Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Office Gaming Inception

by AMS - Jam Entry

#CONTROLS

WASD: Left hand movement
SPACE: Left hand action
MOUSE: Right hand movement
CLICK: Right hand action

#INTRO

We are five spanish Videogame Design and Development students. This has been our first
Ludum Dare and as everyone we were very suprised about the theme, since we expected the famous
Snowman. Entire Game in One Screen is very open, but it has certain limitations, so we wanted to
turn around the whole thing and that's how Office Gaming Inception was created. We are very
happy with the result, for it was very fun to develop, we think it can be enjoyable (and a bit
stressfull) to play and we've managed to submit an almost finished version.

#DESCRIPTION

The objective of the game is controlling an office worker's stress in one of his normal days at work.
To do this he can play on his computer, drink coffee or sqeeze Snowy (we had to integrate the
snowman), but be carefull, coffee and Snowy won't last forever and failling in the games will
increase stress a lot. Also, the phone will keep ringing, reminding you to be pendent on the office.
Don't ignore it, your boss can be very picky and will fire you if you don't answer the phone. As
stress increases, it will make your hands shake, increasing the game's difficulty.

The set of controls requires the player's concentration and coordination. Controls are transmited and
simplified from one screen to another. Each game would be easy if played separately, but joining
them and connecting them one through the other is what makes the game attractive and turns it into
a real challenge.

In the outer gamer the left hand is controlled with WASD and Spacebar can be used for interactions,
the right hand is controlled with the mouse. In the inner game, the fairy is moved and attacks with
the mouse and the character moves with the arrows and presses the controller's buttons with
Spacebar. The inner's inner game is simply controlled by the two buttons on the controller. The
computer must be turned on to start playing and it is possible to interact with all icons in the screen,
feel ready to find surprises.

PS. Those who love Dark souls will love this game.

#ATTRIBUTIONS

All the graphics used have been designed and drawned by two of our teams's members and we have
also recorded some of the sound effects. The attributions for the rest of them are shown in-game via
the README.txt, but we also list them here:
http://www.freesfx.co.uk/
https://www.freesound.org/
https://docs.google.com/document/d/15HY7XYe4nQaK9domeDQMF2qgWV1vfC4M7qSPnmyzf8/
edit

#BUGS

We're working on fixing them >.<

- FIXED: The spacebar doesn't work after you retry. This is fixed by just refreshing the page, but we are working on fixing it.

- Some sounds keep playing after you restart.

- FIXED: The sound of your voice firing you doesn't play.

- FIXED: The snowman anti-stress toy reset negative stress to 0.

- Snowman explosion is not heard sometimes.

- Frog game skips "Press any button" at restart sometimes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Humor(Jam)4.09
#36Theme(Jam)4.31
#51Innovation(Jam)3.98
#102Overall(Jam)3.79
#107Mood(Jam)3.72
#164Fun(Jam)3.54
#166Audio(Jam)3.51
#174Graphics(Jam)3.97

Comments

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04am

Wow this is just a bunch of star into Humor/Innovation/Theme/Fun... Well pretty much everything :) Even if it's not always very handy, it remains fun, and unhandy aspects actually become fun. Congrats on that.

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

5 Start, playing this game with two people is so hillarious

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

This really cool! The controls are really well done. Its interesting to see the combination of several different art styles layered within each other. Playing the game within the game within the game is really tricky but it is fun to try. I don't think I have ever done that before. Thanks for making this its really inspiring.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16am

So I am playing a game about an office working playing a game about a fairy playing bomberman. Brilliant. The first thing I did was destroy my snowman.

Bogden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

This is the most amazing game ever. Amazing on all fronts!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35am

Amazing! Awesome graphics and sound! Really fun game!!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

I really love the game idea!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Great job

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Coolest game I've played. So funny!!!!

jelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Haha! I love how his hands start to shake.

oatsbarley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Really great game idea - felt very stressed too!

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Hahah, great use of the theme! I failed miserably though :P

CScribes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Great game with a lot of humor :D Found the controls a little difficult at first but still awesome overall.

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43pm

THANKS EVERYONE FOR THE SUPPORT! We didn't expect such a great response for our first ludum game. TY A LOT GUYS! KEEP BEING AWESOME! :D

BTW, if you found a bug, pls report it to us. We're working on fixing all of them :3

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:20am

Wow! Our games took a very similar angle on the theme. Yours is hilarious! :D Nice work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:13am

So it took me a few plays to realize that this was a game.

In a game.

In a game.

lol!

Something weird happened the third time around and I couldn't quite play the frog game for some reason? Albeit, I was buzzing around like a hummingbird with ADD and we all know once the snowman explodes you've officially entered Office Hell. :)

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:29am

@Taunia Sabanski It was just that you have to press one of the inner buttons in SCA to start Don't Eat The Bomb (the little frog game). And I love the term Office Hell, we should use it more xD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:16am

Well done, super hard and funny. Screen within a screen within a screen. Trying to explain this game to a friend nearby led to mass confusion and laughing.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:47am

Really cool idea.

Took me a minute to figure out I was also playing a game in the game in the game...

Fun. Love the little added things like the stuff on the desk you can play with.

Great graphics. Congrats!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:49am

Clever game and hilarious balance of frustration and sarcasm! Well done, oohing else I can think of to help critic.

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50am

Kind of hard to play, but I think that's a good thing in this case! Really hilarious and super meta. The stress management portion was really interesting and eventually I just succumbed to the pressure! Good job!

Tuism says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00am

Game did not run from me from Newgrounds, Running OSX.

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:04am

Tuism, are you sure that the game didn't run? It has no loading screen so it can take a while to load and while is loading you can only see a white screen :P

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:27am

Really funny game! And the idea of a game inside a game it's awesome!

charlesque says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32am

Ah ah, nice game. I really like how you treated the subject. :)

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:38am

Brilliant! Such cool use of the theme! So many stars!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:08am

Quite a fun and frustrating game, though it really reminds me of the current trend of Simulator games. Just a note: it seems to run unplayably slow on Chrome, but it works perfectly on Firefox.

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:14am

I couldn't figure out what to do in the adventure game. I found the hands hard to control (that may have been the point). I liked that I tried to exploit the squeeze toy (Snowman.... nice) and it popped hahaha. I like the concept and use of the theme!

Note, I almost didn't play your game because there's an ad in front of it. It's your game but I'm going to think a bit about whether that's in the spirit of LD.

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45am

masterhyjinx, we don't get any revenue from that ad, that's from Newgrounds, not from us.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:47pm

best game I've played so far, 5 stars all the way, well done :D

Waschtl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Controlls felt really awkward. Great use of the theme though.
In the beginning it was not really clear what the goal is. Snowman is +1

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Wow, that was so funny to play! I like this game very much!

Great job!

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

YO DAWG, YO LIKE CONTROLS SO I PUT CONTROLS INSIDE CONTROLS.

This is truly amazing, the amount of things and these controls are freaking amazing. On of the most original and well done entries i've seen so far. This game is a 5/5 on every single category out there. Srslly, great job.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Brilliant concept! good execution. overall, a job well done guys. keep it up. We are also a team of students first time in ludum dare, so i can say, i know how u feel bro :P

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Idk what happened but it wouldnt start! And it looks so cool too.

:(

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Our games are indeed very similar :D
But I think your game is much harder haha

Very slick graphics!
Nice audio!
I really like the drinking animation.

Overall very well done!!!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Our games are indeed very similar :D
But I think your game is much harder haha

Very slick graphics!
Nice audio!
I really like the drinking animation.

Overall very well done!!!

p.s.
KITTENS!!!!!!!!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I love it! The controls were a bit weird at first, but it wasn't too hard to get the hang of. Anyways, great job!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:58pm

This is really cool :) It's pretty simple as there's only a few things to do, but it's good fun once you get to grips with the controls. Played it for a few runs and could still play more. :) Awesome entry OP, especially love the DickButt mug. A fellow Imgurite?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Liked the control scheme, nice job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:11pm

So much strangeness and fun, good work guys!

Maxw3ll says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I liked it, was unsure how to play the computer game though.

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I'm playing a game about someone playing a game about someone playing a game. Ok you got me there, this is so much fun !

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:46am

I loved it .) I feel so good now after this glimpse into corporate madness... that I don't have to be part of...

Poor Snowy, though.

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:48am

What a weird game. in a positive way. i really enjoyed playing.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:13am

You made stress fun out of 5.

-AlucardX60

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:06am

I sympathize with this game world so much... I'm gonna go stare blankly out my window now.

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03am

Haha this is absolutely brilliant. What a great idea and an absolutely madcap game to play :)

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:52am

Hahaha, well done! It is a very interesting/innovative meta-game!

egos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:36am

so fun thanks for that

apiotrw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Very funny entry

Gungnir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Nailing the theme, and realizing (very nicely) a really impressive amount of content. This is just a very well constructed bit of fun. Nice work team!

yosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Excellent game. It was honestly really funny and it breaks the fourth wall twice!
One of the best LD31 game I've played so far :)

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:11pm

just brilliant!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Fantastic work, 5/5 for theme and humor. :) Saw this on Taunia's stream a few days ago but didn't get a chance to play it until now. I love how it's frustrating to manage your frustration - it's fantastic how quickly the stress levels start increasing after a while of playing. One thing I should mention is that it might have been better to allow the left hand to stretch over to the arrow keys, but apart from that, Great job!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21pm

That was really funny and challenging...I almost wanted to smash my display too haha. Very good interpretation of the theme. Well done :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:28pm

This game is awesome! The graphics is cute and sound fit the environment. The idea of simulating computer screen also fit the theme quite well.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:41pm

For some reason Space still does not work. It scrolls the page down, as a default behavior of the browser. The game itself is funny, the graphics are pretty. :)

bobombe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Hahahaha that's stupid ^^ I liked it ^^

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Sublime, best idea.

Taldius says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:58pm

One of my favorite. I love the stress effects, it really adds to the surgeon simulator gameplay.
Good job! :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Haha hilarious

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Too..much...coffee. Sitting at a computer desk, playing a game about sitting at a computer desk, playing a game.. Why'd you have to go and get all existential on us?.. Love it!

drludos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Excellent entry, very original idea, one of the best I've played this LD! I like you can break the screen when you're too stressed to click :p

BTW, a ZQSD or arrows keys alternative to WASD would be nice for non-QWERTY keyboards owners ;)

Mekuri says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:47pm

haha what a great idea! I felt the stress, and you managed to convey that feeling extremely well! Very very nice mood! great job!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Great entry!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:28am

Well that was certainly one of the most stressful games I've played in a while. Well done.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:11am

Poor Snowman, he died :( them collection of LD themes was nice lol points for humor!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:47am

Pretty funny, the art and animation are perfect, amazing how much you communicate with the characters arms alone. Lots of little amusing touches. The game within a game within a game was probably just a touch too difficult for me personally, but I had fun with it. :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:09pm

i didn't found how to pick that f... phone!
The shaking hands were a good idea to felt the stress!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Very fun and good looking game!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great job with the game-in-a-game-in-a-game. Really fun to play with, the sfx bring it all together :D Great job!

Wakka says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:14pm

amazing entry, had much fun. Sometimes you have to wait pretty long until something happens

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:15pm

That was a mega LOL! Fit the theme!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:22pm

WOW, just WOW! NeEd MoRe CoFfEe ^,^

hogtrick says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Well, simply awesome! You blew my mind with this one. It's pretty hard, and fun, and everything feels so alive and you made me feel stressed like the character. hahah

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:37am

Really funny game, trying to manage stress levels at work. Audio is brilliant, almost sounds like an actual office.

Thalia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:58am

I had only one desire - to switch off monitor. Ok. Three: to switch off monitor, constantly to drink coffee and break snowman.)
Song for your game hero - Naiv "Obivatel" :) http://www.clipafon.ru/naiv/obyvatel-klip_b46027c91.html

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:32am

Ok, this is crazy, it's good and messed with my brain a lot!! hahaha really nice

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:31am

nice game...

Wolve says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:26pm

whahah, this is amazing

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Funny game, with nice graphics! Well done.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Wow, great use of the theme! I was expecting a cop-out with just a game on the screen but instead it was leveraged well! Nice work!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:52pm

!!!

ianatherton says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:56pm

One of the best games i played this LD 10/10 GOTY would play again.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Clever unique entry that was really fun to play. Loved the graphics and playing the games within a game.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:14am

Great in humor, awesome graphics, nice audio, and great innovative game overall! Fit well with the theme. Good job!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:30am

hilarious fun stuff. Good use of the theme.

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Haha)This is very funny concept)). Cool idea , but the management leaving much to be desired.

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Amazing, it's incredible how hard a simple game can be with gimped controls and at the same time having to deal with all the other stuff thrown at you :)

For those who find this game too easy: play it while you're at work! :D

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:49am

Best entry I've played so far by a long long margin.

Great job guys.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:12am

This is great! Love the art. I am not sure why playing a game about being stressed at work was so fun, but it was. I feel like it gets too stressed a little too fast though, but maybe that means I'm just a pretty zen person at work.

chakitp says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:01am

Amazing Idea for entire game on one Screen.. But Sometmes controls are stuck and not working..

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:08pm

This was alright for a little while, but it got to the point where the snowman's head burst, the computer screen was broken, and I was out of coffee - then it was completely oimpossible to get rid of stress. It felt like it was lacking content - there were a few games there, but none of them were really deep enough.

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:12pm

wtf! I punched my screen, now I can barely write, my eye is twicthinhshla jjdahaa VJa AAAARAFGGFGGFGFG

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Interesting game, really fun. I Included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/SGfwL84KAH0

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Really good fun. Lots of great details.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]