Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sugarbound

by PixelCrust - Jam Entry

NOTE: Sometimes the waves at the start gets bugged out. When nothing comes out you may want to refresh the browser.

SugarBound is a cheery run and gun shooter game with a pleasant mix of tower defense. Created for the online jam Ludum Dare 31 with the given theme of "Entire Game On One Screen", you are sure to have a fun time protecting Christmas against evil Gingerbread men and angry Snowmen (cuz snowman theme didn't got picked D;).

On the night before christmas eve, an army of gingerbread men, women, cops, angels and skaters came before the house of sir Nick. Whatever the reason they may have, they are eager to ruin Christmas by stealing all the gifts.

Better start making snowballs and start loading your elyminators because its time for some sugary snowbound action!

Controls:
WASD/Arrow keys - move
Space/LMB - Shoot
R - Throw Bombs
E - Interact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#197Fun(Jam)3.47
#242Graphics(Jam)3.78
#258Humor(Jam)3.10
#286Mood(Jam)3.35
#350Audio(Jam)3.11
#375Overall(Jam)3.35
#675Innovation(Jam)2.78
#706Theme(Jam)3.31

Comments

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35am

Great Job! Though I was stuck at the controls screen for a bit. I think you nailed the theme with the game on one screen and the snowman!

The turrets seem to be quite expensive in my opinion.

Overall thumbs up!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:42am

Cute entry, nice job!

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:07am

designs are good

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:36am

This is just awesome. A little more work on the player movement and it would be perfect

Forge says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:54am

Great entry. The spawn rate was a little slow and the music didnt loop well and got annouying but apart from these minor critiscms I think the game is realy well designed, great concept and bags of potential, well done!

DevWouter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:59am

Looks nice, plays well. The climbing animation of the enemies looks a bit weird though ;)

skonkan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice entry. I like TD style games. Great art.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice entry,I just had one problem with the instructions page. I found it a bit hard to see. Anyhow it was fun playing keep up the good work :)

bitserum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18pm

This was very fun. So much finished content for a short time.
It felt a bit easy to play, but probably because i like these types of games.
Great job.

Azel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Great game,I was having fun playing it and It doesn't get boring as wave pass xD.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:13pm

A really nice TD mix :) Good game

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:14pm

keyboard controlls didn't respond, Mac, Safary
Graphix and sound seem to be nice

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice little tower defense with good graphics!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Awesome game, there are a few things that don't work very well. But still, it is really good!

Temoto-kun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I enjoyed playing it for a while, though there are some difficulties which I think can be improved like the excessive nudging of the screen and the snappy player movements. Also, when I happen to bump on an enemy, the player remains tangible even though it blinks visually. There isn't any kind of powerup (e.g. extra lives), but I didn't notice that picking up presents dropped by dead enemies contain more powerful weapons (which rock), along with the overlay image of the character blocking my view of the map. It can make more use of mouse controls, too (I find selecting turrets a hassle, because pressing keys).

But anyway, I like the game's bright Christmas theme with a touch of pixel art. The gameplay is simple and fun. The ability to build, upgrade, and replace turrets seems like a very, very good idea. Overall, it was an amusing game (plus points from me because it's a platformer game). Keep up the good work, guys.

gana0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I really liked the title screen and the music at the start. It gave off this kind of creepy atmosphere for a winter-themed game. The game was pretty fun but I was bad at it. Three hits seemed to be too few in my opinion. I thought the portraits were a nice visual touch when you got an upgrade, but sometimes they stuck around for too long and obstructed my view of the right side of the screen. Overall, a very nicely designed game.

digibody says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:46pm

that was fun, I was expecting a slow start to the army of ginger bread men. Kept trying to click things with the mouse, controls are akward

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Good job! I really like the graphic style.

rantt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Fun game, lots of stuff to do. The graphics were great, although it was hard to see at times. Great job :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Instructions panel should really be in a different colour as it was pretty much unreadable but this was a really fun entry to play.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Well done! Really enjoyed the juice put into this. It plays well. Music got a little repetitive, imo.

gladers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Great job, I really enjoyed this! I could play this all day. Love it :D

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:16am

Thank you guys for your feedback :D

popstag says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:18am

GG graphics and sounds are very retroish which makes it very appealing. some of the bugs like in the lower right buttons doesnt even work

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:59pm

It somehow startet veeery slow and then got crazy pretty fast, in the second round it still seemed crazy crowded but I understood better, what to do. Fun game, like the music, graphics and the building and defending :)

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:41am

Very nice game. I like the music and the graphics. Very good work.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:45am

hi pinoys

Jemuzu says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:55pm

A very nice and amazing game! Everything's awesome! Keep it up! :D

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Cute little game, though it took a while for enemies to come. I Included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3dnkCRJktbw

rojo says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:26pm

The graphics were pretty good and the game controlled well. The music was decent, but seemed like it was on a pretty short loop. The character overlay on present pickup was a little distracting and sometimes covered up important gameplay stuff because of its size, so making that smaller might be a good idea. Nice work!

gameattack says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Fun! Sometimes I don't really understand the face/illustration apparition. Is when you get a power-up?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]