Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Liquid Media Games

by liquidmedia - Compo Entry

Controls:
WASD or arrows for Movement
Mouse for turning the turret heading and fire angle
Number pad to fire shots

Made in Unity 4.6 using 3-D physics
Gimp artwork
No audio


1980’s AI simulator is a top down sky box view of a hover tank battle, with 3d physics enabled projectiles.
This is my first Ludum Dare entry, not much in the way of art and no sound but, the game is a hard core physics simulation.

At the time of uploading the stand alone Windows, Mac, and Linux are untested.

They are direct ports from the web player done by Unity 4.6
Thank you.

Enjoy.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#905Humor1.73
#937Theme3.26
#1006Innovation2.41
#1112Mood1.59
#1160Graphics1.91
#1184Fun1.87
#1197Overall2.17
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

t4u says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I dont really get this game. I dont understand what is the aim of the game. Not the best entry. Better luck next time.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

The 3D orientation of the weapon is pretty difficult to acclimate, but the idea is interesting. Nice game.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

This is a neat game, took a while to figure out

gilead says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:03pm

The user interface was very hard to get a hang of.

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30am

Cant get the point :) Hard to get a hand on it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

The Linux build doesn't seem to contain an executable. I tried to get the web player to work in Linux via https://www.gamingonlinux.com/articles/unity3d-web-player-in-linux-browsers-thanks-to-pipelight-.2996 but the plugin wouldn't show up in my browser.

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

I was also totally lost. I don't think my orbital strike was doing anything either.

Suppagumma says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Having to use the keyboard arrows plus the numeric keypad with a single hand was super frustrating, plus the mouse didn't seem to rotate my turret at all and the fire system didn't seem to do anything (web version) *_*

panda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Ah... I would probably enjoy this more if I had a numpad on my laptop. As it is, I can't play.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:44am

Like many others, I really don't understand what's happening or what the point is. The controls didn't seem to work for me either, except movement. I couldn't fire or rotate.

It's a shame because I love hardcore physics simulations (Spintires yay!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]