Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Aaargh! The snake is here in my bed!

by TrashLord - Jam Entry

Rework of famous classic snake game!

The snake is here and hungry! Feed its head (WASD) with strange brown sphere-shaped apples and get the maximum score! Don't let your snake digest its ow head!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#209Theme(Jam)3.88
#416Innovation(Jam)3.17
#530Fun(Jam)3.00
#844Overall(Jam)2.78
#2251Coolness14%

Comments

zulubo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08am

Really really fun!! one of the best games I've played today! only problem is how hard it is to move when you get really long--like impossible

I like this a lot, and would love to work with you to make some snake graphics. Email me if you're interested: zach.tsiakalis.brown@gmail.com

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49am

Neat idea, the web build still made me download though! Its punishing like traditional snake games and thats a good thing. Would be nice to see more polish!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:07am

i couldn't figure out how to run this. i tried to download the files, (unity windows), but they didn't seem to work.. :(

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:27am

great idea, although whem I ate the last apple on screen I died even though my red bar was still wide. Nive gameplay anyway

lepik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:33am

I got 18. Very fun and addictive game.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:23am

Very original version of snake games ... it works well on linux

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Interesting take on a classic game. Gets pretty challenging after a while. Great job!

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33pm

To reach 20+ you should think ahead and save apples somewhere, for exapmle - in one corner. Theoretically, with some luck, you can reach any length. Just keep your length <8 so you can fly fast and dont touch apples from "garden" corner. But that is kinda boring.

P.S. Got 22 from 2 hours of playing.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Interesting take on snake - I didn't really get the mechanics at first, and was confused when I started shrinking/losing points, but it was fun figuring out the "proper" way to play.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

I found this game very fun love how it gets long and takes for ever to grab food far away. Highest was 17 but very enjoyable :D. It fit the theme and innovative as well as very funny.

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very fun, congratulations

Deranes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Played the game once. Got to 20 and then got a bit bored since it doesn't change much. Losing a part of your snake takes a long time and there are apples everywhere. Took a while to get game over when having a long snake even when trying to lose on purpose. Would have prefered not taking an apple for a while to be more punishing and some kind of difficulty scaling. The game implementation itself is good, would just have liked to see some of the rules and values tweaked.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

-No sound :(
-Not sure if eating apples was always working (even if I clearly touched it with the head) :(
-Had some frustrating fun with this game :)
-In short: Damn you gravity!

pht59x says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:26am

The Web link is actually a download link.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]