Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Coloured Ink

by BaneStar007 - Compo Entry

3 player game (Blue, Red & Yellow)

Droplets of Ink on a screen, if colours get too close they mix, strategically, you can win, but not by obvious means.

Click on a cell to add 1 drop of colour, own 4 cells to get +1 drop per turn.

this is more of an Engine build, to see if it was possible to have 'mixed races' form new races in a civ style game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#553Innovation3.13
#992Theme3.16
#1193Overall2.20

Comments

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:14am

OOps, Broke the mixer.. but times up..

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

I had a hard time understanding the mechanics at first. Really interesting!

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54am

I have no idea of how to do any of this, but the concept is great.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:56am

Don't really understand it, but could be the start of something good.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

I too am struggling to understand the mechanics. I did find that you can continually click the same spot to make it huge!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

Some of those areas can get really big and obscure other parts of the board.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05am

Yeah, you're adding more ink to the board, so the 'bubble' is to get bigger and bigger and start covering other players, mixing their colours together..

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06am

Can't quite get the mechanic, but it was cool messing around.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:07am

Looks cool if i could understand how to play

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21am

Interesting how the actual size of the space affects color spread instead of adjacency, but I wonder if that actually changes the playstyle at all? The net effect seems the same.

Scam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I did not understand the rules, but I love hexagonal board games!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I didn't really understand the rules fully, but it seemed like it could make an interesting game. Trying improving the speed from clicking a hex to actually seeing a change though, there is quite a bit of lag.

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I feel as though this could have been an interesting game if the "mixer" was fixed and if there was an objective to the game.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Loved it

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:32pm

A bit hard to understand for me but congratulations making a multiplayer game!

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:10am

Hard to understand the mechanics at play in this.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I don't really understand the win or lose conditions, but this feels like the start of a really cool territory based game like Go. Nice entry! :)

edve98 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I don't really get it how I should play this. And it looked quite laggy for me.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:58pm

this game was a bit confusing, wasn't too sure what to do. My friends and I had a fun time!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I honestly had no idea what I was doing to influence the game outside of just making colors larger.

mahu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:01pm

A tutorial would be nice.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Did not really get it. I like hex based turn based game, so I hope you improve on it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]