Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

You Are Lost

by farwyler - Jam Entry

We humbly present our LD31 jam entry:

You Are Lost
a game about the forest
and owls
on one screen
(more or less)

-

The forest changes after three deaths
Seek the warmth of the bonfires before the cold gets you
Avoid hungry wolves - running will attract them even more
The deeper you are in the forest, the darker it gets

-

good night and keep yourself warm

note:
- requires WebGL support in your browser
- only keyboard input supported so far
- apparently it runs best in chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Mood(Jam)4.33
#35Graphics(Jam)4.50
#51Audio(Jam)3.94
#149Overall(Jam)3.69
#283Innovation(Jam)3.42
#408Fun(Jam)3.18
#612Humor(Jam)2.37
#984Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27am

Hey man very cool game. the graphics are amazing. and gameplay rly good as well 5 stars :)

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30am

Really awesome graphics and sound, and the game is brutal. But I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do?

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30am

I'm using Firefox. Maybe there is something I'm doing wrong, as I thought it supported WebGL out of the box. When it finished loading, it just showed a little line(with a hump) in the middle and that was it.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31am

This game is really well done and VERY tense! The effort you put into this is very clear.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32am

This game is beautiful and well done, but it is punishingly hard. Does the level change each time? It was hard because to find the next fire you have to move beyond the half-way-to-freezing point and then you are committed. Guess wrong? Dead. Try again.

I had to avoid one wolf and it was enough to stop me from reaching the next fire. I think the freezing bar could go down half as fast and still give you the feel you are going for.

Unless I'm just missing something.

pontooncity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32am

Great atmosphere, not very interesting to play though.

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

Gorgeous, atmospheric. I was really engaged when it opened and wanted to figure out what to do.

I managed to run to a bonfire below the starting one, but it became too frustrating to try to outwit the wolves and get further. Maybe I'll try it some more.

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

all that happened is wolves kept eating me.

Warboys says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

Might be missing something but I couldn't do anything but get eaten xD

Beautifully presented game though, the art and style is gorgeous

misto423 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

Nicely done!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

great atmosphere! wow dude, awesome

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35am

Loved it. The graphics and sound design put me right there in the woods with that cute little repeatedly slaughtered child. Definitely hard, but not stupidly so.

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36am

Takes bloody forever to load, I almost thought it had locked up. I don't know if it was randomly generated, but there were so many times I just couldn't find another fire, it was too far away or something. I think instead of insta-death when you run out of "warm", you just stopped being able to run, that may work better. It would effectively be the same difficulty, because the wolves would catch you, but it wouldn't feel as unfair.

It's a beautiful game, though!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37am

HOLY CRAP. . . That game was awesome but i could not figure out what to do.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

I really wanted to like this game. It looks and sounds neat, and the atmosphere is great. But, I didn't really understand why I was leaving the campfire. Is there an eventual objective? I found other campfires, but didn't know if there was something I was supposed to be doing.

I'm reminded a little of Don't Starve (which is a good thing).

karol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

Very dark. Most of the times you either freeze to death or the wolves get you. Amazing graphics.

otaviogood says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

I think it might be too hard. The mood was really cool and the sound worked well with it, but I just didn't know what to do after getting to another fire.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43am

Nice gameplay and graphics, very moody,but I expirence huge FPS dropdowns, which makes the game unplayable at some point

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:44am

interesting survival game, love the graphics

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:47am

Looks great and sounds great. but after dying a bunch and only reaching 3 campfires its a little tough. perhaps clues (animal tracks) or something to help kinda point you in a direction

ItyBity8Bit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:47am

All you need is some ambient sound and you have yourself an exceptional game!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:49am

Nice mood and graphics!
Overall a promising game - reminded me a bit of "Don't Starve" :-)
It is very hard, the wolves got me all the time :-(

Good job!

Joris says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:54am

Graphics, sound and gameplay are very solid. But the game is perhaps a little bit too hard in my opinion.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very intense, but there're way too many wolves. I never made it further than a second campfire.

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:36pm

The game is really nice. Good art and controls, five-star mood!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Wow, man, such an atmospheric game! It was even a bit scary!
Perfect graphics!
Sound is good as well!

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great atmosphere, graphical presentation and music! I love the sound effect when you make it to a new campfire, really smart design. It was a bit hard at first cause there are so many wolves everywhere, but I eventually found my way out! Really impressive, good job!

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Beautiful sound and graphics. It's a really cool mood and it is hard enough to be fun.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:22pm

One thing I know for sure is that I'm lost.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:36am

The gameplay was brutal, but I'm not sure if there was meant to be audio, none played on my browser (Safari Mac OS X). Other then that the art was amazing and even without audio the game had heaps of mood.

rantt says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:15am

Great graphics and sound, it's brutally hard. Since the bonfires are pretty far apart you really have to commit to a direction without knowing if there s a bonfire where you're going. Tense game, I really liked it, great job :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:54am

:O This game is a masterpiece! Beautiful pixel art. Great mood, I really feel that my little character suffers in the cold winter forest. Congrats! :)

hogtrick says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Omg beautiful game. I loved! Simple but so well made!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I like the art of this game. The mood was set really well. However, the sound that plays when you step close enough to the fire starts to get irritating after a few times. Overall, good job!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice game well done. Excellent sounds Fx. Just a lite hard to find bonfires. And reloading the game each time is a bit annoying. I really liked the wolfs.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Didn't make it, but like it a lot!
Deep mood & interesting art style.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice art and mood. I was never able to make it past about 3 campfires. I feel like there should be more time to wander, so you can make a mistake and still make it back. Feels like you have to be perfect to make it anywhere. Kept thinking about the movie The Grey :)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Great 2d work

nuqu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very cool game, amazing graphics it reminds me of me alone in the streets at night in Thailand :)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:48pm

So solid atmosphere, very interesting game!

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Amazing graphics ^^

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Very nice concept and mood is fantastic!bravo!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:34am

Amazing art! Sadly, I became something of a running /getting/ cold buffet for wolves.
Like a serial. manic red riding hood

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:44am

Very atmospheric and well done game, didn't get past the second campfire though.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:49am

Very good looking and sounding game ! But also very hard, maybe a bit too hard.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:59am

Wow, looks and sounds amazing. Pretty hard though, in almost 20 minutes play time I only made it to ONE other camp fire ONCE. I actually felt lost, when I played this. Very good!

christopf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Very nice game, the atmosphere you got there is really catching and somehow authentic. the sound and the graphics matching well.
My only two criticpoints are: no connection to the theme and it's brutaly hard. i felt somehow blessed to find the thrid bonfire but couldn't make it to a fourth.

but anyway, quite a enriching result you got there!

yodamaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great gfx, sound and atmo. Somehow too hard, because the fire's places change with every game and you never know where they are, so it's just guessing and a game of chance. No way to know what is "right".

el-pepi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Very nice graphics and sound. But the game is too hard, you get frozen too fast.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I featured your game at GameARTMonday: http://buff.ly/1qT3S6k
along with other beautiful Ludum Dare games.

Cheers! :)

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Yay, I made it! That... seems like a lot more than one screen :P
I think having the footprints being permanent for your three-lives would have been a nice touch, and helped you get around.
Great graphics, nice atmosphere. I did die once while in a safe spot, I was trying to lure wolves to one side of the fire so I could escape at the other, they ran through the safe spot, and presumably that killed me, but I didn't get the bloodied animation.

ilokimo says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:10am

Cool game, don't like that it reloads the whole thing after game over though :D

Aisland says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:35am

It's amazing game, i really like it and i think it's perfect match the theme 'entire game in one screen' because every thing happens in a small area

Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:38am

Ofc very pretty graphics. Good sound. Pretty intense feeling when leaving the fire. But daaamn I could not get far. Only made it to one other fire.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:50am

Wow this is nearly the same game that we did! But much more hardcore :P

Great atmosphere, very well done! ;)

I made it to one other fire too, this is cruel xD

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Lovely atmosphere, very intriguing. Amazing art and simple and well executed gameplay! The sound really fits in also. Big thumbs up!

lemmily says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Really pretty and loveeee the mood/atmosphere you've created, the objectives are not very clear though and is quite hard? I could look at that style for a while though.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Wow! Very grim :)

I'm getting a huge ghosting issue which means that I don't always run when I'd like, especially in the diagonals :/ Otherwise it's a really neat game!

Not really objective though: mine is somewhat it the same mood only less beautiful pixel-art and more rectangles ;)

Azlen says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Great game! I love the graphics and mood of it

Riocide says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Damn man this is a really rad idea! But its soooo hard!

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:34pm

wow nice atmosphere! (I don't know if "nice" is the good word)
love the sound and graphics (specially wolfs)!
Hard and stressfull (there is an end?)

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:43pm

A really dark, moody game. There didn't seem to be any ending, or anything I was working towards, but other than that, it felt great to play. I made it around a few fires.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Awesome mood !

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Beautiful graphics and sound! The game is probably too hard . Great job!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Love the graphics and the mood. Audio is also awesome.
The goal isn't clear.
It's like: "I think I should run. Ouch, I'm dead. Oh, I'm dead again. Wow, I can run to the left and to the right too..."
I'm glad I'm finally safe... for now.

Domantas says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:20am

Graphics and audio were great, but gameplay is quite frustrating. I managed to get to 3rd or 4th fireplace, but then I was surrounded by wolves. I saw that in one direction forest gets lighter, but there were 4 wolves standing in that direction. I tried luring them to the opposite side than I had to go to, but after 4 tries they just kept coming back to that place even when I got them to chase me around the fireplace.

Teejay5 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Dat atmosphere tho!

akhilnivarthi says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Scary atmosphere and sound too. nice one, great work on aesthetics but missing some objective, of course the objective was how long you survive bit add something more to it, make something he need to collect anything make it more interesting in the gameplay wise

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:03pm

the atomsphere is great!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice ambiance but to hard !

peterthehe says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice game

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Loved it, gravestones were a nice touch!

Atmosphere/Mood was perfect! Game was a tad hard though, so many times I died just on the edge of a bonfire!

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Wow that was awesome :D very well done guys :D loved the graphics, audio, all... but i dont see where goes the theme xD

Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:11pm

VERY MOOD))

Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:03am

The pixel art and audio really set a great atmosphere, and the controls are pretty solid. Way to go, guys: this entry is superb!

AGausmann says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

Your graphics & audio are amazing, but I noticed you didn't try to fit the theme. Maybe opt-out of that category next time?

Sublustris says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:54am

Isn't working. Black screen :(
Firefox, win7

Sublustris says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Well done, dude

dallonf says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Amazing visuals and audio, great simple gameplay. The tuning felt off though, and not in the player's favor. First, I have no idea what the goal is. Why would I ever leave the first safe zone? Beyond that, the wolves need a bit of softening. As the game is now, even one wolf onscreen is a serious challenge, and there's usually about four.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

This is exceptionally difficult!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

Amazing graphics and amazing sound that make you get the mood. Excellent game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]