Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Programmer's Life

by Rene Damm - Compo Entry

Your ticket to managerial heaven where you don't have to fix a single bug anymore and can finally go to town with that company card.

Keep well intoxicated to employ that Ballmer curve just right to fix bugs and implement features at light speed.

Few bugs and many features mean lotsa users. Lotsa users means a happy manager. A happy manager means promotion.

* (actual gameplay experience may vary....)

PS: There's bugs and I ran out of time before getting to establish some balance in the gameplay. If you do manage to have fun with the "game", well, consider me surprised :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#268Humor2.98
#540Audio2.74
#542Theme3.61
#646Mood2.84
#795Innovation2.78
#841Graphics2.65
#1033Overall2.67
#1152Fun2.11

Comments

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11pm

This was interesting but a little depressing too :p

Norgesnerd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Clicked a few buttons, a minute later I was promoted. GG.

Actual thing: Considering this was made in 48 hours (or less, of course,) it holds a pretty decent standard. Would rate it 3/5.

arzi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

It was a bit difficult to get into the game and after losing, new game just flashes the play mode and gets a game over immediately. Love the idea, though :)

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Game isn't starting :(
Nothing happens when i click any item in the menu

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:22pm

A bleak outlook on programming :P Pretty intersting mood. Nice entry :)

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Ah, the life of a programmer, so much work! Very interesting and the music made it feel a bit sad. Well done!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Depicts the chaotic life of a programmer pretty good.
Although I think that you could improve the buttons because they reacted very unprecise.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Missing features and a few bugs gave this game a lower rating! :)
It's a neat idea and I like the feature names and all, just could have been implemented a little better. The buttons react very sluggishly and you can't start a new game after losing.

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05pm

nice guitar

nuiguy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19am

Found that game quite enjoyable, I really think that it could go somewhere if you kept at it but, with one new feature, so many bugs!!

-Nuiguy

Mixer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20am

Well, it was an interesting concept but rather short. Made one program, fixed the bugs, done. It could have been turned into a great game with more work though (have assets, money, sell things, rent licenses too name a few crappy ideas :)) Good but short game :)

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23am

The music panning sort of hurt my head :-/

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42am

Thanks all for trying the game :)

@Mixer
There's way too much randomness in the game. It's completely unbalanced. One game is over in a matter of seconds, the next one is slow like hell. I made the mistake of making the formulas way too complicated and then not having time to find the right parameter values to balance things out.

@ChronusZ
I never noticed until I tried it with headphones :) Indeed pans around like crazy. Anyway, first ever shot at recording something and editing it in Audacity, so I'm happy :)

Meta-link says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Funny concept, nice game !
And the music is cool :)

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I finished (got promoted) several times but i can't figure out what i did, i just click random things.
It was a nice idea, but like other incremental games, it requires a lot of time to balance things out.

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

Like some others have mentioned I had a few games where I clicked on things and nothing happened, not sure if it was Unity or what. After reloading I managed to get things to work, but the initial buttons still seemed kind of touchy. Every time I played I also won in maybe 10 seconds so I wasn't even entirely sure what was going on at first.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:26am

Quite an interesting take for a game, I like it! The guitar is nice as well! great job

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:54pm

man that music is pretty grating lol

Odefus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Described my limited professional experience as a programmer to some extent. Trying to keep different parties satisfied while feeling the weight of the world coming down on you. I like the concept and with some balancing it could be a really fun game for those who can relate anyway. The panning music was horrible though. Had to mute it.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Too bad they don't let me drink at work in real life. Ballmer Peak didn't really convince my boss :-p

pjchardt says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:00am

Nice start, could be an interesting take on the management sim :) Had trouble starting and restarting, maybe the bounding boxes for the menu items is smaller than the text? Looks like others have mentioned this as well.

Shivur says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Seems interesting, but I didn't understood how I win so fast.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:55am

Not bad, Rene. This really illustrates the wonders of bug fixing!

calavera says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

Good audio and sad mood!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]