Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Together In Thousands

by Os_Reboot - Jam Entry

Together In Thousands is my first submission to my first game jam ever. Not enough time to work on the audio, though it wasn't going to be that great to begin with.

Description - Use drops of fluid to guide your bacterial colony toward total domination of the petri dish. Each fluid represents a different attribute that will boost the ability of your colony.

Resistance - Boosts resistance to attacks from other colonies.
Attack - Increases rate at which your colony attacks other colonies.
Zapping - Increases the rate at which your colony will randomly 'zap' the life out of other cells in the area.
Dilution - Increases the spread of resources in an area for a limited time (can be used to sabotage other colonies).
Death - A deadly combination of Resistance, Attack and Zapping.
Retention - Decreases the spread of resources in an area for a limited time (can be used to sabotage other colonies).

(Strategy - To avoid diluting your attack, create a shell around an area with several drops of "Retention", fill the center with some violent traits and release it against another colony with "Dilution")

Controls -
Mouse over upper right-hand corner for menu to reset.
Click on liquid vials to select, also have predefined key mappings:
Resistance - 1
Attack - 2
Zapping - 3
Dilution - Q
Death - W
Retention - E

I apologize in advance for any issues involving compatibility, game speed or bugs. Again, this is my first game jam ever, I am a junior in High School (finals coming up) and I completely missed Saturday for game jamming.

Conclusion - This was a great jam, I learned a lot (my creativity level starts dropping exponentially around midnight). Had a blast, can't wait to take part in the next LD! :D

**Source is very sloppy, I have learned better practices since I wrote this!**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#109Innovation(Jam)3.77
#400Theme(Jam)3.66
#440Graphics(Jam)3.40
#448Overall(Jam)3.26
#597Fun(Jam)2.93
#628Audio(Jam)2.22
#640Humor(Jam)2.32
#662Mood(Jam)2.83

Comments

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15pm

not sure what happened, I won I think :p

it has some weird similarities with my compo entry :D

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Really cool concept!

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03pm

So pretty and nice idea.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09am

The petri dish of mixing chemicals was fascinating and a good interpretation of the theme. I struggled understanding what each dropper did even after reading the instructions. I like the name.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05pm

aaaa ... maybe you should explain more what this game is about ... i saw things, but i got no idea what o_O

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I found this game quite confiusing but very fun to play! I really enjoyed the idea once i got my head around what does what. Nice game!

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Really nice idea and I think you worked a lot with AI

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:54am

A fascinating take on the theme. It took me a while that the RGB representation of each pixel is supposed to indicate the mode in which that cell is in. I wish I could I drop a lot more frequently than the game allowed.

sorlok says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:01am

Nice idea! Love the simulation approach. Would like to see more! Kind of moody, relaxing game.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:41pm

It looks neat. Any chance for Linux build? If so, contact me on Twitter (@ViliX64) when you upload it :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:48pm

It would hace been more fun with an AI to fight. Even after 2x games I wa snot bale to say exactly how Retention works.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:19pm

The game could be a little bit more fast paced. It's one of my TOPs in this LD, though :)

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:25am

nice...:p

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:34am

I've never seen a game quite like this. Strong showing for your first Ludum Dare, and kudos to you!

Unfortunately it ran slow on my compy unless I gave Java high priority via Task Manager, but I played through the first mission. It seemed like the fluids you got were random, so it was hard to do any long-term strategy; it'd be neat if you had a maximum number of drops (either total or for specific fluids) to use at the start of a level, or an objective-based system that rewarded you with points to buy fluid, or even a simple Tetris-esque "this fluid will be next" preview, so you'd be able to plan.

Very innovative, and the fuzzy, softly shifting pixel art was pretty too. Congrats on your first LD, and here's to many more!

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:44am

Looks awesome and it's an interesting concept.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:39am

A bit lost, I will admit, but a fun game. Nice concept and everything.

becker929 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:08am

Everything seems to work without a flaw: good job on that! I don't know how to win, though. I like that there is a little die and that the questions are challenging but not impossible. The music could have used more work as it was basically just random high pitched notes over drums. Try to learn a bit more about music! :) Overall it reminded me of some kind of little LED handheld game you might buy at target or something, especially because of the sounds.

Backterria says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:21am

Very very good concept!great first entry!Keep up!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:28am

Great game concept!They sould put this in schools :] I really liked watching bacterias grow in a kind of fractal way... I was not sure of what i was doing but i think i colonized it well :]

Poupi says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:16am

Very nice :)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Amazing concept and lovely gameplay. Really relaxing and a real brain cracker if you don't know what you're doing at first. Great learning curve! Graphics are really cool and simple! Great job!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:35am

Neat! I think it needs more feedback? I was winning all the time, so I guess I understood. I kind of liked not knowing, because it made me feel like a scientist doing research. In that case, though, I would have liked to be able to drop resources on any of the colonies, rather than just on mine.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:01am

This is a very interesting concept! I think I need a bit more guidance in order to understand the gameplay a little better, but overall, this was fun to tinker with!

monika says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:01am

This is fantastic. I hope to see you in more jams in the future.

The jittery noise in the pixel color was a really nice touch.

There wasn't a lot of feedback in the game, and it wasn't that intuitive figuring out what was going on or what did what, even with the instructions, so if you touch up the game some, those would be some things to work on. It also didn't seem to take a lot to win even before I realized the right side did things too, so it might need some balance to make it harder.

::thumbs up::

Poupi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice work ;)

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Very nice! I love the abstract look!

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Unfortunately I couldn't understand the game as much as I tried to. However the technical side looked very complicated (to me anyway), so despite not understanding, I liked what I saw. :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]