Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Runner

by istlemin - Jam Entry

Control the path with wasd and the black block with the arrows. Try to get to get as many yellow squares as possible.

The game is written in javascript and runs in a webbrowser. Just open index.html

This is my first Ludum Dare, and I'm sorry for everything being horrible. I had quite a short amount of work time, only about 20 hours, and they weren't used very efficiently either. I had only time to implement the game mechanics, and no time for audio and graphics. The black block was supposed to be a running stickman.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#328Innovation(Jam)3.31
#884Theme(Jam)2.97
#912Mood(Jam)2.30
#918Fun(Jam)2.38
#940Graphics(Jam)2.00
#971Overall(Jam)2.45

Comments

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15pm

This is unpolished and buggy (I fell through walls a lot), but you had a very cool concept. I think you should continue to work on this outside of LD31. Congratulations on participating for the first time!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49pm

The Game Over Window pops up 3 times for me (Safari). The Game goes a bit too fast and you die too often. Maybe you could make the player bounce back from walls and only make him die, when he leaves the screen?
Furthermore I agree with hisss, you should continue working on it, because the concept is nice.
Draw your conclusions for the next LD and do better, Im sure you have a lot more potential! :)

ibilon says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Soooo hard :)

Almax27 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Cool idea but running in chrome I got constant dialogue popups when I died to the point of having to force quit

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I love the concept, really really a lot. This is innovative. Great.

But yea. Lot of things that are breaking the fun by making the game so much harder than what it's supposed to be.

When the "character" does the "slide" (well, let say it like this: Down arrow.), it should keep doing it while the player didn't released the arrow. sometimes it makes it so hard and not understandable..

Sometime the blocs are not placed well And you're forced to die. .-.

Maybe there should be more than one thing to pick at the time? Would make this easier? (I don't know, but that's something to test)

Also, Maybe, since you was inspired by snake, it would have been cool to have that thing, like, when you touch the bottom of the screen, you apear on the top of screen, same for right and left. Like in pacman too.
Cause that's like, 60% of my deaths. and it's VERY frustrating.


I really think you should do a real version of this. I would play it.

If ever you create something better with that concept, could you like, send a message on twitter or something? I'm really interrested by something like this that would be really playable! :)

Sanguine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Interesting concept, but it was really tough. I would like to see some this be expanded in the future though

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Nice idea :D

yanisvieilly says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:00pm

A good idea, but this is extremely hard!

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I liked the idea, but I can't play it... ducking doesn't seem to work for me, as it automatically uncrouches and gets me killed so the whole thing is impossible (tried in opera and firefox), and the java popup thing is annoying - the game using WASD and arrows means both hands are on keyboard, but then I have to move to the mouse to click OK and then refresh the page to restart...
I'd love to see this polished though, the mechanic sounds really good from what little I saw of it.

istlemin says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Tifu, actually it's supposed to "uncrouch" after a certain amount of time. As I mentioned in the description, the black block was supposed to be a stickman, and if you imagine the stickman doing a somersault it becomes logical. But I have change plans, because it's too hard. In the current version that am working on you can "crouch" as long as you want.

pht59x says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Nearly impossible to play on a non QWERTY keyboard. But there is some real creativity in here. Good work nonetheless. May I suggest you switch to something like CoffeeScript next time?

istlemin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:41pm

@pht59x Thanks for playing my game, but may I ask: Why coffeescript? I think vanilla javascript just feels more understandable. Is there some advantage?

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Hey, congrats on your first completed LD, yo! I died.... a lot........ lol

Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Yeah.. well.. I guess you're excused, but this isn't really working well. Great concept, pretty innovative and it does sound like a great idea. And I guess you're not even that far away from a fun, playable game. Maybe a little tutorial, a bit of code to make sure the generated paths are traversable to begin with (like every third try it spawned a block I couldn't jump over before I could really do anything), a bit of music and less obtrusive game over messages and you've got a really cool game. Assuming you had the full 48/72 hours instead of 20, it surely would have turned out way better.
Anyway, congrats on your first LD game, it's a decent start and now you know what to focus on next time. :)

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Nice concept!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Difficult game. I Included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/09kdLS-s81I

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Hahahaha this is weird :) great concept !!! only 8,52 Ko congrats !!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]