Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

typedef char

by zzq - Compo Entry

Use arrows to control.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#15Humor4.00
#16Theme4.49
#27Fun3.97
#27Overall4.00
#37Mood3.91
#75Innovation4.00
#263Audio3.19
#265Graphics3.56

Comments

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44am

I was invested in C and his/her story

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

Awesome idea! If I had one complaint, it would be that the controls are a bit slidey.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

This game was a little too hard for me. Otherwise, really good interpretation of the theme, and I really like the homage to assembly. Good job! :)

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

Great use of the theme!

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:07pm

very well done! Super fun, super creative, and the ending is totally unexpected and worth it! :D keep going!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Simple, funny and great! I like what happens when you get close to the edge of the screen.

peeweek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Awesome compo! I litterally loled at the ending. Very clever project based on a really simple idea. This game is litterally worth the effort of climbing to the top!

Congratulations.

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I love it! It's simple but genius! I really really liked it! Well done! :D

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:15pm

struct RATING
{
const bool COULD_USE_POLISHING = FALSE;
const bool FUN = TRUE;
const char DIFFICULTY = Difficulty.TO_HARD;
const unsigned int OVERALL_RATING = EXCELLENT;
const unsigned char BELONGS_TO = Category.FAVORITE;
const bool WISH_WAS_LONGER = TRUE;
}

Vaclav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57am

Cool idea and great implementation! There could be a hotkey to skip the intro too.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Absolutely fantastic.

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14pm

whoa.... did I just see Mike Kasprzak eating C? :( Anyway, I really loved the idea, and the implementation.. Hate the controls tho.. but you can get used to it :)

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Really clever! Never would have thought to use text like that!

duon44 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Really like this game :D

Bronaldplo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:46pm

wow cool game man! awesome :)

joshg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:00am

Hehe. Cute. I like it. Almost too tall for my screen though...

rubna says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:03pm

haha awesome concept! loved the chicken at the end!!
was kinda disappointed it said 'the end' without the '. . . ?' though, haha

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I loved it. Great little concept, easy to control, short game that hit the theme well.

ezPuzzle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:54am

ending was a+

BSODDevTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:34am

Nice idea of the game. Nice game ever!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:48pm

No comments really - loved it :)

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Nice ending, good game overall.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:42am

It's a fun idea, and it plays well...mostly. After a while it just kind of got frustrating trying to climb up, falling down again...The controls don't seem as responsive as I'd like them for this kind of platformer. It's hard to maneuver while in the air. But hey, it's a good idea!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I love how beautifully you wrapped up such a simple idea.
Nice job!
Controls are fine for me btw.

Backterria says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Loved every minute of it!Very innovative and fun!The end is funny too!Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]