Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

+1 Act Play

by warrenEBB - Compo Entry

This is a game about performing an improvised 1 act play, to raise money to save your theatre. Each item on stage will trigger aspects of your performance*, but be worth less points if it is reused. The idea is that nothing really leaves the screen, it just cycles back around and drops in from top.

* - I didn't manage my time well, and game barely works. Almost no mechanics made it in (I wasted a lot time working on a funny intro movie that was ditched). Look at instructions for some idea of what was planned. Mostly submitting so I can view other entries. go ahead and shame me. Next year i'll try harder.

note: I'd suggest clicking through "web" link above to view in native resolution. (you could right click in the preview iFrame, and choose "Go Fullscreen" but this switches to 4:3 aspect ration on some monitors. erp).

+ Also, there may be a few seconds of black screen at start while it loads (core file is about 500k). Not sure if this is just my Chrome browser, or my computer/graphicsCard or what.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

Nice

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33am

Very neat idea, but it's hard to see how deep the player is on the stage. A shadow might help with that.
It needs some fleshing out, but great concept!

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I liked the controls, but the game confused me. The theme was spot on with the whole "screen play reference". I get the artistic specter though : ) A little more polished it could be great! Good work.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Movement was pretty stiff.
Needs some polish but nice work.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:00am

Controls are really slidey, and the mechanics you proposed look a bit hard to remember (kind of complicated). I really like the idea, though. I wish we had more theatre-inspired games.

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:57am

Interesting idea! I'd be curious to play it after some fleshing out.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Definitely a confusing game with awkward movement, but overall it was very neat!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:39am

Well, there's something there, though it obviously needs work...You got a 3D game up and running, which is something to be proud of. ;) It was a little difficult to see where you were and to jump up on the platforms, that was the biggest problem I had. Keep at it!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Original idea, but the perspective, and gameplay, is a bit confusing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]