. Love the graphics, the story and the music, great job!

bazld says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:54am

Surely wins the cutest game award! Expertly made, I hope you continue with these (mobile versions?).

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:36am

Such a warm game!

Tosic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:11am

Awwwww... that is sooo cute, I had to try over and over and eventually succeeded! ;D

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:13am

Cuuuuuuuuuuuuutest game ever ohmygawd :D !

You did a great job ! I wonder if there was some hints I didn't see to find out the good choices.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:15am

SWEET! ahahaha this is one of the best entries i've seen so far. Not a lot of ld games have story telling as good as yours! I loved everything about this game ahaha sweet and simple. Great entry!

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I retried the game, and was glad I did. This is such a sweet game. I love the graphics.

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Now I feel all warm and fuzzy. This was great! I cannot believe you chose to animate things for a LD game. So impressed with what you were able to make in that time.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Cute and simple with adorable art. Well done.

TheColorMan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:23am

Nice animations! Very adorable :)

redoxkun says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Very well done :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:02am

Well-polished, well-animated and well thought-out. This was a fantastic little Jam entry, that would totally be worthwhile as a post-LD project. Really decent children's games are a rarity -- especially ones of quality like this. A lot of children's media tends to treat kids as if they are not intelligent, or fail to challenge them appropriately, or give them a proper example learn from, and a game so attentive as this could really be a good project on that front. Something parents could download for their children and not have to worry as to whether or not they are getting quality entertainment.

The animation was so well done, and very charming. I know that a lot of LD entries need to sacrifice things, like good animation, for more time. You spend so many hours planning and programming and just getting your base assets in, you often never get a chance to do really decent, expressive animations (if you manage to implement them at all!) and it's mostly limited to 3-8 frame pieces of pixel art, anyway. It's so refreshing to see such nicely animated content.

There isn't much I could suggest in lieu of this game aside from more content. Just as much content as you can muster in terms of a day in the life of this little bear. :) From waking up, to going to school, to coming home and playing, to getting ready for bed. Quality children's entertainment. :)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:12am

Very cute game =)

davient says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:27am

Really loved the storytelling aspect of this game. Especially the way that making a wrong choice can lead to some interesting parenting learning :) I'd love to see this expanded. The graphics and animations are great. Good job!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Brilliant game with really nice animation. Absolutely loved playing through and seeing what the reactions were to the different options. Also liked how the clues were spread around the room. The cutest entry I've played so far, one of my favourites.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Good story, bro. Good story.

The graphics and animations are great. The gameplay have a nice flow with it and the background is useful. Also the music goes well with the gameplay.

Overall, I love the game :D

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:34pm

So sweeeeet ! Cute and effective, this was fun to play, very well done ! :D

Hellequin says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Cute game! I love the concept ! Well done!

Scam says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Cute and sweet. I loved it.

ruerob says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:42am

Fantastic cute game. I love the animations and the story is so cute. Very very well done! Thank you for making this game!!!

Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:33am

Cute game, I left the kid alone, and turned the lights off. :D

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:24am

This was a really fun game for me to play cause it brought me out of my usual genre while still somehow retaining elements of most of the games I enjoyed. Keep up the great work! I hope to see more of what you do.

cardboard says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:56pm

What an adorable game! The animations and graphics are splendid, and the story is very heartwarming. I took the objects in the background as hints to answer the questions, which worked wonders to lull my son to sleep. The game feels very polished, which helped create a nice little immersive atmosphere. Nice work!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Really cute game! I Included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Wy_mvMH2L7Q

alyphen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:20am

d'awwwww
d'awwwwwwww
There really isn't much to say about this one - overwhelmingly cute, just lacking much content. It would be nice to see more scenarios or something.
Graphics were well done and audio was fitting.
Good job.

voxel says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Ahhhhhh too cute. I got really worked up expecting some kind of evil shocker ending and was so relieved when everything ended nicely. I love this more than I love dinosaurs and cookies <3

6 out of 5 stars

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Cute. Not a lot of replay value, once you figure out the correct order in which to do things. It felt like there wasn't much skill involved, just guess and remember the outcome and try again for a better outcome the next time. It kindof felt like "Groundhog Day" getting it wrong several times in a row and having to try again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]