Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Helga Kills Everything

by mutatedsoftware - Jam Entry

An endless NES inspired arena fight with an emphasis on making each play through unique. Walk over and kill the 'play' text to get started. Mouse clicks also work for killing stuff. See how many kills you can rack up!

This was my first Ludum Dare and I'm really happy my wife and daughter were able to join in with their artwork and soud effects. Was a fantastic experience!

Engine: Unity3D
Music: Famitracker
SFX: BFXR
Art: GIMP and MSPaint
Font: Press Start 2P http://www.1001fonts.com/press-start-2p-font.html

Anywho, any feedback is greatly appreciated. Can't wait to check out your projects! Exclamation points!!! (I'm very tired)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#61Humor(Jam)3.82
#128Fun(Jam)3.64
#165Theme(Jam)3.95
#424Mood(Jam)3.15
#448Overall(Jam)3.26
#463Audio(Jam)2.82
#472Graphics(Jam)3.33
#680Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24am

Funny, yet great entry.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Pretty fun! The only downside to the game is that the movement felt a bit funny.

stvr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Unfortunately Control + Arrows is bound to a lot of stuff in OSX, so this is really hard to play for me. But it's pretty fun! Why can't I kill the title?

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

I don't seem to be able to press play. Helga just swings her axe. Music is good though!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

Nice game, the character design and art cracked me up. Great work!

Acuity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

I like the art! And your hitboxes work well, unlike the ones in my game. :P

hoqjed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

i tried playing the web entry on kongregate, but all i get is a red screen. i didn't put any ratings, so i might check back later to see if it's working.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

Wow, really liked the style and the idea! Nice humour!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

That was very fun! It felt quirky and humorous. Great variety of enemies! The only drawback is that I wish there was a way to see how much health you had. Music also stopped after a while.

Still, thumbs up from me!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Helga rocks! Absolutely great expirience!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29am

Curse that bear!! HELGA WILL CRUSH YOU!
Cool game! That bear scared the s*** out of me man!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

Sweet entry, had a heart attack when the bear came out haha. Nice variation in enemies and simple but easy to access premise :).

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46am

Not bad. Nice retro feel to it. Good job

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice job! Fits the theme well and I had fun playing it :)

Kwask says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:29pm

66 murder points! Fun little game!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I feel it could be more polished. Although, I do like the progression of difficulty.

Liam :D says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I saw Helga in one of the posts during the jam, and was really, really confused. I'm so glad I found it in the list of games. :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:18am

I was very amused by the bear animations. It would be nice to have a health meter of some sort so I know how much damage Helga has taken though.

Also it would be cool if I could win instead of just surviving!

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:46am

Haha, hilarious! I cracked up when the bear came out. Super cool to hear it was a family collaboration. Great job!

Samm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:47am

Ha, "Murder points" :D

Rothens says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:26am

What did I just play? XD Nice one anyway :D

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Loved It, controls feel solid to me!
maybe too hard when mages and the bear appear...

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:59pm

This is an absolute riot! Well done!

One bug I noticed: I died, and at that time a wizard was throwing a dagger. When I went back to the title screen, the dagger continued on its path and hit the Toggle Music button, triggering it! I had already swung at Play so I had to play that round with no music. XD

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:07am

D'aww, only 32 kill points, that bear destroyed me!

Pretty fun, but gets very hectic too quickly, I'd have liked a smoother ramp up to get used to all the enemies more progressively. For example, the first wizard had only come out only moments ago while ago when suddenly 3 wizards and a bear spawned, hilarious and terrifying all at once :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:23am

Thanks everyone for the suggestions. They've all been right on the money. I'm also happy to report that after reading how the bear startled people, my daughter has added 'programmer' to the list of things she wants to be when she grows up :)

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Good job for a first entry !

Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:53am

Fun and addictive. Best not to use the system keys for the game.

wavertron says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:38am

Quite fun and humorous. But the bear killed me everytime :/
Nice game

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:47am

This was fairly amusing - it didn't keep me hooked for very long, but it was fun while I was playing it. The music was good, some of the art could do with brushing up, and it would be nice to see a health bar or something so I knew how far away I was from dying. The huge bear usually killed me pretty much instantly - I think it would be nice to make it more obvious when you were hit, too.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

As a woman, I felt very empowered! GO HELGA! This game could really go somewhere. I like it a lot and I think the potential to have a decent amount of fun is there. I LOL'd great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]