Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

<HexaMem>

by Phask - Compo Entry

My first game ever called <HexaMem>!

<HexaMem> is a game about memorizing the game board and plan moves ahead.
You have infinite time to look at the boad.
BUT BEWARE - Once you move, the hexagonal tiles will be hidden!!!

> You are BLUE and consume 'moves' if you uncover hidden hexa tiles
> Stars are YELLOW, collect them to finish the level
> Buffs are GREEN, collect!
> Debuffs are RED, avoid!

Controls:
Move hexagonal-style with: W, E, D, X, Z (or Y), A
Peek around you with: S

Whats your best highscore?
Can you reach & beat the final level 5?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#283Innovation3.53
#416Theme3.70
#512Overall3.24
#864Fun2.75
#869Graphics2.61
#918Humor1.66
#1056Mood2.18

Comments

Phask says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Remember to focus the Unity3D player once with a mouse click so the controls work (at least it's like that on my computer).

acidave says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18am

Interesting combination of mechanics, increasingly challenging with simple but neat graphics. Well done, especially for your first game!

Dezzles says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

A bit hard to play for the colourblind. I couldn't see a difference between the yellow and green places

Phask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:22am

I'm sorry Dezzles! I really didn't think of that :-(

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:22am

It's a fun game. I'm guessing you're German because of the keymapping. On international keyboards the Y and Z are the other way around. Maybe you can still add support for that.

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25am

Always fun to get to test your memory. Shouldn't the y key instead be z? Was really confused there for a while

Phask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51am

Aww, damn. Yes, I am from Germany and here the 'y' and 'z' keys are switched :(

Phask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57am

Hey guys, just added the 'Z' key as equivalent to the 'Y' key for the english keyboard layout. Should be working now!

mattpattie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:42am

Enjoyed playing this. i like the whole puzzle genre well done and for a first game this is amazing work!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46am

I gave this a good crack. First level, I thought, yes, I can do this! Then the second level the representation of where I was going was so different I completely forgot my path :) Nice idea, genuinely felt brain cells creaking trying to play it :)

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24am

Interesting memory game. Maybe have a timer that determines how long you have to prepare for each round? Now I feel like the best way to beat it is to create an optimal route and write it down, which I guess isn't the intent.

Phask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:54pm

@Krisjet: Everyone can play the game as he wants, I wanted it to be open. You can do it like you proposed and write your path down or you can even make a screenshot and put it beside the game to solve it. It depends on how hard you want it to be.
The real challenge is to memorise it though ;-)

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03am

One of the best mechanics I've seen today! Keep it up!

Wilson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57am

Slick little game - nice concept well executed!

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35pm

YESH, I DID IT
http://abload.de/img/clipboard02nsd9z.png

Really interesting game, personally i'd make an Android/iOS version, would be perfect as a smartphone game :D

Phask says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Glad you guys like it :-)

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Seems that the website is down, at least it doesn't let me access it correctly...

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Same for me, it does not work.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

There is a surprising amount of depth you dont see at first. Especially good for being your first game!

Phask says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:21am

@Krunoslav, Jacksendary: Should be working now.

@Code Medicine: Thank you :)

djk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:57am

Pretty fun! It had a nice difficulty ramp - at first I thought it was going to be entirely too challenging, but the first couple levels were easy enough to ease me into the experience. One thing I might suggest is changing the control interface a bit. Since I'm more accustomed to using WASD, I would sometimes hit the wrong key and end up burning a move. Perhaps consider switching it to a mouse click (just draw a border or highlight a hexagon when you hover over it, to show which hexagon you're selecting to move to). Just a thought.

Phask says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:00am

Hey djk, thanks for the feedback. Indeed, the controls are the first thing I would improve. Sadly I didn't have enough time to tweak them. Thanks for playing! :)

Wakka says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39am

I got a score of 27250. A really good game. I like Hexagons :)

stray says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Wow, I didn't get it at first but... It's really fun

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice gameplay mechanic, loved it!! 5/5 innovation and fun!!!

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Really cool game idea, nice puzzle challange. And thank you for QUERTZ keyboard support

Trite Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:46am

That was fun. Like the challenge level. With some sounds and a bit more visual feedback like flashing when you collect something or hit a red thing, it would make a great game :)

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I like it! cool innovation, but a little hard! Great game : )

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:54pm

interesting concept)

erik says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:22am

Neat idea. Keyboard controls are pretty challenging. Maybe useability would be improved if an outline of the hex cells was visible during play?

Shivur says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Very original.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Nice idea, well executed. I think controls are not that good. I noticed I needed to look my keyboard in order to move. I would have liked simply the possibility to click (or tap if you plan mobile version) hexes around you.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]