Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Something about Cats

by twick - Jam Entry

The game is about cats..

The objective is to get both cats together.
The catch is they are controlled by the same controller and they each go the exact opposite direction.

Use WASD or arrow keys to move.

I hope you enjoy it, we didn't get to spend as much as we would have liked but we are pretty happy with the outcome given the time restraints.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#277Fun(Jam)3.35
#392Audio(Jam)3.00
#449Humor(Jam)2.67
#458Overall(Jam)3.25
#497Innovation(Jam)3.05
#902Theme(Jam)2.91
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12am

Everybody love cats! Controls a little bit confusing. I mean you go not 1 tile, but a part of tile.

Snuux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Cute cat! Gammeplay are innivative! 5 stars!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Interesting game! Music only on right ear tho :)

SojaBird says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Cats is always good :p
The gameplay is pretty neat but the controlls fee a bit strange as you slide over tiles very easy and sometimes you don't stop moving.

Concept is great thought and good subtle audio

Aomeas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I don't really see the link with the theme. Nice little puzzle game, though. It only needs more levels with the mechanics you already have implemented :3
The cat's tile doesn't correspond to its actual hitbox size, thus you can get stuck for nothing around corners.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Doesn't really fit the theme and the cats sometimes get stuck on tiny corners, but I like the concept.

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Liked the idea, I guess because I had a similar idea as premise but for a different kind of game, but ended up not doing it. :P

As Nuclear Napalm suggested, if the cats moved tile by tile it'd be better to control. But overall, it's a very positive entry. Well done.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Fun! The controls felt a bit sticky, but it wasn't much of a problem. More puzzle levels like the second would be great. Also, nice audio.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great idea for a puzzle game, along with some consistent and great art. The controls could use a bit of touching up though, maybe hitting a key just moves the cats in a grid, or speed up the responsiveness of the controls.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04pm

cute..i like it. Nice job.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

My brain hurts.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Fun game! I think it would be better if the movements were fixed to one square at a time to avoid the cats getting stuck and to focus the game on solving the puzzles.

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

CATS in <3, took me a little to manage the movement!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I didn't realise that cat breeding could be quite so dangerous. Nice take on the theme.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Ohh..this cats is so cute. Nice idea!

friken says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:27pm

great work. difficulty ramped up pretty quickly

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:31pm

+++++++++++

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]