Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Door 37

by Phaax - Compo Entry

Made in Unity 4.6 Pro trial.
100% from scratch (both code and graphics)..

So tired. Lots of doors.

ENJOY! :)

NOTES:
* There is no audio. Play your favourite music and make silly noises with your mouth instead!

* There's a bug where you will fall through the floor after going through a door. If this happens you might be lucky (or maybe not, who knows?). :D

* The note on the screen shows the wrong button for moving left. W should be A. Ooops!

* Click the web link for a large web window!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#75Innovation4.00
#83Theme4.16
#240Overall3.53
#400Graphics3.33
#512Mood2.97
#559Fun3.08
#658Humor2.35

Comments

Phaax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47am

Fixed a bug where colliders would trigger on room change.

stevehb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Nice. I like the look of the graphics and the rooms switching in the background.

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

I started to move around and then I change rooms and my mind was blown. That is a cool effect and a good twist for a puzzler platformer. I really enjoyed it.

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

the background switch is really nice

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

Good idea, I liked running around like crazy :)

Maybe you should have explained the goal at the beginning though, it was not really clear for me until I reached.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

Really nice graphics. I like how you presented the controls, then had them turned off with a button. That last door is a tease :)

panda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43am

Wow! This game looks way too hard for my tired brain. I love the concept, though! The only thing that bothers me a little are the switches, because some of them I can't see the effect at once. It's going to be a bit of a pain to figure out which ones I'm better off pressing, and which ones I should ignore!
Great idea, flawless execution. Congrats!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16am

VERY COOL.

MCPGNZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

Pretty interesting concept. But to tired to think right now ;)

AGausmann says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

Very great! It took me a while to figure out there was a meaning behind the colors on the doors :) But really, this is a very well put-together game.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18am

Wow, pretty awesome game :D

EndingChaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19am

very creative and nice use of 3d space!

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Awesome idea with backgound swapping ;] Its look rly great

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

Great idea, but it took me a while to get the hang of it. Before I did, I was just randomly going through doors.

JayProg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

Awesome concept, I liked navigating through the layers.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

I really liked the graphic effects. Sometimes confusing controls.

Pastry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

Game looked like it would be very challenging, but it turned out to be pretty simple and easy (not that I'm complaining). The background animation is nice. Game is a bit buggy, with not being able to jump at random times being really frustrating. I would have liked to see a bit more with the one screen theme than just sticking the game into a monitor. It's still a working game that could have a lot of potential though, so congrats!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24am

This is really cool. I like the clean art and of course the room switching. I do find that I get lost though. Sometimes I find switches that have been flipped back on. I am not sure if the game restarted or if its a bug.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

A little hard to control the player, but looks nice, nice idea.

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

Nicely done. It's one screen, just in 3 dimensions.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Very cool. I like how the levels pop out at you. Pretty tricky sequence for the buttons.

Phaax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Thanks for all your comments!
I wasn't going to submit for the compo, but the game was pretty decent when it was time to submit - so I did. :)

Pastry: I didn't have time to make switches that control multiple things and doors that only go one way (or a different way depending on which way you came from).

internetspaulicy: The game never restarts! It's one screen. ;) I know, the switches are too sensitive. Might bind that to a key instead...

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52am

Very clever puzzle game, I work as a door man during the day so the last thing I ever want to do is open doors while gaming. But I made allowances for this. Great Job!

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Nice little mechanic you got there.

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Pretty neat idea! It was totally confusing at first but over time I figured it out and eventually made it to the ending screen. Good use of the theme!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

This is a great implementation of the theme. I like the depth of the different levels in the background, and how the puzzles are clear, but appear confusing. The game appears overwhelming at first glance, but when you start digging in you can see how it is supposed to interact. I wish I knew if there were any secrets I missed, or if something new happens if I open fewer/more doors.

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice hit on the theme with the screen around the game!
Good puzzle concept. I like that you can see the whole world _somehow_ in the background. Useful to decide to see what a button is likely to cause. The many doors remembered me of Monsters Inc. Your brain must have hurt a lot after setting up that complex door world.
Too bad, I got lost somewhere. But its definitely fun!
The controls are not correct for me: Instead of W/D for Moving it was A/D for me.
I would love to hear a door sound when entering. Something like youtube.com/watch?v=k3v37Ac_CvI but self recorded from the doors in your house, or something.

Great Game!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This game looked and was pretty awesome! I really like the whole door mechanism and the buttons. It can get a bit confusing at times with the whole button pressing stuff. Overall a great game.
TENOUTTATEEEEN!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:25pm

very cool design for the game, the room switching is great

drakfyre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Great game man, reached the end!

http://i.imgur.com/A3jliFs.png

May do a low-score run at some point; I did a lot of switching at the beginning to try and figure how things were connected. If there was a pattern I failed to recognize it. Favorite thing? I loved that there was a switch that turned off the sticky. Wasn't expecting that. ;)

AnalyticalFun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:25pm

This is my first time commenting on a game that was made under 48 hours. Also, I'm not involved in the indie game development scene in any shape and form other than being a consumer of released titles on Humble Bundle, Steam, GoG or Desura. So my opinion may be colored heavily by feature filled experiences.

The initial impression I got of of the game that it was an puzzle or platformer or even both. When I passed through several doors and saw the smooth transition of background and foreground of the game layers of the level it came to me it was a pure puzzle game. Meaning it's reliant on logical solving and no other gameplay mechanics used to create obstacles for the player to overcome.

Solving the puzzle of the game consists of triggering all the switches (except one that is for displaying controls in the lower right corner) as checkpoints and then backtrack to previous parts of the level to gain access to a new door or switch to use where it previously been blocked off. There was never a need to let one or several switches not be triggered in conjunction with each other to have a different effect on the game's level layout and be able to progress.

In my first playthrough I completed the game after passing through doors 110 times. It was mostly due to I couldn't concentrate at moment of playing and went back and forth to different layers of the level. In my second playthough, a day later, I knew the solution and completed the game after going through doors 26 times.

In conclusion I do have to say I enjoyed the experience the game provided. Of the time spent making it (under 48 hours) it succeeded in its goal of providing a simple puzzle game and displaying the theme of having the whole level, so to speak, in one window.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:01am

very cool transition effect - interesting game - thanks

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:03am

Very smooth contols, i like it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]