Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

MeteorStrike

by D.B.O.NStudios - Jam Entry

A short but fun game where you have to survive a meteor strike by getting a certain depth underground. My first Ludum Dare game I've made and its been an awesome learning experience! Looking forward to doing more of these in the future!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#326Humor(Jam)2.94
#374Innovation(Jam)3.23
#463Fun(Jam)3.09
#464Theme(Jam)3.59
#484Mood(Jam)3.05
#802Overall(Jam)2.83
#822Graphics(Jam)2.55
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:47pm

2hard4me. Keep running out of ammo and there's not really any indication of when you've been hit/are taking damage. Death comes too easily and there doesn't seem to be a way to restart. Also, I resent that the download is an installer rather than just an exe. This is all really frustrating because I want to play this game and get good at it and have fun, but I can't stomach the difficulty and inconvenience of restarting every time I die.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Couldn't make it to the bottom try as I might, but the soundtrack kept on bringing me back. Controls could have used work, but all around, excellent job!

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50pm

I forgot to mention, it would have been a lot harder to give up as easily as I did if there was a simpler way of restarting.

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Not a bad idea. Pretty hard though! Could do with a jump key so you can get back up and grab the ammo drops.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

fine idea :)

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

Wish I had more ammo!

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

I think you're onto a cool idea here, but you *have* to be able to restart without closing the window in a game like this.

My first attempt was to dig straight down, Minecraft style. But I quickly ran out of ammo and got stuck. I hit pause and restarted, this time I realized being up top was the way to go. Slightly annoyed that I can't walk past the trees, but I stayed in the section I spawned in and tried to dodge the meteors. I failed. After working up the motivation to open the game again and try again, I got much the same result.

Also, protip: for your next jam, don't make an installer. Just let me run the executable.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27am

Hey thanks for the input guys, I really like hearing your opinions. I think I literally am going to start a notebook so I can write down everything I've learned from this. haha. One thing I would like to say is I'm sorry about the lousy installer, and bad UI, a lot of those concepts were completely new to me. I'm going to definitely work on that to make it a more enjoyable experience. Again, thanks and keep the input coming!

Valeour says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:35am

Love the idea that's here.
Maybe jumping shouldn't be so floaty though. Very easy to get lost.
Lots of text is usually bad. Lots of games to play, little time or patience for reading, plus walls of text more often than not avert people
For a first LD I like it a lot, and congratulations.
With a bit more experience and polish, this would be really fun. :)

(Oh, this is a personal thing, but I hate using setups for LD games. When there's lots of games that do it, it clogs up my program files. Unless you have a good reason for doing it, I'd suggest not doing so. Not gonna mark you down for it or anything, like I said, just a personal peeve)

Thank you for playing my game too, by the way. :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07pm

First of all, congratulations for your first LD. The game needs polishing, that is true, but its your first step to improve and learn a lot! Nice and fun gameplay, cheers.

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10pm

I liked the gameplay - especially using trees as cover at first and how the landscape changes. Missed a restart option. Could use feedback on player for when getting hit besides the bar going down.

Pretty fun.

Strange to use installer although I just sandboxied it.

Tosic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:42pm

It is interesting. I especially like the asteroid damage :)

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Interesting game. Some sound effects would be nice. Concerning the installer: using Unity, just create a build an put the .exe and the Data-folder in a zip.
Way to go for a first LD game. Keep it up.

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:03pm

No easy game as it seems)
P.S. I'm so tired of installers(((((

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I love the terrain destruction!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]