Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sheep enchanter

by jsmtux - Compo Entry

In this game you must take the sheep to the top of the hill.
The problem is that in this game you are not really cool, so only some sheep will follow you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#136Humor3.32
#569Innovation3.11
#716Theme3.48
#793Graphics2.72
#920Mood2.50
#1021Overall2.69
#1056Fun2.41

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17am

I bring sheep to the top of the hill and nothing happened. Sheep can be used to lure wolf into herd. As result all sheeps eaten. Making things not right way is some kind of fun.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Liked the idea, and style with the paper cut outs and 3D environment is nice! I think it would be good if there was a way to communicate the mechanics without bundling it in a wall of text. I am a cool sheep... hopefully. :D

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Stupid sheep, I'm totally cool.

Nice idea and interesting graphics. I like that you have to decide between taking only two grey sheep (so that you can evade the wolves more easily) or a whole flock (so that you have backups if some of them get eaten.) Sheep sometimes get stuck in trees, but it's not too hard to work around that.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Nice game, although a little bit on a hard side, since wolves are moving so quickly, and if you get one to be near the entrance, then youre screwed. Also adding a little bit antialiasing would be good.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Damn those wolves are ALWAYS hungry!
It's like the wolf, sheep and cabbage brain teaser, except with way more chances to fail miserably!
Good job :)

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

really nice idea, the game is fun to play!
It's really hard to get those cool sheeps on the top of the hill but I enjoyed it anyway

Hunter X says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10pm

A simple but engaging concept with plenty of potential for expansion into a larger game, and an interesting graphical style to go with it. A little rough around the edges in places (pathfinding, the lack of a win trigger, being able to sneak sheep up the hill behind the trees at the back and the left hand side etc.) but still entertaining nonetheless :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

So hard to act cool in front of the sheeps. Is there any way to win the game? Calm and nice, I wish the wolfs had a short sleep timer after they ate a few sheep. :)

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Gimmie a shot gun I want to kill the wolfs eating my sheeps! :) Good job making a simple but hard game!

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Very cute little game :D
An option to kill the text and enlarge the field would be nice

Kroq9Gar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Good idea, but hard to fend off wolves, and nothing happens when sheep are on top of hill.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:38pm

not bad. but quite hard. didn't realize you had to get a cool sheep so i just brought a bunch of gray sheep. they sometimes get stuck tho.

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31am

Hahha! The theme is hilarious. Well done :)

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44pm

The game is a bit ugly (but who cares?), but I liked the original concept.

Lolwned says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Good humor! Reminds me of flicky on megadrive.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45pm

did not work getting sheep to the top :/

grid96 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Interesting concept. Though there is no way to win that game, and a better wolf ai would have been nice too. Fun to play though.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44pm

These 2d sprites over a 3d land bring me old runescape feelings! Loved it. Gameplay is a bit too hard for my taste and this one really miss sounds (would be nice to hear sheep =D). Other than that, liked it.

egos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:52pm

interesting concept
give me some happiness to kill my sheep myself at the end .... But its ok

Pete_H says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Those damn cool sheep! Good game, very funny :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Nice idea and style. The wolves are a bit too difficult as it stands. Couldn't win, but had fun trying (and then killing the sheep once I gave up).

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice idea! I found the wolves near impossible to escape and would eat up my entire flock. I couldn't quite understand the motives of the yellow or multi-colour sheep - they just seemed to run off and get eaten. Maybe I'm not cool enough :)

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Real neat! The puzzle elements along with the map design made for some serious herd-planning. Didn't go so well the first time I tried (some serious wolf-feasting), but once I got the hang of it was quite fun!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:59pm

A novel concept.

I found it very hard, and was sad when there was no win/loss recognition. I had to make my own game :-)

Hilarious explanation text!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:59pm

That was really hard and I didn't save any sheep. I managed to get some gold sheep to the rainbow sheep but they wouldn't follow. It would be good if players could press space again to make sheep stop following.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Interesting concept but pretty difficult. Also, those wolves are ridiculously relentless.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I liked the idea but it was a bit frustrating the way the sheep followed you.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:15am

Innovative 5/5: Pretty innovative!!!

Fun 3/5: Too hard!!

Theme 3/5: It's run in a single screen.

Graphics 5/5: Great boardcard style!!!

Humor 5/5: COOL SHEEPS? REALLY?

Mood 3/5: A bit deppresed because sheeps makes me bulling. :P

Overall 3/5: Innovative but too hard. And I hate those popular sheeps and those stupid wolves.

codeapparat says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Very nice idea and i like the style. Quite difficult and it seems hardly possible to get the fancy sheep into the goal without sacrificing some sheep on the way. It might be better if sheep would follow you exactly in your footsteps, thus making it easier to navigate them through the wolves. It's a bit frustrating that there seems to be no way to drop off sheep at the goal, thus not giving you the ability to go back and get the remaining sheep. A point system where you get points for each rescued sheep (more points for the fancier sheep types) would make rescuing sheep much more rewarding.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]