Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Untitled Snow Survival

by d3dc - Jam Entry

This game started out as an idea to make a single-screen survival game.
The mechanics revolved around balancing staying warm and dry inside with the need to gather resources to stem the collapse of your roofs against an onslaught of snow.

We're a two man team, one of which has never tried to make a game before, and this proved to be quite a bit of work. What we ended up with isn't quite a game, but might be sandboxy enough.

The attached "tech demo" should run anywhere there is Java.

EDIT: I've changed 2 things:
1. the camera doesn't zoom in for building
2. you can't build at night

Most of the "features" were bugged because their physics bodies were mispositioned by scaling. The change wasn't significant, but was more than a typo. I feel we aren't in the runnings for anything serious, so I've changed the download link.

You can get the original, buildings off the screen version here:
http://cl.ly/162G1w2Y2I3Z

Controls:
A - left
D - right
W or Space - jump

Left click - place selected buildable

Snow intensity is random and ramps up at night.

Built pieces don't break and can't be removed.

Cold was supposed to be based on how far you had moved through snow piles, but this system was replaced with snowflake damage so the demo player could die.

Fires didn't make it, but were close to implementation and would warm the player up, while providing some melting heat to snow piles

I hope to write a decent post mortem once I've rested from this ordeal :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#383Graphics(Jam)3.52
#609Mood(Jam)2.90
#640Innovation(Jam)2.82
#676Theme(Jam)3.36
#893Overall(Jam)2.70
#911Fun(Jam)2.41
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54am

Looks beautiful. So far, so good ;)
Good luck with the rest!

Vacso says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I couldn't understand the objective of the game and I don't know how I was meant to build a house? I didn't rate because I haven't played what this game has to offer by the way.

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I like the idea, has some potential. I couldn't work out how to build anything, it seems like it's possible but maybe i'm wrong?

d3dc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:17pm

A lot of stuff broke last minute when we added the night camera zoom (all our physics bodies didn't scale). I'm working on patching it up so this is more playable.

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Cute - not sure what to do though?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05am

Can't build any structures, the graphisms are great and i love the snow physics but i'm not rating yet because i can't realy play.
Great job for a first try anyway ;)

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:41am

The physics were quite well done, and I think that with a little bit of music and some serious bug fixing, this could have been quite a good product.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35am

You've got the makings of a fun game here. It feels like you were almost there too. Nice job on the graphics!

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Good groundwork. Gameplay is a bit broken, but what is there looks like a promising start.

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Great attempt even if it wasn't finished, I can see some nice potential on this! also, included it in my random LD31 gameplay video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ei_gJeG5cgM

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]