Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Oceanite

by Yazara - Compo Entry

Hello everybody!

Thank you for checking out my first entry for Ludum Dare!

Oceanite is a game about Mert, a fish in an enclosed 3D space. He can swim around freely by changing the layer he moves on.
Avoid the jellyfishes and try to collect as many stars as possible.

Good Luck!

------------

Supports gamepad and keyboard controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#75Mood3.67
#82Graphics4.02
#147Audio3.45
#221Innovation3.63
#256Theme3.86
#275Overall3.49
#692Fun2.95
#768Humor2.19

Comments

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:24am

Its really nice mate, well done! I know the musical loop is only seconds long, but it really adds something, and it somehow fits the underwater theme too :)

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Really liked the art!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Wow, yes, I like this a lot. Very original and engrossing to actually play. Beautiful too.

Miltage says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01pm

A little hard to judge the depth of things but the lighting up of the blocks helped. I felt that the fish was a little too sluggish in his movements.

Stechas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

it's kind of fun to navigate in 3d cube space and I really like this cute graphics

Thommy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

I like the looks of this game. Good job!

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Most accurate jellyfish disco simulator I've played so far.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Wonderful art and audio!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Beautiful graphics.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Pretty interesting and has some decent art.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice little brain exercise :) Looks great, love 2 controller type input support

bushmango says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37am

Thanks for commenting on my game, Four Seasons!

I liked your came. Unfortunately I found myself looking more at the colors on the sides than at my fish. (Not sure if this was intended or not). I really liked how the fish followed the cursor. Full marks for Mood!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34pm

It kinda hurt my brain but it's nice ;)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Movement is kind of tricky in this game, but once you get hang of it, its quite cool.

Also, its nowhere mentioned how to switch layer using keyboard plus other keyboard controls?

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Very well done with great animations and ideas. Really good soundtrack.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Fantastic graphics and audio, sets a nice mood :)

Yazara says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29pm

@Aree Vanier: The information on the right changes when you have a game pad plugged in.
Thanks everyone for the feedback!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Good game. I liked how the music fit the overall feel of the game. Also the graphics were some of the best I've seen this competition. I found the controls a bit hard at first, but once I started looking at the square without the green lines it become easier to judge where I was moving. Great jump fitting so much game in a single screen.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:54am

Very strange game. Hard to control fish. It's turn into needed derection too slow.

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:42am

Nice art

nzgiije says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Greate idea, but it's too hard control for me. And some times I don't understand at wich layer my fish. Maybe rotate cube by mouse it's good idea

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]