Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Fonic Forrest

by dkdwrek - Compo Entry

Choose your instrument and jam out in the Fonic Forrest! Play through endless levels of increasing difficulty, while upgrading your instrument with the power of mushrooms.

Unzip the file and extract all. Then open FonicForrest.exe to run the game.

Made in HaxeFlixel using FlashDevelop, Pickle, Audacity, Bfxr. Sounds recorded using GarageBand.

Enjoy!

Should I do some post-compo work on this? Let me know! http://strawpoll.me/3153288

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#154Audio3.44
#331Overall3.42
#342Fun3.32
#389Humor2.74
#495Graphics3.18
#571Theme3.59
#792Innovation2.79
#798Mood2.65

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

i really like the sounds! Good overall ;)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42am

nice, felt pretty polished

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42am

Liked it, my only gripe is that I always died due to things spawning on me... Thereby making it a matter of chance and not skill. Still enjoyed it.

berkano says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

Funny, crazy little game, love the musical element :-)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45am

Was an interesting game but a bit confusing on the instruments part!

Shpuld says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:47am

Cool game, only problem I have is the left-side only sound, drives me nuts.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58am

brilliantly done! very well polished and fun.I learned so much just from playing this game!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nice concept! I liked the variety of enemies present. I think it might've made the game more interesting if new enemies were introduced over time; after round 6 I felt I had seen pretty much everything.

(Also an instrument with 1 HP but 3 DMG would be cool!)

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:03am

I like the retro style in this. Well done.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

PRETTY DOPE

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27am

Cool idea with the instruments' attacks syncing with the music. I was jamming with my headphones on. Difficulty was kind of underwhelming in my opinion, but still real fun.

stray says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Great concept. wow.

pretty funny

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice audio works. Just a little bit tricky when enemies spawn inside of you.

guimm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32pm

The graphics, the music, almost everything are realy good. Good job!
My record: level 26 :P

Wakka says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:04pm

83272 points, nice funny game.

WiErD0 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:09pm

cool idea, but I didn't really like it when things spawned on top of me. Also, why would anyone use the drums when they could use the piano that does the same damage, but has more health?

SneManden says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Some cute small pixel sprites there :) A simple game, but a finely polished experience.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:01am

Nifty game! I like the sprites, especially the lute and the owl, and instruments seemed well balanced, though it would've been neat if they had different movement mechanics as well.
Cheers!

Night says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:02pm

I like concept of game, it's funny.

Belvar says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:54am

Fun game, nice Binding of Isaac style gameplay. I like the instruments that makes different sounds when the shoot.

LabOne says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Can't check sound, but it was very fun.
EAT MUSHROOMS
@
PLAY GUITAR

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]