Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Guns & Bricks

by tMalicet - Compo Entry

This is my first at LD. And I didn't have much time this week end. But I did my best and hope you'll like it.

This is the sound track http://www.audiotool.com/track/guns_bricks/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#371Audio3.00
#450Innovation3.26
#456Graphics3.24
#485Overall3.26
#523Mood2.96
#528Humor2.52
#535Fun3.10
#644Theme3.54

Comments

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Love this game! Really simple and fun to play. The little robot is great.

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:28pm

The game is hard to play in the realisational side :(
But liked it, so I think 4/5 :)

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:29pm

The robot is lovely :)

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:33pm

This one's for hardcore arcade gamers! It would be much more fun if, every time we press B, the brick builds in such a way that we can build stairs mid-air ;)

madhoe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Cool lil' game, but way too tough! Also I'm not seeing the point of the gun.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:35pm

A lot more fun than I expected it to be. I love that little robot and his animations!

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Sometimes very hard (short time). But it's a nice game. The mechanics are similar a game i made for gbjam3.

jams.gamejolt.io/gbjam3/games/to-burn-in-flames/31591

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:41pm

The robot art is wonderful! I got to a score of 69 on my second or third try. I would probably do even better if I tried again. I would suggest adding another level of obstacle, maybe something that only kicks in after a certain number of levels to keep things interesting and challenging. Great Entry!

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Nice game, the robot look is really cute, a bit hard, but nice :P

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Not bad. It could be a lot better though. It's a bit difficult to get to the red square with such few seconds if it's on the other side of the screen though...

Ovidios says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Those graphics are so cute!
On my first try I thought it was pretty easy until i noticed you could run out of bullets and got stuck. ^^
I'll have to admit now that that game is actually very challenging!
Nice work!

Bonesdog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Fun :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Interesting idea, but way more difficult than it should be. Took me a moment to realize I can jump on the block after spawning it over myself, because you can't pass them when approaching them from side. You might want to pick better keys for controls next time.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:40pm

nice graphics

christopf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Funny game, feels good to play. Points i didnt read or overread so far: The music in the beginning is wonderful, why do you keep it exclusive for the menu? And it would be nice when the brick would be placed left or right of the robot depending in which direction he's looking. Just my 2 cents and now go and enjoy your little daughter. I could'nt sleep the first whole night cause she was breathing so silent :D

tMalicet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Thanks all for playing my game.

@christopf: I didn't have much time for the sound so I thought that hearing this short loop during the game would be annoying :/

And you are right, I think there is a better thing to do with the 'placing a brick' action.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30am

Nice idea, gameplay was fun, too! A personal thought was that I found it hard to use V and B while also pressing space, it made my pudgy fingers clump together, maybe also allow the Up arrow for jumping?

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

It is very creative and simplistic game, loved it!

krishna911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice game nd creative simply superb :)

randomdragoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice game! It becomes a lot easier after you realize you can pass through the blocks from underneath.

miotatsu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31am

cute little game, challenging. wish the way bricks were placed was a bit different

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

I really like the concept. But there's something odd about the controls. Maybe change the buttons you have to press? Also, i'd like a little more time. Great game overall.

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

Alright fun game. Play and control work well enough. I like that the blocks hang around and can get in your way.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

cool little mechanic i think you should expand on it more, I really liked the robot animations.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06am

I loved the concept! Became hard pretty quick as soon as the red cube was too high. Nice entry!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30am

Nice :)
but .... nintendoHard detected :)

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

The little robot is adorable =3
Like your concept, especially incorporating squares disappearing against their same coloured backgrounds.

sirikan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:08am

Nice game :).

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03am

Really like the little song at the end and the robot sprites

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57am

A good idea, but the floaty controls and time constraints make it way too hard! I don't think I ever got past three or four levels in a row.

tobyp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07am

I'm not usually very good at these sorts of games, so the time seemed awfully short to me (only 15 seconds?) But i like the graphics, simple and to the point. And you even made your own intro theme :)

jfreax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:59am

A simple but effective game concept. Sound and graphics are suitable.
It's rather difficult due to the constraint time frame.

Overall its a good little game. Well done.

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:55am

Nice game.

I really liked the idea and the graphics and music.

The levels being procedurally generated makes it a bit tough though.

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Simple instructions, interesting combo of skills and really sweet music in the menu. It would have been great if that tune played in the level as well. Great work on the art on the character. I've tried it five - six times now and my record score is 1... so I think it's too hard to start. My suggestion would be to give much more time at start. Say ten times as much, and then let the blocks to be collected give as much bonus as they do now. That way, everyone, from leet to noob gets a fair chance and a challenging experience.

I didn't get to understand what the shooting was for, but that may have been me failing too soon. But for the bricking I was experimenting with more interesting patterns than the one image you have above and it feels like it would have been nice to be able to control where around the player the brick would appear. Maybe with mouse aim.

But I think you have the basis of a really great concept and you are obviously talented with those pixels so hope you give the difficulty a tweak and have a round with the controls.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Interesting idea, well done for a 1st Ludum Dare!
Brick placement & procedural generation need some improvements to make the controls more precise and the overal experience less "random".

bunnyhero says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22pm

nice set of gameplay mechanics! my fingers kept getting confused between shoot and block but that's probably just my lack of dexterity :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Good game, nice spritework on the robot guy. Time limit is quite harsh, though. Fun though!

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:27pm

It is interesting that the brick will disappear when the brick colors equal the level color. Nice mechanism ;).

michel94 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Nice game! I took some time to understand how to play it, but after that it turned out to be really cool. The robot and the menu music are good, too.

sim14789 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Fun game, 86 high score :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:25pm

The robot had real character. Nice game but a little tough.

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Very cool game! Great concept. I like the graphics and sound FX :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:52pm

I had some issues with putting the blocks where I wanted them to go, but good concept! I Included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-qEX6yeW8uQ

tMalicet says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Thank you. I guess it needs more than a minute to understand how to build a nice brick layout. And I definitely should have put more time at the beginning ...

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:04pm

nice, cute and clever, well done :)

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Sweet game. Lovely pixels. Great job! The best tactic was just to go straight up... I think.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:22pm

The game is interesting :)
The only thing I find frustrating is that you only place the platform over your head, so it's always the same way of playing which means putting blocks under the red one and jumping. It feels less "platformer"

Madball says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I liked the idea, but if feels unfinished. I recommend adding a difficulty curve, right now I can just build a diagonal grid that'll allow me to get to any point of the screen. For example, you can make block dissolve.
I think you can make something cool with this idea. I imagine myself cursing some blocks I previously placed or the color changing so I can't get anywhere because half of my structure disappeared... But in this game, you can just pillar up to solve any problem.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]