Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mechanism

by p1x3lruckus - Jam Entry

In my entry the player must survive the moving pieces of a mechanism, I'm overall very happy with the result.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#152Fun(Jam)3.56
#182Overall(Jam)3.64
#224Innovation(Jam)3.54
#277Mood(Jam)3.36
#282Graphics(Jam)3.72
#303Theme(Jam)3.76
#377Audio(Jam)3.06
#643Humor(Jam)2.31

Comments

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Nice Idea, nice art and very nice effects!

Blockers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:55pm

so far, this is my favorite LD game so far. the graphics are very well done and the idea is simple but it all just *works*. there were a few times that collisions acted a bit unnatural (warping), but it wasnt anything game breaking. awesome entry :D

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I like how the audio of the blocks moving is like the music for the game. It's very fitting.

Croze says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:10pm

This was really freaking cool! A lot of replay potential, maybe add an endless mode post-release?

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:25pm

This is awesome! I've probably put in about 20 minutes playing. I can't beat it though, I'm too newb. Poor engineers, I've killed them all...

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27pm

It's already endless kinda, you can keep playing once the doors open, and it'll keep counting score.

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:11pm

The game is really nice. Well done.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

This game is brutal, haha. Great feeling of claustrophobia. Had lots of fun playing it.

Downtown says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14pm

This is really impressive, the gameplay is enjoyable and challenging, fits the theme perfectly.

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Really nice. Love having to take my chances as to which direction the blocks are going to move and plan ahead to stay in the best position at all times.

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

very smart, hard game but it goes with the concept, i like the way things are moving. good work !

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Fun game! I really wanted to get to 30 seconds but could never make it.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Very inovative, i liked it very much.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:04am

I had a good time with this. The difficulty curve feels very nice, and the challenge ramps up to a very satisfying level.

Wampus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13am

Excellent little game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Very atmospheric game, a good feeling of tension and claustrophobia. Graphics and sound are simple, but add to the mood a lot. Quite a challenge! Fun stuff.

danielilett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:37pm

This was brilliant. I loved the sounds (they went very well with the screen shake), and the player moved well. It was very challenging, but that just made me play it more and more. The pace of the blocks moving is great too, and if you were to continue this again, I'd suggest adding a couple more variants of level, even if just a re-skin, because this one level is really awesome. Awesome job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:01am

Liked it- got to 30. Random movements made every moment exciting, and 1 second in between movements gave just enough time to assess surroundings for potential threats, so death felt fair. Well done!

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Damn this game is hard... I was happy that I managed to survive the 30 seconds after a while, then I learned that I still have to get to the door XD 40 seconds is what I have survived so far. there is only one thing I really don't like about your game and that is that you cannot make the screen fullscreen. On a big screen you have a very tiny window then. Other than that I find the game highly addicting and frustrating (in a good way ;) ) and it also looks nice. Very good match for the given theme.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:29am

This is very well done! The animation and control is great. It also really makes you feel like you're at the mercy of a...machine-which-is-incredibly-deadly-for-no-real-reason. I guess that's good. ;)

(I wonder if it's possible for the player to win without actually moving? If I set it up to restart every time the player died, and I left it running for 12 hours, I wonder how high a score I would get...)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:29am

Nice art & effects! But damn, the game's pretty hard :D

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:42am

Thanks everyone !
@Chaseed I have no idea, technically there is nothing stopping the player from winning by not moving, a block could even move the player into the door. But because of the number of things happening, and the plasmaballs bouncing around not confined to the grid, I would think the chances are millions to one. Also the collisions are a bit glitchy, so the player would fall off the block it's on a lot decreasing the chances of it moving up to the door significantly lowering it's chance of success.

egos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:27am

simple and addictive good job

veloc1 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:51am

It's awesome! But sometimes collisions fails...

kothead says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Just awesome. I didn't beat it, but I'll try again for sure!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:32am

I like the graphics and the fast gameplay. The mood is really intense.

NPException says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:02am

Very well done game!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:11am

Wow, this is pretty hard. But, I love how the blocks move randomly, you never know in what kind of situation you'll end up next.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:31am

Graphics, sound, and gameplay are all nicely done. It's very simple, but it works.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:13am

Liked:
- The sound effects. I know they were simple, but they added a necessary rhythm to the game. Good choice.
- The innovation. I haven't played a survival game in the belly of an unknown machine before. Cool idea!
- The controls. Felt responsive and smooth, with logical jump height and acceleration, which is crucial in this kind of game.

Disliked:
- The graphics. This is a bit nit-picky, because I actually mostly do like the graphics. The art looks nice and clean, and is all very unified. My only complaints are that the character faded into the background (similar colour pallet), and that I wish there was a visual cue for what direction the block was going to move (I think this would make the game more fun by allowing the player to do some short term planning, without making the game too much easier).
- There was a small glitch that would sometimes cause you to teleport to the top of a block if you hit the block's side while it was moving

Overall a very solid entry. Fun to play and innovative!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Simple and fun. It was hard to put down!

khahem says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:26am

Great game ! I finally managed to beat the game and had a lot of fun.

I love how the world is so dangerous, yet does not care about you, just moving rhythmically and killing you in the process.

pht59x says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Earlier on today, I stumbled acros a Windows machine and could have a go at "Mechanism". The game is a good solid, fast (cruel) action-platformer. Unfortunately, there was on sound on that machine.

Florent says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Too bad the game doesn't scale up when in fullscreen by nice atmosphere !

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:24pm

I don't know if there is a real tactics to have. Sometimes it's unfair (or I'm terrible).
Nice mood.
(some weird collisons)(my best: 39)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]