Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Vanishing Point

by paperweight - Compo Entry

Collect the wreckage of fallen spacecraft to find your way home.
W,A,S,D or arrow keys to dodge.
ESC to quit.
P to pause/unpause
SPACE to skip text at the start.

Engine - Unity
Textures - GIMP
Audio - AudioTool App
World - Procedural

Postmortem: http://ludumdare.com/compo/?p=425226

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#593Audio2.64
#619Innovation3.05
#636Fun3.00
#726Graphics2.80
#733Overall3.03
#737Humor2.24
#823Mood2.62
#1143Theme2.66

Comments

davidB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51am

Controls (WASD/array) are flipped : up go down, left go right, ...

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:00am

Cool mechanic! Haven't seen anything quite like it before.

However I found it super hard! I kept letting go of the keys when I thought I had moved and then I died. Probably something you'd get used to, but threw me off.

I also liked the scrolling text.

Something like this where you could also shoot would be gleeful fun.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02am

pretty fun but quite hard. needs shorter delay after losing

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05am

nice game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:06am

Very interesting mechanics! Need some time to get used to it. Especially flying through cubes. But then it becomes a good challenge! Nice job!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

Banging Beat, Game Super Hard, Great Work!

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45am

Cool!
It took me a while to get used to where I was colliding though. I understood that I was avoiding in the blue grid, not on the camera itself.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Thought this game was easy till I slammed into a wall lol. Cool graphics, interesting idea. Nice job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

It was an ok game. Playable, hard, but repetitive after a while. The background music becomes irritating after a while.

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Cool game ! The text is running a little bit too fast ^^

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Very fun. It's really hard not to try and steer with the controls though. It took me several attempts to understand what I was doing.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12pm

nice idea, wold look nice on mobile)

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Smart gameplay! And the feeling when being inside was really intense, I always pressed the wrong way. Challanging and quite the puzzle for the brain and fingers to work together. Well done!

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice music!
Interesting concept to present the controls.
But it felt flipped - am I right?

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34pm

control mechanic is quite unique but I had trouble understanding as to how to play the game. Also the game keep getting paused by itself, not sure why.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

good game

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Nice game, I needed a lot of time to get used to control but it was fun.
Good job! :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55pm

nice visuals, but very unforgiving

hoqjed says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56pm

It took me about 5 tries to get used to the controls, then i managed to make it to 1.56x speed.

The blue square that shows different slots to move to is unessessary, as all it did was confuse me in the beginning. I thought the blue squares was my character, and it confused me why it moved in the opposite direction i wanted it to.

This is a cool game concept. I feel with some polish and testing it could absolutely be a fully fledged game.

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56pm

I also needed some time to adapt. But good job.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Great Game, hard as hell, challenging!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice, simple and innovative. Very solid and challenging gameplay.

Skipi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:05pm

This game is cool :D

Some of the orange thing spawn in unreachable areas, like right in front of a wall, but other than that it's solid.

I really liked how the text was done, too.

deepnight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:06pm

The controls are a bit surprising at first, but it's actually what makes your entry very fun to play :) Contrary to other tunnel games, you have to concentrate on your finger movements: which key to press and which to release.

The 2 main problems, imho are:
- the theme: your entry doesn't seem to fit it
- the fact that you reset the score to 0 as soon as the player lose! I don't even know what is my best score so far :(

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Cool game. Hard to see your dude though

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Unique gameplay, nice design.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice and hard game - I like ;-)

Good job!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Not bad, the controls took a bit time to get used to, but afterwards it became a nice challenge.

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:52pm

This game is really cool, its gameplay hooks you pretty fast, well done!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:57pm

nice mechanics...
quite challenging..

yanisvieilly says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Pretty difficult, but the gameplay is interesting and I had fun playing it!

banana4life says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Interesting

miro662 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:06pm

nice hard game, but controls might be different

GarethIW says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice idea and engine, but the unique control scheme was really hard to get used to.

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:27am

The controls also kinda felt inverted for me. And the intro felt a bit long every time I failed. Neat idea for the theme though!

alhvi says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:43am

Nice game, a really original mechanic. The controls are too difficult for me, always ended up hitting the walls. Good job though, nice graphics and idea. Thank you for rating our game :)

Piscythe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:13am

This was fun and challenging once I got the hang of it. That took a long time, because I really found that my own expectations and muscle memory were working against me here - I kept expecting more traditional controls and either releasing a button I shouldn't have or pressing the opposite directional button to go from the side to the middle.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:02am

Cool game! The control takes some time to master. Currently I only go up to 1.56x speed, I think.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]