Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

How To Win a Jam

by adrianulima - Compo Entry

This game will teach you in a few steps how to win the Ludum Dare.

It is very simple, let's be the champion of #LDJAM!!!

This is it, this is my first game for LD, I'm sorry if you were killed during the game.

Controls:
Arrows - Move
C - Action

Haxe / HaxeFlixel
Photoshop
Bosca Ceoil
Bfxr
Chronolapse

Thank you,
adrianulima

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#8Humor4.23
#140Fun3.63
#173Mood3.43
#175Theme3.97
#233Overall3.54
#384Innovation3.36
#498Audio2.82
#545Graphics3.11

Comments

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

The web version doesn't seem to work.

Rahazan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:31am

Killing myself was surprisingly fun ;).

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

HOHOO
just explosive them all, trying to kill myself :D
Brilliant social-game idea, very nice ;]
Good job

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

Pretty fun game, even though I kept blowing myself up. Great work!

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:13am

Really fun game! It's an interesting way to approach the theme. One thing I did miss was having powerups or a way to have more than 3 dynamites at once, but it was still great.

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21am

Very realistic.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very interesting idea! Where did you get the participant names (are they made up or did you use real world data)?

Cool graphics, i really liked the perspective, congrats!

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I get the names from the LD30 and LD29 results, and many of the posts during the jam including some text that they say in chat.
Have about 380 user names, but show only 250 in game

miguelmurca says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice, though I don't think I'd go to a real life gathering with you :P

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Fun game! The controls feel kinda sluggish though. Wish I could run around more quickly. And the other guys should try to fight back, it's only fair. :)

rabbeni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

This would be great multiplayer where you try to kill other players but you don't know who is bot and who is player. Good job

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Well interesting game and it didn't make me feel good either, also movement is a bit slide-y feels like your on ice

Timm638 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50pm

You deserve 5 stars from me!

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53pm

hahaha really fun game! it would have been amazing if we compete against 'real' jammers instead! :)

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54pm

thanks guys.. I will post a PostMortem later and explain why I didn't improve the game, the problem wasn't only time xD

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I laughed so much! This is the best tactic to win the Ludum Dare man! XD
Great game!^^

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Well, this game seems like legit tutorial =P

ranseur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Killed myself trying to kill other partecipants. 5/5

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

You can use this game for the next LD for real time tracking of the jammers :p

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Haha, so that's how you do it. A bit barebones, would have been more fun with powerups of some sorts, but still, it was fun as it is too. It felt SOOO satisfying to get lots of kills with one dynamite, so if that's what you were going for, well done!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

Yeah THAT'S how you win a game jam! Creative and surprisingly fun, would be better with more responsive controls.

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49am

Haha, awesome! Love this game, congrats! I love how you used real names, and the comments are spot on!

SneManden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:26am

Very nice game -- cool idea!

It's lovely to see games that celebrate LudumDare itself! :)

LMT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Really interesting game. Surprisingly fun and I love the text on the side.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Looks simple, but actually quite fun optimizing placement and movement with the high inertia. Go team haxeflixel!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Solid entry. Cool game ;)

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Neat entry, super unique compared to the other games. The mechanics are very simple though, it'd be cool if there was a bit more to do and the controls weren't as floaty. It'd also be really interesting if you could somehow fill it for the current jam's entries.

Louisload says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:24pm

"I'm in!" ~ saying this is the new death warrant ahah :DD.
i found your game very humorous and fun, and I find particularly awesome that you got the names of previous LudumDarers and text that was actual said :D nice entry!

ehtd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:00am

Nice game

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:03am

Haha, nice game! And good idea to win the Jam :D
I liked the graphics too.

Demy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Ha! Nice idea!

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Funny Game!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:15pm

This is pretty hilarious. Using real names is kind of crazy and ingenious. Nice job, creative work!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Interesting idea, silly and kinda fun. At first I had no idea what or who i was controlling, and I nearly blew up my character due to the slow acceleration a couple of times :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I wich the dynamite where bigger ! ;)

jpmit says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Hilarious, well done. Haxe(flixel) all the way ;)

SumGato says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Fun game! I will use these tacticts for the next LD :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]