Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Orbit Jumper

by Luminar - Jam Entry

You are the Orbit Jumper, the only one of your kind. Your mission is to survive in an unfriendly planet system and take all the diamonds from a fierce alien species. Completing your mission will grant you eternal fame and glory in the vast cosmos.



This game was made in 48 hours by Luminar Studios.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#518Innovation(Jam)3.02
#662Audio(Jam)1.74
#693Humor(Jam)2.21
#814Fun(Jam)2.63
#870Overall(Jam)2.74
#886Mood(Jam)2.38
#917Graphics(Jam)2.21
#1004Theme(Jam)2.07

Comments

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Love the orbital physics)

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The physics could be improved, but it's fun to play! Good job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

"Dem realistic psyhics... 6/10" - FTG
Graphics are not that good but I can't say that because i've got even worse graphics.
Interesting gameplay.
Too bad there's no sound.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Enjoyed the game but was to difficult. 300 health with no apparent way of regaining it? Maybe add options to buy health with coins. Also don't know if it was intentional but I could move around space without using fuel by just rotating and moving sideways.

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice concept :)

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

This was actually fun. Like the strategic component of it. Bugged me a bit that I'm jetpacking around in blind. A map would be nice:)

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Controls were a little twitchy, but I like the idea and enjoyed the game!

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I always do love messing around with orbits. That was fun (I was excited to get to that after going through the tutorial stuff and worrying the game would be more like the tutorial.)

I didn't finish it b/c I didn't want to go to the trouble of getting coins slowly, but I did enjoy what I played.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Had a hard time understanding what i was really supposed to do after I got to the planets, i read the instructions, but they didn't really make much sense to me.

Bonesdog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Overall I liked the idea!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Doesn't really stick to the theme, but an interesting concept. Barely needed to use the jetpack, though, since I can use A and D to move in space for free.

komjaur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

completed.very nice game :D

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

The planet physics are interesting. The introduction 'walk' is a bit tedious in case you died. (A skip option would be nice)

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Such a nice job !

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I agree with vekjeft - I'd have liked a map, to see where you are in relation to that diamond planet you found earlier when you didn't have enough coins to build a diamond extractor. Not entirely sure how it fits in with the theme, either. I like the physics, though!

Reyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I had trouble escaping orbit a couple of times, which ate fuel and stranded me. You want the player to explore but I need to take a big chance on where to go next there is little indication of where the next planet might be, could also just be part of a hard game. Your UI text doesn't scale, I have a high resolution display which makes the UI text very small (Not sure if you are using the new unity UI, check out the CanvasScaler component). I liked the tutorial text but it became a hindrance after the first couple of times I got killed. I think I might have gotten less confused by the controls if I was not able to strafe in space, so left/right on a planet and just one direction in space, but thats probably just a learning curve. There seemed to be few enemies to get coins from, I might have stuck around longer if there were more, then again we all seem to be turning into toddlers. Thanks!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

The idea is great and I can see it becoming a real nice game of exploration and space fight! The physics was good, but apparently you can't rotate unless you have fuel, so it's a little frustrating...
Great job nonetheless!

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice physics. Like the concept of exploring planets ! Sad there is no sound. No respect for the theme either.

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:18am

The gameplay is nice, it just need some sound

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:30am

This game has soo many good things going for it, such a cool concept, the orbital physics are nice. Lack of audio was disappointing.

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49am

Really enjoyed flying around! Great Job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:53am

Interesting idea, but I think physics can be improved. Good job anyway!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26am

The orbit physics were cool. Would of liked sound.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice concept, but weird controls.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38pm

+ gameplay
- no music and sound effects

It's fun to play. Well done!

akhilnivarthi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Game was pretty good but difficult controls to use.

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Desperately hard to control, and for some reason I was flung passed a bunch of planets, stuck inside of another one, and was unable to shoot/move.

:(

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Awesome game :) love it

Shackhal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21pm

The concept idea is good, the controls are confusing yet responsive and the physics do his job. Still, it need some improvements on the graphics and the physics. And needs to have audio.

Overall, it could be a better game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Overall, I didn't really like your game. It wasn't an awful one, but there was no link to the theme whatsoever, which is one of the main parts of Ludum Dare, the graphics aren't that good and there is no audio. You had 72 hours, but you say that you only used 48. You should have used the extra day to polish everything and to add audio.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:02am

very interesting game, looks visually rough, but it has a great concept behind.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

Controls were a little off, but nice entry!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09am

Cool concept but it was pretty easy to get lost in space. The movement also took a bit to get use to.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17am

I think you should make the strafe vs jet packs a feature.. very very little fuel use in space to get around, vs a chunk to land & take off.. once you are out of fuel, on an empty planet.. its game over (you retire and settle on that planet)

Anyway decent game, doesn't follow the theme, but you're jammin so its not important.

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

contorl are little frustrating maybe a box larger for collect will be good too
good job

cmcoto says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44am

Liked the concept! great going with the physics

OpenGL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:56am

Nice idea, Doesn't stick to the theme, but it's a good game!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:00am

Physics were a bit confusing and the game kinda jumps straight into action without a little give to let the player figure out the drilling and stuff

Doesn't follow the theme though

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

There are so many elements in this game! Like the planet travel and gravity setting. But the complex control add to the difficulty of the game

jthistle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32am

Quite sensitive controls, but otherwise good :)

chakitp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:46am

Good game.. But Seems Unfinished.. Lil Bit awkward controls..

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:43am

People tend to avoid developing games, where gravity pulls in unintuitive directions (ie anything other than down.) I don't know that it worked well in this game either. Good attempt tho...

raincole says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice game, but the control is too tricky for me.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:23am

The game looks kinda.. stretched? Cool mechanics though :)

Appocket says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice work, but i think it doesn't fit the theme that much.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Great Orbital physic, really hard when you encounter aliens.
Good job.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I'ts a cool concept but it needs a bit more polishing to get its potential ( a map would be nice for example ) :)

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Really cool idea! Reminds me of Interstellar (I was hoping I'd find a black hole). Controls a bit tricky but can get used to.

Overall good job!

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Interesting concept here, but execution needs more work. A map would be helpful too.

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very nice idea and i rly like the orbit physics but its very hard to control

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Innovative gameplay, fun and cool physics! I had some problems where when I entered a planetary gravity the direction of my jetpack suddenly changed direction. Otherwise a very fun and cool game! Merry Christmas!

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Good concept, quite fun to play! :)

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I like the premise, but felt it wasn't implemented quite right. The controls were a bit iffy and the physics could be improved. I like the fact that you can float through space and explore, but you quickly run out of fuel. Solid effort, and it's almost there i just feel it needs more work before i'd be able to sit and really enjoy playing it. :)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Interesting game.. I wasn't sure how to place down diamond extractors, and you could exploit strafing so you don't waste jetpack fuel, but overall nice job!

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice game. I played for a while, build some mines, but then got stuck on a planet and didn't know what to do.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Well it's a game but there is lot's of SPACE (pun intended) for improvement ;)

* For the controls you could put the Q and E to O and P or something, so that you can play with two hands. And the jetpack boost should have a smoother start. Navigation wasn't easy.

* Couldn't see how to defend myself or regain health. Stupid aliens! ^^

* Sound (obviously)

* And if you consider the theme, it's not actually on one screen

But if you put more work into it, this could be a very cool game. I actually like planet jumping and orbital gravity games a lot :)

madcapacity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Controls felt a little weird to me, I wished I could skip the intro. Some basic sound would of been nice too! The game was pretty hard, you can run out of life pretty fast I found.

A map would of been useful for the player too, I felt like I was taking leaps of faith some times into the void.

Great entry though was an interesting idea!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:40pm

great space physics. jetpack is useless except for getting off planets. could use a map

PapaCheech says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00am

Cool game but I don'y quite get how it fits the theme.

thiaguera says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:03am

It could be a good game if I could control that guy...

lase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:31am

I love games with jetpacks, orbiting stuff is cool too. It can be counter intuitive the way A and D work, though

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:45am

Kind of meh about this one, neat gameplay, wonky controls, and high difficulty.

I don't think this managed to get in the theme though. Sadly. :(

Nice job, even if this is a bit weird!

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:12am

The speeds of the directions is a little strange and hard to control but cool game either way.

madlee says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:59am

Orbital physics-based games are always neat! I thought it was fun, but I didn't plan well and got stranded on a planet with no fuel or coins...

Divitos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I like it, but it's a little tough to control.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:27pm

The controls were a little fiddly, but definitely a cool idea. Well done!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Very nice concept!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Nice One

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36am

I'm getting a page unavailable error at the web url.

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:38am

Downloaded the windows .zip file but couldn't open it -- corrupted. Hope you can get your server back up and running, or a mirror, soon.

kavic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:43am

Interesting concept. Gameplay was tough, having a map or some sort of indicator to find planets would've helped. The controls could've used a little bit of tweaking too, but I liked the strategic side of managing jet-pack use, attacking and defending and completing the objective. Good work!

Aniscool9 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:58am

Enjoyed the game......intresting gameplay.....:)

scias says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:56am

Interesting mechanics, i did something similar once, planet mechanics are so much fun. Anyways if you plan to continue working on this game I'd recommend you to look over the part that makes the player want to continue, essentially what keeps the player excited. Good luck :)

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:43pm

As mentioned before: the orbital physic is awesome!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Awesome game!!! Love the physics!!. Missed the sound. Great work!!!

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:30am

good physics..

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice idea, I like when you 'land' on the planets!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Wow, what an ambitious design!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:57pm

jajaja .... this is funny ... improve a little the physics (basically the character control) and you will have very very solid entry :D

Hendri says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I like the game concept, but it lacks sounds and it could use little bit better graphics, maybe a character that has animation, like walking when on planets or things like that, but I liked the game, keep up the work.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:14pm

UNITY)))

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:32am

Cool, and nice physics too! :D

Felladrin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:10pm

So simple, yet so challenging. Good job!

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:07pm

:( I never found any diamonds.

Controls were a bit difficult, but space travel became easy when I realized I was able to just float left/right and turn.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:18am

Nifty game! Physics are pretty fun, cool to be able to use just a little bet of jet fuel and then let the planets slingshot you around.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:13am

Feels like you could have done with the extra day and taken 72 hours to polishing things up.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Movement ruined the experience for me, and lack of audio didn't help build any kind of atmosphere. Mechanics where interesting and I'm impressed with the amount of content, but fail to see how the it fits the theme.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:53am

Steep and fun idea!!!! . But I felt dizzy, alas(

Riocide says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:28am

Enemy is way too hard! And maybe skip the tutorials when you die?

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:32am

Nice little game, but a map would be really helpful. also the controls are really hard to get accustomated to.

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Fun to play, but cannot see how it fits with the theme. Good job.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Love the idea, nice physics

vidarn says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Super cool game idea! I thought it was good fun and I can see a lot potential! A more polished and complete version would be my dream game! I love the Idea of harvesting from "planets", and flying around to collect.

I think more opportunities to earn coin would not hurt, (was stranded a few times with no way for me to make coin).

Again, super great idea, with more polish, more upgrades (items) and sound this would have been a fantastic game!

Good work on this entry!

// Written by Peter (ludumdare.com/compo/author/Macint/)
// Vidar's teammate in this Jam.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Good job! fun game

goro says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Pretty nice one :)

eskivor says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Nice game, really fun. It would be a better game if you can reload your health. And I don't know why I can't put a diamond extractor when I have enough money for.

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:21am

The main idea is great but obviously, in 72 hours it's hard to make something big, the physics is really good but controlling the player is a bit confusing but good job

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

Dat aliens, good game. Controls are a bit hard yet it's still fun to navigate yourself through space. Well done!

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Gravity was a little awkward.

Dunric says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:43am

Cool!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nice idea. Took me a few tries, and then I kinda got the hang of the controls, although they could be improved :-)
Sound would've been nice, and maybe a map- It felt a bit random just going out blind.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]