Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Through the Windows

by peeweek - Compo Entry

/!\/!\/!\ INSTALLATION NOTES /!\/!\/!\
The game uses XNA as the Game engine : In order to run the LD31.exe file you will need to install the XNAFX4_redist.msi
and make sure your PC have .NET Framework 4 installed as well (but It should on modern PCs)
/!\/!\/!\ END OF INSTALLATION NOTES /!\/!\/!\

Through the windows is my first attempt as a game that can run on a single screen. The base idea was to use the same window to display only one room of a dungeon at a time. When exiting the room, a new one is generated, the difficulty meter incremented, and the previous room trashed away, so when you exit from where you entered : SURPRISE ! :)

This was done so in order to create anguish when travelling into the next room. Also, the layout of the rooms are depending of the main screen layout. When travelling to rooms close to screen border you can expect to come to smaller or tightier rooms.

The main objective is to gather 5 crystals that appear randomly around dungeon rooms, at a slightly higher probabiliy as the game advances. Also, there are probabilities to pick up hearts that fill the health meter.

The game is hard and can be frustrating at first, especially because of the collision constraint that require a good alignment, and not rushing for the room exits.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Theme4.15
#173Innovation3.73
#184Audio3.36
#255Mood3.29
#308Fun3.36
#324Overall3.43
#431Graphics3.29
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

peeweek says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:41pm

A video of the game running can be found here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=giFm_z_PjY4&feature=youtu.be

Please note that the XNA Redist is also included with the redistribuable, but also you would probably require the .NET framework 4.0

NuSan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46am

I love the idea ! Great job, keep up the good work !

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice how the window moves when you enter a new room.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Wow, this is REALLY innovative! It's really cool.
I found it hard however.
I don't know what to say. Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48pm

good idea
really like the music and art style

Silverdro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50pm

i'm lovin'it

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Wow amazing! I love how you reinvented the playspace on your monitor so creatively for the theme.

Too bad the walls are buggy - there are also a couple other bugs (not transferring rooms, enemies get stuck, walled in completely on first load). I wouldn't have found those if it wasn't so much fun. Never beat it though... even with trying to exploit popping in and out of the same rooms to only pickup good stuff.

I highly recommend a controller if you didn't try with it.

Audio is great both sfx and music.

Mopz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I really wanted to beat it, so I played it many times, but I never managed to :( I found it to be a very good game. The only annoying part is that you're often hit by an enemy the moment you enter a room.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Well that was awesome! Making the windows move like that is really cool

colludium says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Really enjoyable!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Congrats, dude!

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Interesting.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Isn't the idea I have in mind when I see the theme "Entire Game on One Screen" but it's a good interpretation as you did it. Frenetic movements and good gameplay. Love it :D

Conk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Really like the idea, had me playing for so long the music really started to annoy me (: so that's good. Some points though, 0 looked more like an 8, must be the font, but it confused me... Enemies would destroy me as soon as I entered the room, which is really annoying, they'd also get stuck on a door, making that door impossible to leave through without taking damage. There was something else, but I can't remember.

Oh, I won too, took me ages. I did however resort to flipping between 2 rooms as some of the skinnier rooms were just impossible to get through.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:52am

This is a really neat concept, but it's marred by some glaring technical issues. That collision detection just ruins the whole experience, and that's far from the only issue. Having the rooms not fit a single layout really takes away from the concept, and turns a really cool "your screen is the map" game into what essentially boils down to "walk down this hallway that moves around on your screen." There is no way to map parts of your screen to the game, and that makes the window moving feel less impressive than it should have. The enemy spawning is also problematic, as there are times when walking into a room that you are hit before you can see what's going on, or there is no way to get to the crystal without taking heavy damage. Combine that with the rarity of the crystal spawns, and it feels like it's more up to luck than skill as to whether or not you beat it. This is an amazing concept, and a great interpretation of the theme, but the gameplay just doesn't hold up to that same level of awesome.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I really like your idea with the game window! Clever interpretation of the theme (and good game title). Unfortunately, I wasn't able to run the game on my mac using Parallel Desktop as it complained about my graphic card not supporting Direct3D. Sorry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]