Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Radius Man

by mrcarmody - Compo Entry

My First Game!

Help Radius Man save the world from Bad Data. Get a high score!!

Use the arrows to control Radius man

Sometimes it is a little buggy when you die. Refresh the page if needed! Also, the code is pretty ugly, please just look at the production code when you review :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#311Theme3.80
#879Fun2.73
#971Innovation2.47
#1033Overall2.67
#1052Graphics2.25
#2251Coolness14%

Comments

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Really good for your first game. Very smooth and complete.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Great effort on your first game! Keep up the good work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice work for your first game! I had a couple times where data spawned in locations that were impossible to reach because they were blocked off by the minions. Otherwise this is pretty solid.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Good effort on your first entry. Here are my thoughts:

Smooth controls. Best strategy seems to be sliding along the edges to get "good data". Maybe the game would have more depth if everything was a bit smaller, allowing for some strategic movement. Also, even adding the most bare-bones of sound goes a long way.

edve98 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Quite nice, but next time add some kind of sounds(use http://www.bfxr.net/ for best results)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:16pm

so simple, yet so fun, well done for a first entry

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really smooth and cool, played for a while too!

punkto says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice game

jotson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Congrats on your first game (of many)!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Not bad for a first game.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Was harder than I first thought it would be! xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]