Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ship the Sheep

by Bardikus - Compo Entry

Ship the Sheep

This is my first ever LD entry, I am very proud I made something :)
Instructions:

1.Help the sheep get to the pen
2.Left click the sheep to make it go faster
3.Right click the sheep to make it go slower
4.Avoid the wolves
5.Get 9 sheep in the pen in the fastest time possible.
6.Press 'Esc' at any time to return to the main screen
7.Press 'R' at the end of a game to try again

The game was made in GameMaker Studio v1.4.1415
I used Photoshop and PyxelEdit for the Graphics
I randomized some sounds using sfxr

I didn't put anyone to test my game and this might prove to be a bad thing, but I've learned alot for my future LD's. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#459Theme3.67
#592Humor2.44
#743Fun2.89
#752Innovation2.87
#782Graphics2.74
#830Overall2.93
#833Audio2.13
#837Mood2.60

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11am

nice game!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23am

Basic but cool game.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Fun little game. You've got a nice idea here.

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Nice entry. Fun to play!

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Easy to understand but not so easy to win.
It takes me 231s.
Good job!

tedling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25am

quite innovative piece of a funny game! I really enjoyed playing it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Well done!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Really simple, but fun game. Although its a little bit tedious to click so many times, i would make speed increments/decrements bigger

Neonian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Took me some time but I got it :)

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Basic but nice :)

Smiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

yay 156 seconds!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Simple but it was nice !

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Simple yet fun. I liked the idea of controlling 'tower defense' waves, but be able to manipulate these units individually.

I enjoyed playing it.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

178.82; I'm terrible! And I kept saying to my wife, "THE WOLVES ARE EATING MY SHEEP"

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:32am

Simple, but nice. You might want to add a hold mouse buttons feature instead of clicking so much, but overall it's pretty cool. Keep it up!

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Brutal! :D I like the graphics and the sounds! good job! :)

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Cool and fun. Nice game!

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Cool mechanic. Those wolves are *bastards*.

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:54pm

nice little game. the only thing i have to mention is, that it is very hard to avoid collision between sheeps and wolves, because slowing down and fasten the sheeps takes so many clicks. But it makes fun.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Especially for your first Ludum Dare entry, ESPECIALLY for the 48-hour compo, you did awesome! This is a creative idea, fun to play, and not frustrating. Good job. :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:00am

This is neat and unique core mechanic. It's a little hard to tell how much each click affects a sheep's speed, partially because the change is so slight and because there's no visual change to the sheep when they change speed. If you were to keep working on this, it might be interesting to have the sheep sprite/animation change a bit for the different speeds it can have. Nice work! And congrats on your first LD.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Screamed at my screen when those sneaky wolves changed direction and ate my sheep. Well done.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:39am

i shipped the sheep - great idea - wolves seemed random

eskivor says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Cool game. With a little bit more of juicyness, a good music, and many le vels, it could be a great game !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]