Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Blue Screen of Love

by cmdr - Jam Entry

Blue Screen of Love is a dating sim that involves you trying to help your OS overcome her fear of the Internet.

BSoL was made primarily using HTML/CSS and Twine. This game was a group effort of Marina Lucio (code/art), Carlos Duralde (story), Ashley Yoon (art), Yael Shapira (story) and Nicholas Zhang (music).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#13Theme(Jam)4.43
#30Humor(Jam)4.02
#75Mood(Jam)3.80
#100Overall(Jam)3.80
#153Innovation(Jam)3.67
#155Audio(Jam)3.54
#187Fun(Jam)3.49
#320Graphics(Jam)3.65

Comments

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

:'( Could not get Dorothy to love me. I'm so sorry. Please fix that. Baby come back. ='(

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Didn't manage to write a virus to take over the internet ;-)

Enjoyed the dialogue though ;)

Switch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

That touched me hard

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

This was really good, had me playing through a few times until I won - the first time I didn't realise that I needed to be nice.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

What a great game. I had so much fun playing it. Dorothy is great :D

woodecker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

Loved the story!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04am

So cute! I made it to the internet :). Great story, and really fantastic interface!

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

Amazing game, you rock dude!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31am

Cute story, and a good take on theme.

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57am

Reminds me of that movie "Her". Cool idea, nice story.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:06am

Love this!

mactinite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12am

That was adorable. I <3 Dorothy.

Rulrite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13am

A great game; I really had fun playing this one. I wish it was longer, but given the replayability/multiple endings it's probably about the right length. The dialogue is well-crafted and humorous, and I couldn't help but test out different options to see what would happen. Very well done, guys - Dorothy would be proud!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:32am

Dialogue was great. Top notch humor. Played twice and about to play a third time.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:43am

WE TOOK OVER THE INTERNET! Dorothy and I are in love forever.

Great game. Really funny! There should be more dating sim style games like this on Ludum Dare!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52am

Very well written!

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09am

Really solid entry :D Didn't even feel quite like Twine, really impressed with what you guys were able to achieve with only HTML. Great story as well, really funny xD Dorothy formatted herself on me lol

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31am

Awesome. Even computer have feelings. Intresting interpretation of blue scree.
In my game for Compo I have computer too, but it not so cute.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40am

Oh man... this is good. Its beautiful. Its just... *sniffle* so beautiful

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25am

;_; D-Dorothy I love you

PolandTyu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Aw Dorothy's so cute :'< It'd have been amazing if she could talk with cute robot sounds <3

The only bad thing I have to say is that reading white text on this bright blue screen really hurts my eyes, maybe you should change the colors a bit?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Really cool idea! Unique take on the traditional visual novel. Even if dorothy won't love me. Great work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Great :)
Nice idea, I never dated a computer before.

gladers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I played it through twice to see the different endings, it was a lot of fun! I'm definitely going to recommend everyone play this!

chrisamaphone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Neat idea, music, graphics, and use of theme! It reminds me a lot of "Digital: A Love Story."

My only complaint is that the narrative fell on the lazy "jealous girlfriend" trope; that was really jarring and kind of took me out of the story.

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

That was amazing storyline and great text based game, well done!

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Hilarious dialogs and nice touching music. The game is simple bot not as boring as some dating sims. :D

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Awesome game. Neat use of the theme overall and I had plenty of fun playing it. Great work! :D

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:58am

Like the acronym for DOS. Interesting game play. graphics is good so is audio. Good entry, great job

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:05pm

really good game. I like it very much. I like dorothy and the whole idea. very well done.

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

Ha ha the conversation is unreal ! I loved the humour.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:22am

Funny, cool idea. I appreciate this game much.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:34am

Had a good laugh playing this game! Could use some more personality types or deviations with Dorothy, but for the amount of time spent, I thought it was very impressive.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]