Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BombardeAlien

by Igor KinGamer - Compo Entry

BombardeAlien, as you might have thought, comes from bomb/bombard ("bombardear" in Portuguese) + Alien. And as you probably have noticed, my mother tongue isn't English, so sorry for any mistakes.

*** NOTE: You will need a bit (or a lot) of luck with the random values I used since I had no time to test before posting. I don't know if I should fix it considering the rules, but anyway, you shall get to the last level after a few tries and see all there is to see. ;) ***

*** NOTE ON NOTE: Now, there is a beatable post-compo version! :) The game is exactly the same, except for the changes listed in the bottom of this text (the first of which made the game beatable). ***
___

*** STORY ***

You are traveling from your planet to one at the other side of the star. But aliens don't want you to get there, and they will do all they can to stop you!

Lean your spaceship and use what you can to make them fall off! But don't forget that leaning your ship you're getting out of the route...

*** CONTROLS *** (Since I wasn't able to put this in the game...)

W, A, S, D - Lean the ship

Leaning the ship makes objects on it slide. For example, W leans to the front/down, so objects slide to the front.

Caution! If you lean for too much time to either side, you're gonna get out of the route and get lost. The further you go up, the less secure you will be. Don't get too close to the star beneath you!

Left mouse button - Laser
Right mouse button - Water jet

Use the laser to push aliens. Use the water to make objects slide more.
___

Post-compo changes/bugs fixed:
- Chances of enemies coming are better chosen and implemented.
- Changed the movement of objects falling off the spaceship.
- Aliens kept attacking while falling off.
- Laser and water affected objects when they shouldn't.
- Collision "without" the spaceship enhanced, there was only a thin outline objects could bypass.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#669Humor2.34
#836Innovation2.71
#1021Mood2.30
#1039Theme3.06
#1086Fun2.34
#1093Overall2.56
#1116Graphics2.09

Comments

Igor KinGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

BUG FIX: A mistake in a variable name I had corrected but was still there somehow...

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Could you upload your game to another site please(itch.io, dropbox, read the FAQ for more hosting sites)?
4shared asks me to register. Many people(like me) don't like that.

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:07pm

:( Lonely mac. So many games I have to miss out on.

Igor KinGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:55pm

@joppiesaus Done! Sorry, I thought of Dropbox, but I always used 4shared and yesterday was in a hurry...

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12pm

@Igor Good.
Now I can say it's a fun game!
At first I didn't get it: "Ship? What ship? What's that light bulb thinggy?"
The mechanics are really interesting. It's quite hard, but that's OK. I wish your ship could heal slowly, that would be fair because the player can progress further that way.
For 48 hours it's a extensive game. Great job! :D

Igor KinGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Thanks ^^
It's harder than I wanted, I was planning a mechanism to stop between the levels and heal the ship... But I'm glad it's fun. :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

This Game Should of implemented KeyBoard controls

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Very innovative. I would say let the mouse repeat and reduce firerate if need be.

I like needing to keep on track, but the feedback could be fullscreen somehow. Maybe getting dark or like messages could pop up as you get close? "you're loosing communication. Maybe not, but just the bar isn't enough to catch it the first time. After that I stared too much at the bars :D

Igor KinGamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Thanks for the feedback :)
I liked the fullscreen idea. Since I intend to continue making the game, I think I will do that :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:28am

Once I caught on to the flight mechanics, the game went from rage-quit hard, to really quite fun and humorous. Got pretty good and sliding those buggers off, just as they were jumping on. :D

jojocanard says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Interesting mechanic but really need more feedback. I found it very hard to understand what was happening, even when was simply "leaning"

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Great concept, I enjoyed it very much!
Needs a bit more visual feedback as to what your inputs actually do. I didn't figure out what the difference between the laser and the water gun was until I read it in the description afterwards.
Apart from that, good job! Hope you continue working on this, I think it has some potential :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Pretty neat game! Really well done!

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:32pm

heyy....wat an awsum job guys

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very clever idea. Slightly frustrating at times. Would be great with a bit more polish. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]