Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lone

by BlueTheLemon - Jam Entry

A Game about finding love into the maze of life.
Play with the Arrow keys. Restart with R. F to fullscreen.

Made by Thibaut Mereu (@BlueTheLemon) & Gaylor Morestin (@cortembloutre) in 48h.

It was our first Ludum Dare and Gaylor's first attempt to make graphics for a video game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#33Audio(Jam)4.04
#49Mood(Jam)3.92
#165Innovation(Jam)3.66
#251Overall(Jam)3.51
#336Graphics(Jam)3.63
#387Theme(Jam)3.67
#615Fun(Jam)2.90
#658Humor(Jam)2.28

Comments

ishimilated says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Love the atmosphere and music!

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

Smooth looking game, lacks gameplay elements though, plus I think the difficulty is to high for the amount of gratification, it just makes it frustrating, if you made the character faster and the hearts hang around longer I think it would be much more enjoyable.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

This game feel very serene to play... Great concept and I love the minimalist art. The gameplay is quite unique and interesting!

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nice minimalistic atmosphere!

nuno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:41pm

fantastic work with the whole mood and music. love the minimalist style too :)

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42pm

The music is absurdly loud. Other than that it's interesting?

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Good minimalistic game. Has good mood and the gameplay is quite interesting.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I think you achieved the experience you wanted to make perfectly! The sound and graphics fit together very well :)

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Lovely artstyle, very chill gameplay. Was a little confused exactly what was going on at first, but I think I figured it out...

mpath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Interesting with shades of the pacmac mechanic. Bravo!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Great atmosphere and lovely music!

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

A nice peaceful game. The music is so great.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37pm

A fun game. It made me think about life. Thanks for the experience.

danielilett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51pm

It has a nice atmosphere to it, but I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing. There doesn't seem to be much 'game' in this game, because it's not clear what the mechanics are entirely, but it's very calming. The minimalist audio and graphics work well with the general tone of the game, so it's not a bad entry by any means. Good work achieving this look and feel.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Love the music!

ianh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:13am

It's hard to get around without running into anything. Maybe that's the point!

bitserum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25am

Really nice game. A bit too hard but fits the theme, creates really nice atmosphere, well polished, no bugs.
Great job.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29am

unable to open web :(

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:32am

All good just realised you have it on this site ahaha :D, I'm glad I clicked on this game. The audio makes the game very peaceful! along with the game colour palett sweet job on the game!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39am

This is very creative, but has several annoying aspects which I hope you will forgive me for making suggestions about:

1. It is very easy to get stuck on walls, especially jutting ends.

2. It can be very easy to miss red circles, especially if they spawn inside walls. I saw one spawn outside the level once.

3. I did not really understand why some circles were small bumps, and others were huge stuns that apparently reset hearts all around the level. Why do the hearts reset sometimes and not others? Why are the hearts so far away, or so few, or so many, other times? The randomness makes it frustrating, but I suppose one can say that sort of thing about love too. :P

For positives:

1. Nice music, though a mute toggle would always be nice.

2. Great art! Fancy visual design.

3. Unique mechanic ideas.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:06am

@GafBlizzard I totally forgive you for those suggestion.
I'm aware of the first point you brought. The second seems weird. Exept for the one that spawned outside, i didn't really encoutered any difficulties catching a Red circle.

Regarding the last point, that's the thing we should have spend more time one. In fact, every 5 seconds, you see the hearts that are far away from you. Some may be close but you jsut don't see them.

Small bumps and huge bumps was a way to encourage player to not run in the crowd without hvaing them penalised to much or to often. The goal was to make the player fear Red dots, while most of the time encoutering Yellow one

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:54pm

красивая музыка и графика!

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I love the music!

akhilnivarthi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Lovely Game.The art and music was pretty cool. I loved the whole game

karol says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:43am

A great game. Beautiful background music.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:33am

The Music. . . Holy Shit!!!!! Awesome game. i wish i could build up an atmosphere as well as you guys did!

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:09am

Couldn't play in web either. It just sat on the main screen no matter what I did. Great music, though :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:27am

Really tough game but the beautiful music builds the atmosphere and makes you want to find those hearts! The only downside I could see is that I would often get stuck while trying to fit through small corridors. A bit frustrating when you're running after your one true love lol! Great game though!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:12am

Like the graphics and audio! The game play is kind of traditional but you give it a very beautiful background setting. Nice job! It would be better if the maze can be randomly generated.

Spilim says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Great atmosphere and game, we need more of these kind of games out there. I enjoyed the most the fact that you've to be patient with your lover, or it will get lost and wont be able to follow you through the walls, not sure if that one was on purpose, but you could explore more on that maybe, there's more possibilities inside there if you guys tweak a little more I think =)

Crosstales says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Like the music! Good concept, a bit too hard in the beginning though :)

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:33pm

This touched me. Thank you for sharing your heart in this way. You've hit a rare chord in the video game space and I applaud you for it.

"The goal was to make the player fear Red dots, while most of the time encoutering Yellow one"

I totally got that. Most people you run into in life sort of bump into you. But occasionally someone can really hurt you. I thought it was brilliant.

Thanks.

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:36pm

What a beautiful game. I love it!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:38am

It's a fun maze game, and that single idea that you have to evade all those green buddies, makes it really fun. Great job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Beautiful, clean minimalist design which work nicely with the gameplay and music. Did find the navigation a bit difficult though in reaching the hearts.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:16am

I enjoyed this, it was a very unique and interesting game. My only complaint is that it was hard to see the white maze against the similarly colored background. The music also fit well, did you write it yourself?

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:44am

@Dans17 The first one is written by Gaylor and the second one was generated by wikipedia on this site : http://listen.hatnote.com/

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:13pm

The gameplay may not be innovative or exciting, but I really like the way it conveys a feeling. The quiet music and the masses of visually bland people moving about without a sound (unless you touch them) underline this very well.

Excellent job!

Lynx says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Interesting concept in order to love people you must avoid people. Very weird concept to make a race against the time maze game where you must move slowly and precisely with the crowd. Great conceptual idea!

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

The music is fabulous.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]