Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Jones and the Dark Maze

by Absor - Compo Entry

Mr. Jones lost his way.

It is now your chance to help him get out of the Dark Maze!

The game is about surviving. There are no ways to kill enemies.

Look around with mouse. Primary mouse button to move and secondary to use a flare.

Alternate move key is LEFT CTRL, alternate flare key is LEFT ALT.


For 64bit versions replace 32 with 64 in the download urls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#333Mood3.19
#338Audio3.07
#604Theme3.57
#670Graphics2.91
#677Humor2.33
#718Innovation2.91
#893Overall2.87
#994Fun2.52

Comments

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

I liked the lighting and the graphics. The main thing I don't like about it is that it's so dark that I can't see when a monster kills me or that a monster was coming after me. Or when a trap is there. Overall, it makes it really moody, but also kind of frustrating. Otherwise, great job! (:

misto423 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Pretty simple. I wish I could see what was killing me, the light seemed to randomly glitch out a bit for me and I would get killed since it was completely black. If the light worked better, I think it'd be more fun. Also, I noticed a flare triggered on right click. This would make it easier, but the web player pops up the menu on right click. Might want to consider having an alt key for it.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:36am

My top run is 208 seconds, didn't have time to play too much though. Sounds are important for noticing the enemies (still hard).

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Updated the description with the alternate keys.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Cool idea. But how do you slay the enemy? It would be handy to see how many flairs you have, since you can only seem to fire it once? But I don't know. Art style is cool but I'd like for the camera to zoom in a bit.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Good atmosphere.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:36pm

nice music and graphics, but it's almost impossible to avoid the enemies...

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:42pm

It is short but hard, nice music as a reward if you beat it. 148 seconds my best so far. :P

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

looks nice! it feels like it's too dark to actually play though! :/

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Really liked this! One of the best so far! Good job! ^^

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Cool concept. A little too dark tho...

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Nice mood but really hard. I didn't get why flares only work sometimes.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39pm

He says it but it can be easy to miss, true. They have a cooldown of one minute.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Really cool game and idea overall. Hard to see the snakes and stuff that kills you, but that is the point isn't it, haha. Great humor and mood too btw, with solid music to boot!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Cool idea, but a bit too dark to be playable.

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Interesting idea, but the music doesn't help to hear things coming, and it seems important since, even with the flashlight, you don't see that much.

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23pm

too damn dark. But great graphics and astonishing lightning !

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Thanks for the feedback! The concept was maybe a bad choice for the theme, this game might benefit from a closer perspective. Then you wouldn't have to stare at the 90% of black screen all the time.

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16am

Moody, interesting concept, but there's very little in the way of actual feedback as to what's happening to you. If I don't know what's going on then I can't avoid it, if I can't avoid it and I die and not know how I died it won't hold my interest.

The boulder was the clearest obstacle and I loved the boulder. I think it's a boulder.

Does the level shift? That's at the same time cool and frustrating. Can't really learn anything if the level keeps shifting and you don't know what you're running into/towards!

Cool concept and decent execution otherwise!

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Quite hard but nice and simple concept!

gquibao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:13am

It's a great game, the only problem is that it's too dark, I couldn't see the monsters or traps and died all the time. It's very challenging, but a bit frustrating. Anyway, I liked the game even getting killed by a spider a lot of times! Congratulations

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:27pm

So dark in there I can't see a thing ))
By the way music is lovely!

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I like this. It has interesting mechanics and cool graphics. I also like that the levels are procedurally generated and that it is not about killing everything; it's surviving. I would have liked an ambient sound that contributed more to the terrorific setup insted of that low resolution music. Also, it is not as fun played on the iframe because the figures are too small.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:28am

cool music and atmosphere!Challenging also,not a bad thing

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Nicely done! Reminds me a bit of my own game, just that you can't die in mine ;-)

Very good job, it really feels like being in a dark maze, even though it's a top down perspective.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:42am

Well, I get what the intent was, but I was mostly reliant on the maze's random factor. Didn't really feel like survival to me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]