Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Gridception

by Hammers - Compo Entry

Sokoban style puzzle game.

WASD/Arrow Keys to move

R To reset to last checkpoint.

Enjoy!

Made by Ryan Hamlet (@ryan_hamlet)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#8Innovation4.53
#9Overall4.20
#23Fun4.02
#43Theme4.33
#922Graphics2.53

Comments

onilink_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Wow I love the idea, this is a funny extension of the sokoban :D

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Wow that's an awesome idea :D

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Excellent ! I really like this one! It fits the theme really well too :)

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I loved the mechanics, also great use of the theme! One of the best I've played so far :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Super cool concept! I love the puzzles and the effect is quite amazing to look at. Awesome gameplay. The graphics could use some work.

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:21pm

very clever idea with nice puzzles. loved it!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I like the idea and the way you interpreted the theme. Difficulty curve is good, so game is interesting to play from start to end. And I actually managed to finish it (if it's a real end :D)!

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:27pm

amazing game.. very good use of the theme

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Did you come up with the puzzles? You, sir, are a true genius! 5/5! If it had audio, 10/5! Enjoyed it from start to finish :)

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Thanks everyone! @HolyBlackCat: Assuming you got back to the screen that says "Gridception" then yes that's the end. Or is it? (Yes it is, it just loops round from there :P)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Absolutely wonderful take on the theme. Very good level design, the whole system is really solid. I'm impressed by your ability to take a simple concept and stick to it, just exploring and developing what's possible within that set of rules. Very well done!

Akurn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Gets really trippy really fast with the ins and outs, but thats a good thing!
Great puzzles, but would be even more awesome with an art pass over :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Haha!! This is the first time I burst out laughing not because comedy in this #LD48! Well done sir! TAKE IT FAR!

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57pm

What a great Idea, it's a really good puzzle game ! and you made so much level i couldn't finish !
Bravo ;)

AinaSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Wow! great use of the theme! I love it!

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Very neat idea!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Damn this is cool! One big mindfuck, got stuck on the 8th? level. This can be made in something really good, like, a real game :)

montyontherun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35pm

My original idea was something along those lines, but I was uncertain on how to bring this into fruition. Kudos for bringing it to life!
It was a really interesting experience!

camdensegal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

This is a great idea, and there are so many levels! Nice job!

nuiguy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:12am

Nigh on perfect, I absolutely loved this game, an it's so big! I still haven't completed it but the puzzles are amazing!
Keep up the good work!

-Nuiguy

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

Shut up and take my money :D I love the idea and I would like to see more finished version of the game.

maad9 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Awesome idea! Really cool game :D The best use of theme so far

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:49am

This is a most clever use of the theme! Fun, but eventually I gave in to sheer complexity! Good job :)

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17am

Great take on sokoban. A couple of small bugs here and there with the funnel accessibility, but I really enjoyed playing it.

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Nice one, always hard to bring something new to Sokoban games.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25pm

WARNING !!!
you could get addicted o this game ;)

deepnight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:33am

Your entry is very similar to Fracuum, but with interesting gameplay twists. The controls are a bit tiresome because you can't maintain arrow keys to move continuously.

Anyway, that's a very nice game, good job and good take on the theme :)

the31 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:49am

Wow! Impressive! It's easy to forget that you can push multiple blocks at once sometimes, but the puzzles are really fun. It was sometimes frustrating to make little mistakes pretty far into a puzzle, but the checkpoints were as good as I imagine possible. (And I can certainly understand not including an undo stack!) I really liked the "ending", too, great work! Graphics could use some polish, but that's just one minor factor for puzzles like this.

Hammers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:42am

Thanks everyone. It's really good to hear that you all enjoyed it so much!

Yep graphics and lack of audio are probably the big negatives here. I've never really dealt with the art side of games before so that's definitely something I'd like to work on in future jams. Audio was more just a lack of time and got dropped off my priority list.

And yes an undo button would be the one feature I would add to this other than just more puzzles. Even as the developer I found it frustrating when I occasionally made a silly mistake and pushed a block one space too far, resulting in me having to redo the whole puzzle. But yep just didn't have enough time to develop that.

That'll be the first thing I add when I continue work on it. And I _will_ continue work on it because you guys have proven to me that this is something worth building on :)

AlphaQ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Absolutely worth building on it mate. Really well done!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Graphics and sound dont mean shit when you got such a cool take on the theme and good puzzle mechanics like these. Great! Played way too long, I feel sorry for all the other games :P

Kep says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Innovation++, well done!

Add my vote for undo, sound, and a graphics upgrade.

jmborden says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:46am

Nice twist on Sokoban.. good job!

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Very innovative idea, I love it!

Shampop says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Really awesome ! The end is pretty hard, but it's a good point. And one of the best interpretation of the theme i have seen !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]