Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Summoned

by jelly - Compo Entry

Summoned is an exploratory, platformer in a very small space. Mostly it's about jumping around and being a cute demon.

The game's story, which didn't quite make it in is that a little girl summons you to help her. With what? Oh destroy her evil imaginary haunts and kick back and eat berries together. That's the source right there.

It was my first LD and I had a blast. I plan to continue developing it because I'm happy with the idea and I like the world. So please enjoy it too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#495Innovation3.21
#533Graphics3.13
#586Mood2.90
#592Theme3.58
#661Audio2.53
#754Humor2.21
#789Overall2.97
#1005Fun2.50

Comments

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59am

I keep falling off!

And then I figured out that I could hit enter and pull the platforms to me. And then I still kept falling off!
(neat game)

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01am

Everything is black?

pjchardt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

Nice mechanic and solid style. My only criticisms are that having to start over was a bit frustrating, and I either did not do something or there is no win condition. Nice work!

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

I can't get very far in this - the orthographic camera makes it really hard to tell whether a platform can be jumped to :(

mickanio says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11pm

i got all the berries! i love how this looks. Woo! Music is great too

mattytime says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

wow i'm so intrigued by this world can't wait to see what happens if you continue developing this :-D the sounds/music and animation are so nice.

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05am

Nice! I wish the controls didn't require me to move on diagonals, it makes jumping awkward, but overall it was a neat little setting. Good job!

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00am

Great effort for your first LD! *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP* *CLAP*

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:01am

Doesn't render correctly in the webplayer for me, but the screen shots are mucho sex

prymidion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03am

Very funky. Nice (and bizarre) visuals. I like the "summon platforms" mechanic.

It's a little hard to tell where to jump-- judging depth is kind of tricky.

Aevek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04am

I really love the mechanic of moving the platforms to you. That felt really cool, and I would love to see where you can take it if you continue to develop it. The sections that required more old-school platforming were tricky, largely I think because of the isometric camera view meaning there was no depth perception. I was able to complete it, but I had to start over a few times simply because the platform was actually not where I thought it was.

stalker1586 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:08am

You should make good tutorial. Music so annoying... But idea is cool! And thinkable gameplay.

baseteam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29am

so much lags :(

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Fun game! While I did not do very well at first, I had fun playing it and eventually I figured it out but still didn't do very well haha. I liked the challenge though :)

Macecraft says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

An overly frustrating game had it not been for the pull platforms key! That was a great feature! I really enjoyed that. The art gave me a bit of a headache, but I liked the main character. Really great way to add a twist to a genre. Nice going!

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I really enjoyed the look, and the character is great! I also did not figure out for a while that you could summon the platforms to you. Even after discovering that, the movement controls are a bit clunky feeling but overall great work!

qristofer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Nice looking, the challenge lies in finding the 3D-position of the platforms. Very, very tricky. Good job!

Derezzer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice! Took me a little bit to figure out the summon platform mechanic, but I thought it was really cool. To the people with perspective problems, I noticed that there was a light emanating from the character that clearly showed where the platform was situated in relation to the character. Awesome job all around!

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:43pm

A bit hard but fun. The perspective makes it even harder but I suppose is intended.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Enjoyable once I worked out how to move around. Couldn't get to the last bush though :(

-C

cabezotta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Very weird! but great idea, it fits very nice with the theme! good work!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:53am

Very colorful -- I liked the graphics of the player.

ezrmax says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:37am

crushing it jellybones! difficult as always :) but life is difficult :(

Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Cute graphics

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Love this little world, love the music but I'm still fighting to reach that last platform!

Anyone got a hint?!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]