Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowball Fight

by JonnyGinger - Jam Entry

Snowball Fight is a wave-based arcade shooter. Survive hoards of evil snowmen in the "safety" of your snow fort.

Controls
WASD = move
space = shoot
mouse = aim

You must be facing the direction you are shooting in to shoot.

Keep in mind this is my first Ludum Dare, so I took it easy. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#740Innovation(Jam)2.67
#788Fun(Jam)2.67
#798Graphics(Jam)2.60
#852Theme(Jam)3.07
#936Overall(Jam)2.60
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39am

Not bad, nice and simple. I did start having some serious lag spikes around Wave 10. It looked like you might be triggering the garbage collector by calling 'new' too much.

Don't forget that you need to rate games to get ratings.

ijwu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:46am

I managed to crash it by spamming too many snowballs, haha. I do like how you made it so you must be facing where you want to throw snowballs. That adds a bit more to it than just spamming snowballs all over the place.

It's fun to play, as far as stationary defense games go. It would be more fun to have more elements such as upgrades, more enemy units, etc. If there were more units I didn't see them as I only made it to wave 6 before crashing.

Good job overall! This is great.

JonnyGinger says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:51am

Haha thanks guys. Those were the only two bugs I did seem to find so I'm glad there aren't more :P

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:38am

I cant shoot :/ I pressed all buttons :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:59am

The "facing" mechanic takes a bit to figure out... I thought the game was broken at first! But I do like that you can't just shoot snowballs everywhere.

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:22am

simple and nice..

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Well simple shooter with rather hard controls. I've got serious lags after while and I had to kill your game :-) You have probably some memory leak somewhere in your code...

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:05pm

A bit of lag after a while, but really nice and simple.

punkto says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Nice game. Maybe so much white in the screen :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]