Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow-Maze

by grid96 - Compo Entry

Your goal in every level is to reach the finish line to continue with the next level. Every level has its unique tiles that are added step by step. So don't worry, it'll get harder later on. If you are stuck you can skip a level by pressing '.' and ',' to try again later. You can close the game any time you want with the ESC key, but watch out, there will be no progress saved. And that's all you need to know for now. Press SPACE to get started, and maneuver your tiny little cube to the dark spot in the bottom right corner. Good luck and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#529Overall3.22
#568Humor2.47
#685Graphics2.88
#723Audio2.40
#793Fun2.84
#808Mood2.64
#836Innovation2.71
#930Theme3.27

Comments

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Very nice game, i like the style and the Gameplay.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Cool idea, and it looks and sounds great. I found it a bit hard to control though, especially when I had to do things quickly - I had to skip past a couple of levels.

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Fun gameplay, once you have get used to all this floatyness and the bouncing off walls (which make the game unique though).
And just as a tip: If there are no levels, just show nothing and leave out these WIP icons ;)

Harsay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

7th level was too hard.
Player should have bigger "friction" because sliding and bouncing took to long which I found annoying.
However I like that game.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Fun gameplay but controls are a bit tricky to manage. This is due mainly to the inertia of the player char.
Anyway game have good graphics and sounds.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice job. I liked the timing elements, and you had layout planned quite nicely. You people are putting my entry to shame.

eusekerci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08pm

nice game design. Well done

SumGato says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Having the only difficulty of the game the slippery controls makes it more annoying than fun.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Decent game, though the controls of the player character are a bit too slippery for my tastes. I like the gradual revealing of the game mechanics, though.

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Nice one! :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:18am

I love the look of this! It screams ZZT or old DOS shareware. I think you did a good job of using the theme.

I did ragequit in level 3. A combination of the gradual acceleration, low friction, and bouncy walls made moving around under any time constraint too frustrating even though in the previous two levels I was longing to get the maze done faster. This with different movement physics would be very nice.

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:21am

I thought it was a nice game. I also like how (I noticed at the end) that the level numbers are made up of the level themselves. Very nice.

On a side note: While I do think the added elasticity to the blocks was cool, it wasn't entirely necessary for a maze game. :p

Mixer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:06am

I actully really enjoyed this! Just goes to show you don't need mind blowing graphics to create a great fun game! Really enjoyed and it was tricky! :D

Love the WIP loop :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Solid entry, nice job!

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Very nice! Only thing I miss is a transition, where the level zooms out and zooms in on the new one :P

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

The game starts to install and never does:(

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very well done. I like the colors you used for the levels and the display of them on the right side! I did find some of the arrow boost things to be a bit hard to navigate due to the slippery nature of the movement. Very cool, well done!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:16am

There's some potential here for a long, long game. Something like a smartphone puzzler. The high usage of color is nice.

taviandir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:15pm

nice presentation fo the game, however its quite hard to be fast when there is this wonky bouncing off the walls

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Great idea for marking progress (the colors). Some of these levels were really creative! The movement physics were kind of frustrating; I kept getting stuck on corners. Overall great job!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:33pm

You are best graphics X_X LOVE this style! Also check my project if you have some time mate x) thanks.

Shampop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Nice ! Sometimes too hard, but it's game idea, so it's ok. I liked it !
Music is a little anoying at the end of the game.

PnDAA says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:31am

The floating aspect is fun at the begining and become anoying especially at the third level (the level I ragequit). The music is really irritating after 2 min (mute option ?). Nice graphics and great new look at mazes. The others levels seems great but I don't really like maze so.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:06am

Really nice level design and fun tile mechanics.

Downtown says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:22am

Nicely done, good puzzle mechanics, sometimes pretty frustrating, perhaps some of the pacing and movement could do with some tweaking.

Scam says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I wanted to like this game so much. However, the slippery controls and character which bounces off the walls were annoying. If the player movement had been grid based like the rest of the game, I definitely would have played this through.

madmaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Quite hard to control and the instruction text was grey-on-black, which doesn't show up well on my monitor.

Warboys says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:46am

Fiendishly difficult. I couldn't figure out the speed tile one so that's how far I got. I also skipped the level where you have to get through the passage before the door closes because I swear it's not possible in the laws of physics to get down there and through in time!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:28am

Nice game, the lack of friction does add that extra bit of difficultly

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I really like the screen layout and the gradual colour transition. The slippery / bouncy physics made it really frustrating for me, but it might work better that way if the character was smaller so it's not so hard to go round corners.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Quite a few cool mechanics in here and quite a unique art style. The controls are indeed quite tough and I skipped 4 of the levels as it was getting a little frustrating dying over and over or not making it in time due to the character bouncing off some wall, so I'm glad that skipping feature was even in there. :P
Still a pretty cool game and some fairly decent level design.

Madball says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I managed to complete all your WIP levels :P
Are you really going to make that many levels? Then I recommend you to make current levels first in their columns. That'll make an alright difficulty curve and not too much items.
I didn't like controls. Why does the player bounce? Do you have some advanced physics engine? Turn the bouncing off. I didn't like acceleration as well, but, I guess, it's crucial for you game.
Also, I didn't like pop-up windows. Usually, basics to play the game is "WASD to move", so when I saw a lot of text, I wanted to skip it. Indeed, it doesn't tell anything important. If you want some messages, I'd like the font to be bigger and the text to be shorter. Otherwise I start questioning myself if I should close it without reading.
Except for these, I liked pretty much everything. Appealing colors, variety, great level design... Well, the game is difficult, but it isn't necessarily a bad thing. Though, as I said above, I don't want the rest of the levels be as difficult as last ones.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]