Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Miner

by Maxw3ll - Jam Entry

You know that feeling, that you were called to something greater? Something that itched at the back of your skull, knowing that, perhaps, you were destined for amazing things.

No?

How about mining instead?

Controls:
Walk - Arrow Keys
Shift (hold) - Run
Action - Z key
Menu/Cancel - X Key

Made in RPGMakerVXAce. Because ostentatious titles are cool. All the art/sound is built in stuff. One piece of code was grabbed from Himeworks, the rest was made between me and the chat on the lovely Twitch Channel www.twitch.tv/extracredits.

Big thanks to the Crediteers, and everyone who helped out.

RIP Shadowheart 2014.

EDIT: removed some functionality (animals) that were causing the game to crash at various points. If you get any further crashes, let me know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#562Fun(Jam)2.97
#658Overall(Jam)3.03
#773Innovation(Jam)2.59
#789Theme(Jam)3.19

Comments

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

good game, I dont think this is a game for this theme but it could be much better, I love the idea, but there is no much gameplay into it right now.

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:10am

"This accounts public links are generating too much traffic and have temporarily been disabled!"

Maxw3ll says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34am

Hosted on Google drive, now. Try again!

triplefox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42am

I got a crash twice, this is the error from the second go-round:

Script 'Game_Interpreter' line 1411: NoMethodError occurred.

undefined method 'each' for 130:FixNum

I was having some fun with this(although I think the PC is too talky).

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42am

Very funny :) Altough, I got a crash (some internal error) after buying a cow an walking a few steps. The idea is simple, but well executed, and I loved the tone of the dialogs. Very good, will try again later to complete it :)

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Nice game, love RPGs. Good luck.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:46am

Encountered a NoMethodError in FixNum, while running the animalless version. Other than that, marvellous.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:39am

I don't see Harvest Moon type RPG Maker games often so this was nice. The dialogue was fun to read but the game itself got repetitive fairly quickly and I wish it was more clear that the quota changed every 5 minute segment. Some music might have helped too. There's enough tracks in the RTP to have a new song every five minutes to keep it from getting repetitive.

-AlucardX60

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:01am

I see the mechanics all there, but they just needed some more time.
Also, be careful of grammar and punctuation mistakes.
"YOU SHALL HELP ME RESTORE THE TOWN TO IT'S FORMER GLORY."
Wrong "its!" =O

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Interesting concept and nice graphics!

Tinimations says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Liked how the dialogue and humour was used to undermine flaws and other issues. Interesting concept as well. Didn't get to the whole economics part of the game though, it crashed. :/

TriSquare says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:16am

Your Link is Broken

Maxw3ll says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 7:32am

Hrm. Works for me. What system are you using?

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:24am

The whole thing feels like it moves too slow. The concept could be cool, but it needs to move a lot faster. The mining was tedious, and the fact that I had to wait five minutes even though I had what I needed already was a bit irritating as well. The dialog was awesome though, you really nailed that part, and the idea of making money in a shifting market is good, but you need a way to end the quests early, and the act of mining needs to be made either more interesting or less time consuming.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]