Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Penthouse Poltergeist

by nathanhinchey - Jam Entry

You have been murdered!

You are a poltergeist haunting the penthouse suites. Gain access to new powers based on the total fear level of residents, but be careful: if you scare someone too badly, the whole family moves and takes that delicious fear with them.

Try to unlock the ultimate vengeful power.

(entire game takes less than 5 minutes)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

BretHudson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Neat little idea you have here, took me a little bit to figure out the way the controls work. The ending had me laughing, and I like the overall concept. The only downside is it's kind of hard to tell what's going on at times, such as scaring someone too badly. I think I did it on accident and it seems kind of random. Other than that, this game's provides a good little laugh and a few minutes of entertainment.

cardanai says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Could not download, got a network error. Not sure if it's on your end, but I've had no trouble with other games.

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Cool concept! took me a while to figure out things but it felt really good to scare the npc's - I wonder if there's a game like this commercially available...

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Quite the neat concept, well done!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I'm too dumb, I don't know how to play it :c

TheExGenesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Controls?

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:34am

I'd feel unfair rating this, couldn't figure out what to do or if it was a bug. May be a Linux only bug? It opens up a window larger than my monitor and is kinda in fullscreen mode, so clips the top right half of the view.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:29am

I have only unlocked one more power (the setting-things-on-fire one). Not sure what I should do next or whether there is more progress...

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:21am

Nice game with based on a very interesting idea, I liked it! It would be nice to have some more visual progress indicators of what's happening /ie. how much more fear you need to unlock the fires of vengeance, when someone is too scared/ but overall, really fun game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]