Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

THE AXE GAMES

by Team BluCookie - Jam Entry

THE AXE GAMES
is a short viking snowboarding game in which a viking rides a Plasma TV Screen downhill.

Everybody is going to participate the AXE GAMES. The only problem: there aren't any shields for you left to ride on. Thus you decide to rip the plasma TV off the wall and ride on that.

Controls
-------
[Left Arrow] [Right Arrow] or [A] [D]: Move Left/Right
[Return]: Restart after dying



Credits
-------
@iossif: Code + Music
@leafthief: Art
@srbmichael: Sound + Additional Coding

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#71Graphics(Jam)4.33
#88Fun(Jam)3.75
#102Humor(Jam)3.60
#277Mood(Jam)3.36
#289Overall(Jam)3.46
#611Innovation(Jam)2.87
#656Theme(Jam)3.38

Comments

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:30am

Nice game. I laughed at the Xgames pun. I kinda want to see more of the background story. Also, it would be great to be able to play as the female character. :D

jsmtux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

The linux version points to the mac one

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

fixed! you should be able to download the linux version now.

Finlal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice game, fun music!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Very fun game!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47pm

fun game! I liked the fake 3D. It remindmed me to the old race games :)

Groydis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:05am

I Laughed. Great job.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:07am

Great game! Wish there was some way to track our progress, like an indicator of how far you went (in meters).
Also, the game seems to work fine in Safari.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:49am

Nooo way!! :D
Cool music, challenging, nice pixel graphics.
Gentlemen, this job is well done! Congrats.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:49am

Great pixel art. I loved the style. A very Skryrim vibe.

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:53am

Cool graphiscs and story concept but the gameplay is too limited.

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Haha pretty fun interpretation of the theme, and the graphics are amazing. My only complaint is that the obstacles take far too long to disappear, so I often misjudged the right moment to move between lanes.

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Reminds me of the old racing games. The gameplay didn't take the theme so serious therefor the maincharacter :))
Female character +1

AxeTheory says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I demand ramps and powerups! Great game, the music really sells the action.

Threef says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Visuals are great, but it didn't bring anything innovative or fun.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Awesome gameplay! I enjoyed playing this a lot. Visual and music are also great! Is there any finish line, or does it go endless? I also wish there were some info on screen such as distance or ranking.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Great visuals and music, found the theme and setting hilarious. Of course vikings have plasma tvs.

I think stuff could have just vanished faster because it's hard to quickly see when it's safe to move to some spot, or stuff might be hidden behind trees. especially the middle lane can be very tricky.

runvs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Hi there, really nice and fast paced game. Music is great, some really nice rock to get you running!

I had some problems to determine when an object on a certain lane disappears. so sometimes i crashed into one stone or tree horizontally. This might be to long fading times.

But nevertheless, great game, i enjoyed playing it!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:24pm

It's a nice little game.
Wish to have a special mode to cut the tree down or take the wife with me. :-)

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:31pm

I really enjoyed this game. The lane switching felt super satisfying and the whole theme was just fun overall. The only issue I had was that it was confusing how the different lanes seem to be moving the obstacles at different speeds (or inconsistent speeds?), so it was hard to determine quick enough which lane to be in sometimes. I like the music as it fit the game really well. Nice job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Fun game which reminded me of the old winter Olympics games. The art is great and loved the TV board, great humour.

flwns says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Music was intense.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:53am

Very impressive graphics with nice sounds. An objective or a score would be funnier. The lines on the snow are not really necessary.

Carduus says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Gahaa Vickings surfing Rainbow snowboards, LOOoove it!

I think you reversed the zoom effects on trees and rocks, it should begin to appear slowly then go faster when it comes to the camera, like in reality :)

Fun! and the vickins animations are awesome!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:19pm

This is so awesome! Love the METAL!!

GFM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:36pm

I think this is the only game I've seen so far that was able to use the theme in a non-direct way... I didn't even know it was possible!! Well, it was also a literal use, but not the one 99.99% of the participants saw...

I liked the game, but felt a lack of progression... The day started to get darker at some point, but then I hit something and it looked like I went back to the start...

Graphics were great, and somewhat reminded me of a stage from The Lion King for Mega Drive. The music was really fitting!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Liked:
- The graphics. Top pixel art, well done.
- The music. Perfect. Reminded me of 1080 avalanche (a gamecube snowboarding game)
- The idea. Making a two button left-right snowboarding isn't very original. Making one with a Viking though? Wonderful.

Disliked:
- How my snowboarder sprite blocked what was in front of him. Maybe some kind of "see-through" effect would fix this
- How much sprites slowed down as I passed them. The pace seemed unnatural, and made the game difficult in a frustrating way.

Overall I enjoyed playing though. With a few small changes this could be a very addicting little minigame.

Riocide says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:43am

Finally something different! Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]