Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cobot

by GameQuester - Compo Entry

###Updated Version###
In the new version of Cobot you can now choose between "Normal Mode" and "Hardcore Mode". In "Normal Mode" there are checkpoints, in "Hardcore Mode" there are none.
In addition I improoved the controls and the physics, so the gameplay feels better and is a bit easier.

Controls: Move: arrow keys, Jump: y or z, Exit: Escape
######

Cobot is a platformer game where you play a little robot bug. Try to get the little robot in the blue liquid and avoid the green acid.

Controls: Move with the arrow keys and jump with space. Use Escape to exit the game. Thats it!

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#676Graphics2.89
#753Theme3.45
#811Fun2.82
#824Audio2.16
#856Humor1.95
#914Mood2.51
#934Overall2.82
#1018Innovation2.38

Comments

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Now this one requires some precision platforming :D I like the clean graphics and tight controls. The teleporters make clever use of screen space and while many people would probably appreciate checkpoints, I actually kind of enjoy the challenge. Very old-school.

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Surprisingly difficult!

I got a little frustrated by the fact you can't turn around without moving, and some of the jumps seem punishingly precise.

That said however, its a nice little platformer with some nice little sound effects :) Well done!

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I like it very much. It's pretty hard, but quite enjoyable. The sliding after landing or stop moving reminds me of the old mario game for the NES, which adds a nice difficulty.

ranseur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:51pm

You should let the player jump even if it doesn't stand completely on a ledge, nice platformer though!

qristofer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Very oldschool and precise, and hard. I like it.

PERECil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

OMG, this game is hard as f** :D. I liked it, tough, remember me that I still have two left hands when it comes to platformers games.

Asado says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I didn't get the idea. Just didn't. It was too difficult right from the start without telling me how to do stuff. I think it would be better if you made it clear how and what to do. BTW "w" would be a better key for jumping.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

This game looks great! Really cool pixel art/animations. My only issue is that the control has acceleration and the little bot slides making it hard to set up some of the jumps.

IcyLava says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58pm

The teleporters were a cool idea, like has been said, but I would've liked some checkpoints. People won't spend a lot of time on a game, because they have a lot more games to rate. But it's a really nice game, especially for a first one. Good job ^_^

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Very nice game and I don't mind the challenge, but the challenge plus the fact that it doesn't save now that's harsh :D
Great job!

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12pm

This is interesting, I liked the teleportation mechanic a lot. I think that my main issue with the game is the controls, I'm not a huge fan of how sensitive movement is. Otherwise I'd say I liked it. Nice job!

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Yeah this is a precision game :D I gave up after finishing half the level. Great use of the theme though.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I got too frustrated too early on. I don't really believe in the idea of "perfect jumping" or "impossible jumps" so those were kind of a turn off from the game. I would also suggest that you use the teleporters in a way that you won't try to use one and then instantly fall off the platform (the first teleporter)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

Nice little platformer. I gave up after I died because I was lazy to go from start again -- some checkpoints would be nice :-) But controls feels good and polished. Good job

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Man this game is unforgiving... I didn't make it all the way to the goal yet. Good use of the theme, nice art and well execution of the game mechanics. I'm only missing some kind of background music.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Quite a difficult game, also amazing death SoundFX. Amazing job!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Oh god this game is hard and punishing but it is fun. I would like to have some kind of checkpoints and have a little more marginal on the jumps

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Now that is a hard platformer.

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21pm

The area at the bottom of the level is hard! I really like the art style and the robot bug is really cute. I also like the teleporting mechanic and sound effects, they really add to the atmosphere that we're dealing with some kind of robot facility. Well done!

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I like the graphics but I found the controls a bit floaty. I found the lack of checkpoints personally frustrating but that's really just a matter of taste. Good job overall.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Quite a fun little platformer, though quite challenging. The teleportation stuff was neat. I like the player thing's running animation. Decent graphics in general really. Cool stuff!

grid96 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Cool looking game. But really hard, checkpoints would have been nice.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice game. Very retro :3

Mokosha says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Good platformer. It's very hard and unforgiving, though! That being said, good job on making every failure point recoverable. The thing I'd like to see are checkpoints (maybe spawn at last door when you die). Good job!

Demy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:19am

"But I jumped, I jumped! Why didn't he..." *keyboard cracking*
Nice puzzle game, where you need to do everything exactly as it should be >_<

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:56pm

nice solid platformer, very challenging, well done

Joror says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I'm not much of a platformer but gave this a try... yet a bit too much for my precision. ;)

lase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I think this a pretty cool game. Simple, but fun mechanics. My one complaint is that that dying sets you all the way back at the beginning - it would be cool if it was the previous portal or something.

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:51pm

fun game, could need checkpoints

Bernhard says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Checkpoints would have been appreciated alooooot >_<
Other than that liked it alot, jumping felt pretty good and everything. Thumbs up!

Sharky says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:27pm

doesn't open:(

GameQuester says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:47pm

@Sharky
Do you have Java installed?

pht59x says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:19pm

The start should be a little bit easier. Also, checkpoints are a must. Other than that, visually it is a plesant ewperience as well as soundwise.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Not bad, but checkpoints would be nice.
Also, I found a bug: everytime you land after jump, you move ~2 pixels to the right.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I got halfway with 6-8 tries. But the lack chekpoints really exhausted me. I like the gfx but the teleport tiles seems too solid for my taste :)

GameQuester says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Thank you all for the great feedback. I uploaded a new version. You can now choose between normal and hardcore mode. In normal there are several checkpoints. I also improoved the controls and physics, so the game control feels better and is a bit easier.

jpmit says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Extremely difficult (for me).

But nice looking and good concept, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]