Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

AntiPlane

by Grenac - Compo Entry

A 2D Antichamber inspired platformer. Lots of glowy and shadowy effects and stuff + physicsy controls. The walls move while you are not looking, and there is an ominous red blob chasing you. Can you out walljump the terror and survive the ANTIPLANE!?!?!?

The game is fairly difficult but it's short, you can do it, I believe!!! And there are checkpoints so if you die all is not lost.

CONTROLS - wasda, arrows, space, choose your pick.


GREAT NEWS EVERYBODY!!!
I've decided to make a full game out of this. I'm probably gonna do progress updates when I get started with development so If you want to follow the game as it's being developed I set up a new twitter here: http://twitter.com/BitByteCode

Want to see some more of my games, check them out at http://BitByteCode.com

And thanks everybody for all the nice comments, they really mean a lot to me =)


Spoilery:
IF YOU GET STUCK on the level with the green glowy bit on top just try moving as far left and then right as you can staying as far up as there are platforms to stand on, and then repeat. Every time you go to the edge of the level the part in the middle should change. this happens about 5 6 7 times and then you can pick up the green GloGlobe. But watch out, someone is watching =P

There is also a full playthrough on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwCZI9dKdIg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Overall4.04
#36Innovation4.17
#68Fun3.79
#99Mood3.61
#149Theme4.01
#373Graphics3.38

Comments

Boog33 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:18am

Amazing! I played it for like 30 minutes.
I did have to go into fullscreen to get past the first level.

Grenac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

Cool, I'm glad you like it.
Why did you have to go into fullscreen? Did the game go out of the screen boundaries?

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09am

A very solid game, I am impressed with how smooth it plays and how much you did in the time frame. Nice!

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11am

Yay ! if i could, i'll play at it longer D:

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12am

The transition are amazing. good game !

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:17am

Man, that is a good game, couldn't get past the V staircase with the green glowy orb at the top. I love antichamber and could feel you referencing it all the time.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20am

Wow! very cool. couldn't get to first boss. mind boggling

scriptorum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21am

Someone keeps messing with my head!! Looks like a picked the wrong day to stop sniffing glue! Nicely done. I got stuck under a green glow, couldn't quite figure out how to move past that spot but I did identify a lot of the triggers that cause the walls to move.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

Only once have I seen terrain pop into existence.
Amazing game, I can't find anything wrong with it. (Per se)
Wow.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32am

Wow... this is seriously incredible. Excellent use shadow and light and level design in general. The transitions were soooo good (some even better than Antichamber! but some were a bit rough too). Just SO much interesting content, really well executed, and even a cool narrative. All in 48 hours?? Insanely impressive.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33am

I got stuck for a bit on the green light, but I figured it out eventually (going to the bottom left corner resets the level, so don't go there). That part is definitely confusing.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59am

Great game ! Beautiful and fun to play. GG !

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00am

Great!
Very cool realisation and concept
One of the best I've seen here
But yeah, I stuck with the green light :(
And read instruction after closing the game

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

Really cool! Great feel to the jumping and sticking on things. Would love to see a full game with this mechanic and flow. Good job

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:21am

Mind-blowing and amazing.

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34am

Really amazing. Played it till the end. The green part should be reworked because it really feels confusing, but othter than that its an awesome game. Good work :D

vrld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Very creative way of using the theme!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:46pm

This game actually completely crashed my computer when I clicked start game. Sorry, can't rate it :(

Grenac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I'm sorry to hear that hexagore, that really should not happen. Do you have any kind of log or chrash report, maybe it's something that can be fixed.

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Really nice concept and execution, but that passage with the green light is really annoying !
Nice work anyway :)

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I'm quite blown away, it actually works! Great take on the concept from anti chamber as well as the LD theme.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Really impressive work! Got stuck at the area with the green sphere but i will play this until i figure it out! I really like this one!

mathias234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Really nice game :) i liked how when you went over a wall the world changed no loading (as far as i could see)

Should have some music though

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Really interesting use of the theme, and visually stunning. Definitely something to be proud of!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Great. Movements could be more responsive but overaly very very nice.

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I love the camera angles! :)

ghostonline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I am very impressed with the mechanics and visuals. Absolutely very Antichamber-esque.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I did it! :D
Love it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Wow, amazing game. This game feels very unique like nothing I have played before. You never see how the level changes. However as soon as you reach the green orb it becomes very confusing, I reset the level several times and just did not manage to reach the end. Still the game is incredibly enjoyable and has a nice look and feel.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

At the beginning I thought that the game was too much "linear" but then all of a sudden everything started to change and make more sense (in its own "twisted" way) :D

It's a very clever and nice way to cope with the theme and I am really impressed by the level design.

I'd love to see more stuff like this in future and hope that you could find ways to make this game (or games like this) more "puzzling".

Great job indeed! More polish and audio would have greatly benefited the whole mood, but it's great anyway :D

edve98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Great concept. All you could add is some nice background music.
Btw, how is this linked to the theme "Entire game on one screen"?

edve98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Oh, one more thing, will you continue to develop this game after LD?

dcolgan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Amazing use of the theme. High marks for innovation and theme usage. A bit frustrating at times as it wasn't always clear where I was supposed to go, but eventually I did get to the end.

Grenac says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25pm

@edve98 Well, the entire game is on the same screen, sort of =P I think it fits pretty well with the theme =)
And I'm thinking about turning it into a whole game. Judging by the comments there is definitely some interest in it. But I still have to see if I'll have time or the creativity to make a full length game out of it. I hope I could.

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Very impressive, and a interesting take on 'all on one screen' only I thing I think would improve it is some soothing audio on the background!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Outstanding... graphics, dynamic instantiation of the level, shadows... just perfect... incredible job.

coderitual says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Wow:) Surprising idea. I also love the the play of lights.

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Nice work with this concept! It was fun and surprising to see how things would change up on me. I'm curious if there's more you can do with this mechanic other than always going left and right to just reveal the next section. There were some problematic issues with the jumping that made some of the platforming really difficult. The lack of in-air control and no grace period for in-air jumping (like if I was trying to jump off an edge while moving in a direction, a few frames of grace period when I go off the edge would help a lot) made some parts really frustrating. I like how you got a lot of moodiness by putting the character way deep relative to the camera. I thought I was able to wall jump automatically without direction, but when I got to the part where the red dot closed the walls this didn't happen. Maybe some kind of stickiness to the walls could help here? Nice job!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:30am

Awesome game with an awesome graphic! I like the concept well done!

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:05am

I really like the concept of changing the level while moving the ball. The feedback is really great ! however, the controls are a bit sloppy.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:49am

Great work.
I'm not too fond of the way the light grows when the level changes. I think some other effect would be nice (right now it kind of looks like a glitch)
Everything else is amazing. I especially love how you introduce and explain the entire game without a word. It makes the player feel "smart" because he figures out what to do "on his/her own".
Well done!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:17pm

beautiful, innovative, simple, fun, great interpretation of the theme, one of the best I've played so far. 5 stars

camlang says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Cool concept!

Grenac says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:27pm

@Germanunkol
The light growing is a glitch =)
It was the best I could do in such a short time. It does not happen if the level is loaded fast enough. But since I calibrated the time it takes to load a level on the development rig I may have estimated it a bit too short. All that is going to be fixed in the full game, I already know how to fix it, it just has to be implemented.

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Holy cow this is amazing. Immaculately executed platoformer with amazing concept. Dig it to pieces.

I'm trying to think of some criticism.

And that might be the click-everywhere-syndrome of adventure games - not knowing where to go sometimes, and just bumping every corner of every wall until something happens. So that comes down to providing more of a goal. Just a bit more, because yes the sense of wonder is great. Just not when I've circled the place 5 times :P

Stupendous work! :D

Simon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Pretty awesome game!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Awesome! I like how you managed to distill the elements of Antichamber into a 2D game. The graphics were amazing too! Great job!

Snuux says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Exellent game! Really Cool lights!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Awesome! I really like how you implement the theme! so innovative!

Mopz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Wonderful, couldn't stop playing!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:49pm

The best use of the theme that i've seen till now in the LD. A truly inspired game with great promise, my only annoyance was that the controls weren't very intuitive as our speed is quite different between walking and jumping. And the climb was very frustrating due to that reset point. Could only get past it after reading foolmoron's comment

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Cool use of light to transition the room. I did not mind the lack of "graphics". However it was a little hard to be precise when jumping due to the high air acceleration.

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Very awesome entry! This really gets the "wtf happened just now with the world?"-feeling from antichamber perfectly into a 2d Plattformer.
Controls are a bit hard though, especially in the "race" i had to try very often, since i did miss a single walljump.
Some Music and at least basic sound effects would be great.

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Great game with an awesome idea. I want to see how this is developed into a full game. Followed you on Twitter :)

jmborden says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:08am

Game locked up my computer when I started it. Ugh :P

jmborden says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:08am

Game locked up my computer when I started it on my Mac in Firefox. Ugh :P

Grenac says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:52am

Sorry about that jmborden, I have not had the opportunity to test it out on Mac. When the full game comes out it will be properly tested. Have you tried with the standalone Mac version?

Calahagus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:14am

I lingered a while between a 4 and a 5 overall, but I've opted for the 5. The game was rough around the edges, admittedly, but your idea is really really solid and there's just so many examples of great level design in here, that made me go "oh okay that was just cool." Really really awesome job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice work!
I am curious about your expansion plans :)

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:11am

Awesome physics, great graphics, and just a great game overall!

tudd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:24am

Really really really could use a soundtrack!!!

Love the shadowy look, idk it might work even better in real 2d. Some minor "pop-in" visual bugs on the objects too but that's not a big deal.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:28am

I asked myself what it means because I don't know anything about AntiChamber game. Now I understand. It's a really good game, except some clippings when level evolves. Well done. One of my favorites ++

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:08am

Very nice game! I liked, the lights and shadows are very nice.

erik says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really nicely done. Great concept. I'd love to see what your level editor approach was for this.

Some criticisms:
Jump controls felt off. Landing precisely on narrow platforms is hard. It's frustrating to overshoot so easily.
It feels quite linear. It's interesting from an exploration point of view. But the player doesn't really get to make choices, so the current mechanic is limited in terms of adventure or puzzle solving. On the other hand, in the race and chase segments things get interesting; the platforming becomes a challenge, and the lack of player choice stops being a problem.

Good luck with your efforts to build on this.

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:10am

Phenomenal use of the theme, really neat use of hard shadows to mask the changing parts of the level. Makes me think of sightlines, but as a sidescroller. I really like how you use changing perspective to keep the ball essentially bouncing around a single screen, but still convey distance, movement, and the perspective needed to pull off the primary mechanic.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Really neat mechanic. I docked a star from overall for the lack of sound, but the amount of content here was great, especially for 48 hours. Looking forward to your release. The lighting effects were really nice, and the level design was very clever.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Wonderful, very inspiring

cxsquared says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Super amazing jump. It would have been even better if you had added some kind of small story to personalize the orbs. Amazing job though. I'd love to play a fully fleshed out version of this game.

mortus says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Great game! Getting the green light part was not very fun indeed, in the end I have no idea how I got it, was just moving randomly back and forth, but overall it's a great experience.

pht59x says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Smart use of the theme (the map changes as you walk/jump). Pleasant use of the lighting and 3D-effects. A pity there was no sound. I got frustrated with the controls as over-shooting happened to me too easily.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:54am

WELL DONE. These are all minor quibbles/suggestions, since the game is highly impressive, but here goes:

I love the mixture of Antichamber/Closure style mechanics, but I wish that the game only changed the level geometry for regions that are not visible. I realize that loosening that restriction and allowing the geometry to "pop" opened up some more level design options within the short timeframe of the compo, but for me it took away a bit of the magic to see the transition occur.

Perhaps for the expanded version, you could introduce some player-controlled options for growing/shrinking your light radius, or switching the light on/off strategically to solve puzzles and progress? That said, I LOVE the use of occlusion and perspective to allow for an alternative method of hiding sections of the level beyond just the light radius.

One other minor aspect that seemed like a bug: the red dot enemy seemed to be drawing behind the back wall at times.

Once again, GREAT WORK! Can't wait to play the expanded version.

- dreamlogician

Grenac says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:25am

Thanks, I'm glad you liked the game dreamlogician.

Yeah, the geometry popping in is a bug =) the way I made it it takes about 0.2s for the geometry to load, which is enough for the player to catch a glimpse of it happening. I already fixed that in the new version. Stuff now loads instantly.

The red dot getting stuck on the wall is also a bug =)

And I'm liking the idea with shrinking the light on and off, there is a good chance that something like that is going to be in the game.

Thanks for playing, and if you want progress updates on the game as it's being developed you can follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/BitByteCode

Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Awesome all around! The one thing I noticed was that it is exceedingly hard to wall-jump onto high platforms, as in the race to the blue light. Other than that, there's nothing I wouldn't rate 5 stars.

tudd says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 6:26am

Gratz on your #23rd rank, you really earned it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]