Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Screen For Screens Shooting Screens At Screens

by DA_KID - Jam Entry

You are a screen. There's screens trying to kill you. (protip: Use your imagination) Kill them and get high scores and then leaderboards and stuff.


Well, it took me switching languages twice, but it's done. A really stupid top down shooter with no new concepts. It is my first game though, so eh. The muzzle flash is supposed to be bigger, the text in between waves is supposed to disappear, and the enemies spawn a bit slow. I'm gonna fix this after the deadline happens and I rest for a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#297Fun(Jam)3.32
#379Theme(Jam)3.68
#586Audio(Jam)2.43
#593Humor(Jam)2.42
#624Overall(Jam)3.07
#770Graphics(Jam)2.68
#891Innovation(Jam)2.32
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:53am

Woaw, that's a fast-paced game! Fun to play, but a bit too hard for me.
Anyway, congrats if it's your first game, it's a really nice entry! (love the screen shakes! ;)). Keep up the great work, and see you next LD!

jocamar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00pm

For a first game and in 72 hours it's pretty good. The screen shakes and moving background feel good and make for a cool effect. The game is a bit too easy at the moment, I could stand in the middle and shoot every enemy that came at me without moving.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I was gonna comment saying it was pretty good, but if this is your first game then it's incredible! It feels fun to play, with the sound effects and the way the screen shakes when you fire - really nice effort! Would be nice if the music had kept playing though :P

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21pm

This is a really sweet effort for your first game - great job!
I did a very similar design for my first game about a year ago :)


Nice style, responsive controls, good difficulty curve.
One thing I've noticed is that the 'fire' sound seems to be very short and play VERY quickly - this can sound a bit glitchy/noisy on my speakers.

Overall quite impressive for your first game (especially as you mention switching languages twice during the jam? wow) - keep 'em coming!

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This is a very polished game. Despite the simple graphics the visuals are still pleasing do the the screen-shakes and what not.
I also liked your interpretation of the theme ;)
fyi, music stops at round 2, and the 'press button to start wave' plus the arrow never dissappear

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice game.. Too easy though

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Pretty nice fast paced top down shooter. Although the screen shaking in my opinion was a bit too much.

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:41am

Nice games. The feeling is really good thank to all the effects, even if the graphics are simple.
Good job! :D

Mikel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:53am

Nice graphics effects for the shooting, I also had wanted to vibrate the screen on explosions and didn't get it :-)
I found it too easy at first waves just by staying in the center... why no enemies appear from upper corners? i didn't complete enough waves?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

the game feels very good. the camera shake is a nice effect but it gets irritating when i get to higher levels and there are so many enemies that i have to keep shooting continuously, in that case the screen keeps shaking which feels weird. other than that, great work !

FrazzyBob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Everything about the production of the game was excellent but lacked originality sorry:/

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Really fun and interesting! Great first game!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:05pm

WOW! Fast and hard. Love it! :D
But it got easy on the second wave, and boxes only came out from the boxed below left and right.
Also I somehow got my box to shoot endlessly without clicking, and positioned myself to the top middle of the screen when they came, and I was invincible! XD

It left me with a good mood, so you should add back the mood category for voting! :3

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:02am

Simple but fun! I could've done with a little less screenshake, but the minimalist style works.

ctuelho says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:35am

The arrow stays on the screen =D Funny game, maybe a green block...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]