Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Iron

by Caspila - Jam Entry

Survival Action Shooter entirely on one screen! How long can you survive in this cosmic vermin infestation?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#8Fun(Jam)4.16
#20Audio(Jam)4.10
#36Overall(Jam)4.02
#81Mood(Jam)3.79
#123Graphics(Jam)4.14
#133Theme(Jam)4.00
#630Innovation(Jam)2.84

Comments

viclw17 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01am

awesome!

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12am

Great game! The art and music are fantastic!

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36am

Fantastic game - wasn't sure about the grenades though?

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37am

Very nice art and music! I loved the CRT-style filter.

nkornek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38am

Loved the screen effects

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38am

Great and simple game!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38am

great job!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

Great game! Liked the variety of enemies! Solid mechanics, neat gfx and audio.

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

number 2, guess thats something, 3300, I highly recommend people to give this a try, its very entertaining and pretty

dcolgan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

This game is addicting! The graphics style and the music are awesome.

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

BEST GAME EVER :) pew pew

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

The high score list was a nice touch.

modwizcode says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

LOVED IT, best game I've seen so far, especially loved the sound effects and the filter on the screen. Also liked the way the pew pew path wasn't fully straight.

Phaax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Looks very good! Should be played in fullscreen mode though, it's frustrating when the mouse gets outside the window.

srakowski says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Well things went to hell really fast... but I love the challenge! Well done. I wish I could figure out how to get that retro screen like shader in my games.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

Really nice game. graphics are ... wooow! :-)

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

Very good game. I wish the controls were different though, or at least customizable.

max_peabody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

Solid game with a catchy soundtrack and a GREAT aesthetic. Only major complaint is that it gets really irritating having to click everytime you fire a shot - would be better if you could just hold down the button or autofire.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11am

Really awesome game :), loved the aesthetic and the sound and music is awesome too :D. Was fun to play, Great job :)!

stalker1586 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13am

Wow! Just like on SNES! You must add co-op!

gquibao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13am

Great!!! Awesome game, had a lot of fun playing it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

Awesome!

zillix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

Fantastic presentation! The sounds, graphics, and visual effects all go very well together.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:12am

Really nice! I had lots of fun playing :D Wish the difficulty would increase over time, also would be nice if it had more screenshake, but might just be me loving screenshake xD Love the visuals and the sound, feels really good to play <3

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Plays great! Nice controls, many cool enemies and cool music! =)

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:58am

Excellent. It played well, looked good, sounded good, fit the theme. The difficulty was low at first then ramped up fast. Great work.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:42am

This is a great submission. Gameplay is fun, art is fantastic, and the audio is done well. Good job.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:42am

Wow 30K+ on 1 place? I got barely 1000.
Very nice game. nice responsive controls.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21am

Just add some upgrades :D

Shpuld says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:22am

Fun gameplay, great music.

ilokimo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:24am

Very good game, a pause by pressing esc or something would have been nice. In this kind of game, I prefer some pacing with level separation.

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:25am

Really fun. I love the grenade, especially the sound effect, although that lazer phaser thing felt a bit useless. The difficulty started really low for ages but then suddenly went into hyper mode xD

Loved the song too

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:27am

Great game awesome audio track! as for game design point of view i kinda felt having to keep pressing the mouse to shoot a bit annoying.

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:50am

Nice! Gameplay is classic but efficient! I like the visuals, especially the little "old screen" effect.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:53pm

very polished and fun!. doesn't mess around with easy levels. like the screen shader.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I love the old screen effect, good graphics and pleasant music. I like your idea for the theme a lot :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:41pm

The challenge ramps up pretty nicely. I think doing A-D-1-2 for controls is a bit odd, since it makes 1 and 2 tricky to press.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:45am

Amazing entry! That was a lot of fun. Couldn't stop playing it :P

gameattack says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

Good Graphics. I love walking backward. It really feels like moonwalking :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]